We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect.”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #23 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect.”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The location and condition were excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would be happy to stay there again, but would ask for a room further from the elevator. Besides the noise of the elevator, the only other complaint (may be too strong a word) I have is too little closet space and too few hangers. My hubby and I travel extremely lightly, but still were challenged to find hangers and space to hang our few items of clothing.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,735
    545
    73
    11
    10
See reviews for
787
931
66
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We spent a night at the Pearl and fell in love with this hotel..we were upgraded to a beautiful suite on superbowl sunday and had dinner at the attached cafe. A short walk to our show and american girl store. Parking garage right next door. I will not stay anywhere else after finding this gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Recently stayed several days with two teens in The Pearl. All the complementary comments from others are well confirmed by our stay. Very responsive staff to small issue with plumbing. Very clean and prim. Circular theme throughout. Well thought through design concepts. So quiet, we were always surprised by the number of people appearing in the public areas. Really enjoyed the rich touches: Travertine marble in the bath, clever/modern shower plumbing, iHome dock, etc. So many high points, I hesitate to make the following two comments...the manager's wine and cheese hour is very modest. A Pino Grigio (OK it was Santa Margarita) and a Chilean merlot were on offer along with chunks of American cheese and soda crackers. And, since it was a warm February in NY, we found the room heated itself and stayed at 74F with the heat off. We had to use the A/C. On the other hand, it was quiet and not at all drafty.

So, would we stay here again? Absolutely, yes and yes.

Room Tip: Now that NYC has a $350 fine for horn blowing, the streets are relatively quieter than before. Pract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsutigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Found this hotel shortly after they opened because my regular hotel in New York, the W, was booked. It has become the only hotel I stay at when I visit the city. The staff has always been helpful and very friendly. Having a great market a few steps away comes in handy. A couple of Duane Reads within walking distance was extremely helpful when my niece became ill. We were able to get to all of our destinations easily. I love this hotel and now my friends and family love it to. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are so comfortable it is very difficult to leave the bed. The free breakfast is great!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel mainly due to the wonderful reviews we read at tripadvisor.
And the hotel matched all the good reviews.
It's basically a business hotel.
1) ROOM SIZE: The rooms are big, if you consider NYC standard rooms.
2) BREAKFAST: We read a lot of reviews about its breakfast and how it was not good. However, my mom and I found that their breakfast was very good, compared to the other hotels we've stayed in NYC. They have coffee, milk, toasts, bagels, orange juice, fruits (apples and bananas), yogurts and more stuff I can't remember now. To me, this is more than okay for a breakfast.
3) LOCATION: Amazing!
4) SLEEP QUALITY: Sleep like a baby. No noises.
5) INTERNET CONNECTION: HIgh quality and high speed free wi-fi internet.
6) STAFF: Superb. For me, this is what makes this hotel standing out. They are helpful, friendly and they know a lot of information about NYC. Don't forget to ask them, they have good tips. Not only the front desk staff, but also the bell boys.
The only down point was the check in time, which is 4pm. We arrived very early in the morning and had to wait until 4pm to enter our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annaSa0Paul0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just come back from a girls holiday and stayed at this great hotel. Everything you read on the reviews are true, it really is an excellent hotel.

Try to visit the adjacent church St Malachys, (The actors church) it"s beautiful and steeped in history. Valentino, the famous silent movie star had his funeral here, and it is were Joan Crawford married Douglas Fairbanks Junior. (If like me you are interested in old Hollywood)

You will not be disappointed with this hotel. Well done to you all at the Pearl.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheshe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Pearl Hotel this weekend and we loved it! It is located in the heart of the Theater District and a block from Time Square. The staff was very accomodating and the room was very clean. Upon check in, we were given a complementary upgrade from a standard double bed room to a deluxe room, which included a small kitchenette and patio, at no extra charge. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,826 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#71 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing