We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you find a pearl in an unexpected place - a busy location!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon, MA
2 reviews
“Sometimes you find a pearl in an unexpected place - a busy location!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed there four nights for a mixed trip of business, visting family and recreation. Great location off of Times Square. The hotel is very nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice to us and followed up on everything with a phone call to check our satisfaction. The room was beautiful, chic, modern and comfortable. Great shower and bathtub and plush towels as well. Because of the small size of the hotel everything felt cozy. The continental breakfast was great. I used the gym which they said was small. It is, but the equipment is brand new, state of the art and perfect for my needs before heading to work. There were so many nice perks such as towels in the gym, complimentary umbrellas in the room to use, outlets built into the nighttable (very nice perk so you don't have to move furniture to plug in equipment). We didn't know it would rain when we went to the theater. We got drenched coming back. No problem, as we were close to the theater, went up the elevator, changed and right back out to an awesome new bar/restaurant just a few doors down. We stayed in a deluxe room which was nice as there was a fridge for bringing food back from the Food Emporium. The bed was very comfortable. We forgot to check the make of the pillows which we loved and wanted to buy for ourselves. We look forward to returning. I hope it is not booked up when we do.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor which was on the street. We had no problem with noise. There are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    547
    73
    11
    10
See reviews for
789
932
66
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I chose the Pearl after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor for my first trip to NYC. Was really glad I made the choice. We had a really nice room, clean, modern and very comfortable. The location is fantastic and the staff were incredibly helpful. NYC is such a wonderful but exhausting place that it was great to have such a lovely hotel to come back to each evening. The trip was a surprise for my partner's 40th birthday and the hotel staff left us a bottle of bubbly and a card for him whilst we were out. They had spotted his birthday cards! For a clean, stylish, well-located, non-fussy hotel in a mad city, I can't fault it. Breakfast was a bit samey but continental breakfasts always are and it's a bonus to get one included in the price in an American hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sonofhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at The pearl 25.2.12 - 29.2.12 was upgraded to a delux suite with kitchenette and living room, all I can say is AMAZING from start to finish, not one compliant about anything all the reviews on here are correct, the breakfast was very fresh and plentyful with lots of seating space, yes they do have plastic cutlery and paper plates but not a problem in our eyes.
Location great near everything and also subways at the end of the roads.
Am planning on coming back here as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

In the heart of the Theater District but a quiet night's sleep. Nice touches such as a free wine and cheese hour, free continental breakfast, very comfortable bed, modern shower and bath and a very friendly and competent staff.

We will definitely return to The Pearl the next time we stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. They are available sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was the first stop in a week long trip. Got a clean room with a big bathroom and the location was outstanding. The staff was helpful and fun which really made the entire trip. The cafe which is part of the hotel was a perfect place to have dinner. My husband and I will be back.
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel in an excellent location. Had a lovely, impeccably clean room with fashionable decor and a good sized well equipped bathroom. Everything was in excellent working order, and it was easy to get a good night's sleep because we heard very little outside noise even though we were close to Times Square and our room faced the street. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was adequate and the location was excellent. This is the first time I have ever written a Tripadvisor review, but I found out about this hotel by reading your online reviews so I thought I should share my very positive experience in return.

Room Tip: Request a room on
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getaway1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The location and condition were excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would be happy to stay there again, but would ask for a room further from the elevator. Besides the noise of the elevator, the only other complaint (may be too strong a word) I have is too little closet space and too few hangers. My hubby and I travel extremely lightly, but still were challenged to find hangers and space to hang our few items of clothing.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 466 in New York City
2,836 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 466 in New York City
3,525 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing