We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in the heart of Theater District” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the heart of Theater District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the theater showing Book of Mormon and steps from Times Square. It is a boutique hotel with modern decor, nicely outfitted rooms, very clean, free snacks in the lobby, and a very nice continental breakfast included. Wifi is free but can be a little slow when it is in heavy use. Rooms have modern bathroom, safe, modern TV, Ipod/phone alarm clock, desk, and are quite roomy for this price in NYC. Staff is very good. There is no driveway and parking is valet offsite so don't expect to use your car in the city and allow time to get it when you are leaving. Parking rate was reasonable for NYC.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you need to ask for it at check-in, otherwise you might be looking at the bricks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    521
    67
    10
    10
See reviews for
745
899
65
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anguilla
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a very comfortable boutique hotel which is close to times square. Great location. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with a small walk in closet with safe to store your valuables, which was great for storage, comfortable beds and pillows, and a desk and lovely bathroom. It was also very warm considering that the outside temperature was 14 degrees and snowing most of our stay in NYC. Despite being so close to times square, the rooms were wonderfully quiet. The staff managed to accomadate all our needs. The recptionists, cleaners, doormen, kitchen staff and concierge were all fantastic, helpful and friendly at all times. The continental breakfast was complimentary, and served in a cozy dining room and lounge area. Snacks, water and warm drinks were available all day. Absolutely brilliant hotel that we would highly recommend. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoninAxA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Loved this hotel! Great location!! Very Clean! Large rooms! Loved the Complimentary breakfast & happy hour daily!! Very friendly staff! Excellent service! Can't say enough good things about it!! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the pearl from 14th to 18th December. We are a family of five (3 teenage boys)so booked a queen suite which was on the 3rd floor. The hotel has a lovely, calm atmosphere which is great to come back to after busy days sight seeing. This was our first visit to New York and we loved every minute, despite the snow and cold!
We had the breakfast most mornings and were very satisfied with the choice available bearing in mind the hotel has no kitchen facilities. Another nice touch was the second floor seating area which had snacks and drinks 24/7.
Cheese and wine in the afternoon was also great.

The only complaint we have is from our 17 year old who had the sofa bed. He said it wasn't very comfortable. Our beds, on the other hand were fabulous. Other people have complained about street noise but they must be light sleepers as we slept like babies.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for quality and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

For my husband's birthday, we chose to stay at this hotel because of it's close proximity to the Eugene O'Neil theater which is right across the street. We arrived early and were happy that our room was ready. We used the valet parking which was quick and easy. The location was perfect, near the theater, restaurants, pubs, shopping, etc. The room was comfortable and clean with all necessities, even a flat screen t.v. in the bathroom which we did not use! The bed was very comfortable and the complimentary continental breakfast was good. We also enjoyed a glass of wine at the daily wine tasting in the common area. It was VERY hot in that room... The heating/ac unit was bit noisy so I turned it off during the night. The only other negative thing was the street noise. It wasn't terrible but I did toss and turn more than I would at home. I was able to block it out with a pillow over my head. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would consider going back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanellenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great service, clean rooms, excellent location. I had to extend my trip for a day due to snow storm and they made it happen in spite of being almost fully booked. Friendly staff. Breakfast could have more options. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soheil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A Pearl, fantastic, great location, excellent service and real value for money and so it goes on! The traveller photo's and the professional photo's all show it as it is. My wife and I were in New York to celebrate my "certain" birthday and the hotel was kind enough to upgrade us and provide a bottle of wine in our room on the actual day. The provision of wine and cheese mid afternoon each day is a welcome gesture particularly when the day's tourism is restricted by snow and sub zero temperatures! Let's not forget that the bed was incredibly comfortable too!

Everything you would expect from a hotel charging twice the amount but without the "stuffiness".

Well done The Pearl Management and staff, you deserve the rating and consistent praise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Meldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing