We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl of a hotel !!!!!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #27 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just come back from 7 days in New York & we had the pleasure of staying at the pearl hotel . What a little treasure of a hotel, this was our first overseas holiday, with our 11 month old son & the hotel was just great , had his cot all set up for us on arrival. We just loved the boutique style of the hotel & it's personal service , especially in a big city like NY... I work in the travel industry & my husband & I are always usually very dissapointed in our accomadation. Not this time , we would go as far to say it's the best hotel we have stayed in . Bed was so comfy & huge , the trendy little coffee machine & wine fridge , microwave a blessing with our little boys food.... We stayed in a king deluxe room. We have reccomended the hotel twice in the week we have been back . So if it's stlye, location & super modern facilites & proffesional staff , you can not go pass the Pearl NY.. Thankyou . Lisa Walters. Brisbane Australia . ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lw080212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
There are newer reviews for The Pearl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were impressed with the size of the room and how comfortable we were with everything, including the bed. Everyone was really professional, courteous and friendly. We hope to return real soon. Room was exceptionally quiet. Truly impressive how we felt we were not in the city because it was so quiet, especially the area the hotel is at (right across from theatre where "The Book of Mormon" is playing.)

We would like to thank everyone, beginning with Vanie at the front desk, who was very nice checking us in. She helped us celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary even sweeter with a complimentary upgrade. The Champaign waiting for us in our room was a VERY nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeAreHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel back in October of 2011. I'm a bit late writing this review but did want to make sure to give them a TripAdvisor shout out as I had a pleasant stay. I chose the Pearl Hotel after reading other TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is modern but warm. The staff is very friendly and professional. My room was spacious with nice appointments. My room had a pretty good sized balcony which was surprisingly quiet. The hotel is close, but not to close, to the Time Square action, subway, grocery, pharmacy, theater dist, etc. I loved my stay at the Pearl and have recommended it to other business travelers many times. I would recommend this hotel for business, couples, friends, and solo travelers. I do not think the Pearl would work for families especially with small children as it does not have amenities to keep them entertained.
Two thumbs up to the Pearl. I will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchen option. When booking on the Web site, the balcony and kitchen options can...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBayGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great hotel location to all attractions. We had a suite that included a lounge. Stayed for 4 nights. Would definitely recommend and stay there again. Only disappointing point was that the self serve buffet breakfast was fine but the use of paper plates and plastic knives and forks was a complete no no for me. I would advise any visitors to take their own plate and cutlery next time!!!!

Room Tip: There was a group of twelve of us spread around the hotel, no complaints.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at the Pearl for 3 nights and had an excellent stay. I was by myself but for some reason was upgraded to a room with 2 double beds. It was a spacious room with a large bathroom. There was no tub but that's normal in New York and the shower was roomy. The room was clean and in good shape. It was also quiet.
Staff was very friendly and I was happy to share the chocolate dipped strawberries my wife had sent for Valentine's Day. The included breakfast was not overwhelming but was completely fine and satisfying.
The gym is quite small. It's very clean and in good order and bright. But there's not any room to lie on the floor or stretch. The equipment was all in good shape.
The location is great. It's close to Times Square if you like that sort of thing but not too close to it if you don't.
The free wi-fi was a huge plus.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlphaV24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I just came back from a trip to NYC and stayed for my third time at a great boutique hotel, I discovered about a year ago, The Pearl. The service is very attentive and the beds are heavenly. I have been visiting the city for over thirteen years and have tried out many hotels throughout this city and usually only stay at the hotel once and then try out another the next time I go back. However, The Pearl has been my hotel the last three trips because I know I will sleep well and still be in the thick of things when I walk out the front door.

Room Tip: There is not a pool or kids activities.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We arrived early and were offered a complimentary upgrade and immediate access to our room. Room was spacious and immaculate. The wet bar and individual coffee maker was a nice surprise and we enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee before heading out for our excursions. Returned around 4 to a very nice complimentary wine hour in the lobby while we watched the ticket lottery for Book of Mormons directly across the street. Tried the Victorian restaurant down the street for dinner, building is fabulous however the service and food left a lot to be desired. Very close to the Winter Garden Theater, very comfortable walking he streets in the area after the show. Requested additional coffee Kcups for morning then enjoyed a good nights sleep. The bathroom i fabulous, large, good lighting and fantastic shower. The robes they supply appear new and super fluffy. The complimentary continental breakfast was very satisfying, nice fresh pastries, fruit, cereal etc. Although we like to try new places when we visit the city this hotel will stay on our list of favorites.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillyswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,900 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 468 in New York City
3,580 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#80 of 468 in New York City
410 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#70 of 468 in New York City
4,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £217 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing