We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Excellent.”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is top notch. Very friendly reception staff. The concierge was excellent. Nice guy and very helpful and knowledgable. Complimentary wine hour was lovely. Breakfast was also lovely.
Our room was on 6th floor. Modern, spotless and so comfortable. And big!! The shower was amazing! We only stayed one night but I really want to go back and stay again!
I honestly cannot fault this hotel in anyway.
We also ate in the restaurant adjoining the hotel and it was tasty.

I am so happy with my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosco263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great location with easy access to the subway and very close to Times,Square. Nice to walk to our show...Matilda at the Shubert which was super. All staff very helpful and friendly. Only complaint with room is very loud fan/air conditioning at night which we turned off second night but then it got too stuffy in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GobiGal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in the Pearl Hotel, Midtown, Manhattan, which was very close to Times Square. Inside, the hotel was immaculate and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I can certainly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank eebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor- and we were not disappointed. Check-in went beautifully even though we arrived very early and our room was stunning (14th Floor). It was one of the largest hotel rooms I have stayed in- and for New York this was beyond amazing. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was spotless. The bathroom ( including the tv) was equally great. There were nice little touches (bath products, make up towel) and the wine hour and breakfast were above and beyond. For breakfast there was a lovely selection of bagels, bread, pastries, cereal, juices, yogurt and fresh fruit (+ tea and coffee). The wine hour was equally as fabulous and was a wonderful way to end a busy NY day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My rating for "The Pearl" is from the perspective of a "first-timer" to NYC and it definitely served it's purpose .. but as someone that would go back to New York in the future, I'd choose to stay somewhere else.

Location -
As noted above and by other people this hotel is located close to but not right at Times Square. A subway entrance is only a few blocks away and it's slight off the main road so it's not too hectic. While we were there, the nearby theatre was showing "Chicago" which did mean there were some line-ups of individuals waiting to get in that we had to wind our way around.

Room -
We had a single queen on a relatively high floor, but there is really no view to speak of in this hotel. The rooms were relatively spacious with plenty of storage. Modern finishings were quite nice and the bed was quite comfortable. There was a small alcove with a desk and some small windows. The room was well lit by lamps and lighting but there is minimal natural light to speak of. Overall, it would be fine for any trip where you are staying for business or don't plan on staying long in the room

Amenities -
As we did not spend much time at the property and it is a boutique hotel .. there really isn't much in the way of amenities. The property did have a fitness room, but it was quite small and had relatively outdated equipment with minimal windows. The only other "offering" was breakfast that they provided complimentary to guests in the second floor lounge area. It was admittedly generous for being complimentary but it was a tad hectic and disorganized and lacked enough seating for all the guests.

Service -
Everyone did their best to be helpful and would use a reservation service to secure us spots at the local spots as best they could. We did have a hiccup with a reservation for a towncar to take us to the airport, but it was the 3rd party service they used, and not the hotel's fault.

Overall, our stay was a decent one, but exploring areas further away from the hotel meant taking a cab from close to Times Square .. which quickly became something of an event to dread. For those planning to stay closer to around Times Square and Broadway .. and with the desire to have 5 Napkin Burgers or some Shake Shack .. this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willhelmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings and were not disappointed! Very comfortable and quiet room (we did not overlook the street so can't comment on those rooms). Breakfast suited us fine. The staff were very helpful. Easy walking distance to the theaters, Rockefeller Center and MOMA and a choice of subway stations. Large choice of interesting restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and side (overlooking the next door apartment block pool) are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhodocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is the second time visiting the city but the first using the Pearl Hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect. The staff cannot do enough for you and reception always greet you like a long lost best friend - albeit not over the top.

When we go back to NYC there is only one hotel for me.

Rooms are excellent size, modern and super clean.

Only small thing is plastic plates and cutlery for the continental breakfast. If they could sort this out and possibly add in some cold meats then it would be spot on.

Otherwise flawless stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy909dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#27 of 469 in New York City
3,093 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 469 in New York City
241 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,272 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
465 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £182 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing