We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #26 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff was pleasant and attentive. Our room was exactly as described and quiet. We were even given a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary. The location was perfect for seeing Broadway shows, visiting Time Square, Rockefeller Center, etc. We are heading back next month with our kids and have already booked this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisSuzP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

A brilliant location, just off Times Square (really just off - not the "just off" that lots of hotels claim), friendly and helpful staff, spacious bedrooms (family of 6 in one suite), good breakfast - what's not to like?! Highly recommended for a visit to New York - West 49th Street between 7th and 8th Avenues. Handy for the subway to take you downtown, walking distance for all the midtown and uptown attractions

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giffnockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We enjoyed our visit to New York City and this hotel was a highlight. The staff is very nice and we had a great room. And, it was a quiet room. It is a busy city to visit and it always takes us a bit to get used to the crazy-busy. Then it is time to go home. But, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This boutique style hotel is well situated by Time Square, off West 49th and Broadway, close to numerous restaurants, sights, shops, sightseeing tour buses, and of course the theatres. Went to see WICKED, at Gersham Theatre, 5 minute walk, from hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is well done on 2nd floor and seems very complete,with choices, though seating is limited.
The rooms are good size and modern design with all amenities included, Wi-Fi coverage is included. The hotel beds are comfortable and quiet within hotel. Local calls are $1.00 and additional charges apply after 3 minutes.
The ice needs to be brought to room, which is not convenient. Housekeeping is good, but several times we had to call for things missing or ran out of.
Overall highly recommend this hotel, will stay here again. Fitness room available.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We arrived early in the day and the The Pearl allowed us to check in which was great to get to our room and freshen up for the rest of the day. The front desk was efficient and professional but not as freindly as I would like. It is great that they have lemon water in the lobby and snacks which was nice as I was traveling with a young teenager and they are always hungry. I thought the breakfast area was great and had a good assortment of food and beverages and of course The New York Times and there was no probelm getting a table and it was a holiday weekend in October. The location of our room did not have a good view of anything except for another building but it was very quiet which was great not to hear all the street noise. The location had easy access to many places (Times Square a ten minute walk at most) and public transportation and anything you might have needed was just a couple of blocks away. We saw Wicked and it was less than a five minutes walk to get there from the Hotel.. Although the room was a little expensive for the size of the room it was money well spent for the quiet. I would not want to be in the middle of Times Square with all the noise and craziness going on all night. The Pearl was very clean and the beds very comfortable. I would stay there again in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: Buy some waters from your room at a drug store down one block for cheap. I like to drink bottled wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinPoohTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Having read so many positive reveiws about the Pearl on TA, my partner and I decided to book here. We were in New York for 4 nights and the hotel is in a great location just off Broadway - very close to Times Square, theatres, restaurants and shops.
I've never stayed in NY before but this hotel was fantastic - very stylish and clean reception area and the receptionists/concierge were very helpful/polite. Our room was large and included a terrace area with chairs and table. The bed was big and there was plenty of drawer/cupboard space for clothes. Safe, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and board were also in the room. NY is constantly noisy but we were never disturbed during the night - the glass in the windows must be thick!
Breakfast was included in the price and we were really impressed with it - fresh fruit salad, yogurts, bread, variety of bagels, cereals and pastries - certainly enough to start off the day. Yes, we had to use plastic plates and cutlery but it didn't make it any less enjoyable.
I don't have any complaints about this hotel and would definitely stay here again if visiting NY.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 10th floor which included the terrace - looking above, I couldn't see any ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scattycat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stylish hotel in good location (very close to Times Square), clean and spacy rooms, free WIFI, friendly staff. Only drop downer: the breakfast. Although typical for American standard it could be improved regarding quantity and variety. Furthermore only plastic plates & cutlery and paper cups were provided (not very eco-friendly).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVBBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 471 in New York City
3,306 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#21 of 471 in New York City
315 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 471 in New York City
519 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 471 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £125 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing