We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We felt welcome from the moment we stepped out of the cab until our departure. The staff were very friendly and helpful with checking in, directions, meals, etc.
I stayed 4 nights with my wife and adult daughter. The room had plenty of space for the 3 of us and the bathroom was very spacious. And what a bathroom! A nice large walk in shower with rain head. There was even a flat screen TV in the bathroom. Just outside the bathroom was a wet bar with coffee maker, microwave, bar fridge and sink. The room had a walk in closet but had those annoying hotel style coat hangers.
We went down for the complimentary breakfast only once which was pretty much your typical American style continental breakfast. The breakfast room had different types of seating ranging from typical chairs and tables to couches along with TV's throughout. The area is very bright and open which had a nice feel to it.
Our room was on the 3rd floor which concerned me due to noise but the room was surprisingly quiet. We didn't face any streets which kept the noise down.
The hotel location is great for tourists wanting to walk around Time Square and the theatre district. There is easy access to the subway from the hotel. We took in "The Book of Mormon" which was right across the street from the hotel. After the play we enjoyed a cocktail at E&E Grill which is located right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    532
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
761
918
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Read dozens of excellent ratings on TA which attracted me to The Pearl. The collection of superlatives where experienced. Location is wonderfully convenient for everything. Nice wine hour and continental breakfast. Good restaurants all around. Self parking next door. Impressive level of service.

Room Tip: We loved 1001.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is top notch. Very friendly reception staff. The concierge was excellent. Nice guy and very helpful and knowledgable. Complimentary wine hour was lovely. Breakfast was also lovely.
Our room was on 6th floor. Modern, spotless and so comfortable. And big!! The shower was amazing! We only stayed one night but I really want to go back and stay again!
I honestly cannot fault this hotel in anyway.
We also ate in the restaurant adjoining the hotel and it was tasty.

I am so happy with my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosco263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great location with easy access to the subway and very close to Times,Square. Nice to walk to our show...Matilda at the Shubert which was super. All staff very helpful and friendly. Only complaint with room is very loud fan/air conditioning at night which we turned off second night but then it got too stuffy in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in the Pearl Hotel, Midtown, Manhattan, which was very close to Times Square. Inside, the hotel was immaculate and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I can certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor- and we were not disappointed. Check-in went beautifully even though we arrived very early and our room was stunning (14th Floor). It was one of the largest hotel rooms I have stayed in- and for New York this was beyond amazing. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was spotless. The bathroom ( including the tv) was equally great. There were nice little touches (bath products, make up towel) and the wine hour and breakfast were above and beyond. For breakfast there was a lovely selection of bagels, bread, pastries, cereal, juices, yogurt and fresh fruit (+ tea and coffee). The wine hour was equally as fabulous and was a wonderful way to end a busy NY day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My rating for "The Pearl" is from the perspective of a "first-timer" to NYC and it definitely served it's purpose .. but as someone that would go back to New York in the future, I'd choose to stay somewhere else.

Location -
As noted above and by other people this hotel is located close to but not right at Times Square. A subway entrance is only a few blocks away and it's slight off the main road so it's not too hectic. While we were there, the nearby theatre was showing "Chicago" which did mean there were some line-ups of individuals waiting to get in that we had to wind our way around.

Room -
We had a single queen on a relatively high floor, but there is really no view to speak of in this hotel. The rooms were relatively spacious with plenty of storage. Modern finishings were quite nice and the bed was quite comfortable. There was a small alcove with a desk and some small windows. The room was well lit by lamps and lighting but there is minimal natural light to speak of. Overall, it would be fine for any trip where you are staying for business or don't plan on staying long in the room

Amenities -
As we did not spend much time at the property and it is a boutique hotel .. there really isn't much in the way of amenities. The property did have a fitness room, but it was quite small and had relatively outdated equipment with minimal windows. The only other "offering" was breakfast that they provided complimentary to guests in the second floor lounge area. It was admittedly generous for being complimentary but it was a tad hectic and disorganized and lacked enough seating for all the guests.

Service -
Everyone did their best to be helpful and would use a reservation service to secure us spots at the local spots as best they could. We did have a hiccup with a reservation for a towncar to take us to the airport, but it was the 3rd party service they used, and not the hotel's fault.

Overall, our stay was a decent one, but exploring areas further away from the hotel meant taking a cab from close to Times Square .. which quickly became something of an event to dread. For those planning to stay closer to around Times Square and Broadway .. and with the desire to have 5 Napkin Burgers or some Shake Shack .. this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willhelmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing