We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine's Delight”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Valentine's Delight”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I booked the pearl hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor. What a wonderful hotel from top to bottom! The furnishings and decor are in perfect condition and not dated as though the place was built the day before. The staff showed the utmost courtesy and professionalism. Above all the accommodations were extremely clean and well maintained. Added touches were a quaint wine and cheese offering and a fresh acceptable continental breakfast. You will not be disapointed with the location either! Short SHORT walk to all of the broadway shows ( we went to see Jersey Boys) and right in the heart of times square. I will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mfoegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    532
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
761
918
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed for two nights and were pleasantly surprised at this quiet oasis just a block off Time Square. It really was remarkable to go from the craziness to calm. The hotel was as advertised (not full-service), clean, pleasant and with good service. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NHLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The rooms in this hotel are quiet, clean and the air conditioning is quiet. The bathroom fittings are also of good quality. The TV in the room is small.

The hotel seems to lack any soul – it is a business hotel but not in the business district. The breakfast is a disappointment although very American by which I mean basic help-yourself breakfast items with paper plates and plastic cutlery.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed at The Pearl several times. Checking in is always nice and fast with really nice people greeting you and most employees know you from your previous visits (some by name). The rooms are really nice and spacious. I noticed the last room I stayed in was not as good as the other rooms from previous visits. The breakfast is really nice. Very simple but more than enough. It is very difficult for me to go to NYC and not stay at The Pearl. The location is just amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the theater across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnaWaRefeginly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at The Pearl during the height of the awful snow storm over Valentine's Day weekend and found it to be a warm and wonderful place to return to after a day of fighting NY weather and crowds. The wine hour after a long day is especially nice. The front desk staff is especially helpful and friendly and made us feel like we were the only couple in the hotel - it was booked solid I think! It was our anniversary and they even sent up a bottle of champagne. It is conveniently located and walkable to almost everything. Room was very comfortable and spacious and had a great modern bathroom. Best of all it was quiet; we were on the 3rd floor facing 49th street and the noise never bothered our sleep at all. We will definitely come back for another visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HubbaHubba1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I took my wife to NYC for Valentines weekend and wanted something very special. I wanted something smaller, upscale, quiet and for it to have that special something. I was impressed the very minute I walked in the front doors. This is a 13 story boutique hotel located 1 block from the HEART of Times Square! Modern yet warm decor. Quite and comfortable rooms. Easy Access to all the NY has to offer! The only negative thing that I have to say is that our toilet got clogged twice...but I will admit that was my fault ;-) Nice little breakfast on the second floor every morning...which is rare to find in NY. Also have to give a shout out to the doorman "Allen"...great conversation and excellent advice/service. Thank you helping us begin and end our days on the PERFECT foot! I would recommend The Pearl to ANYONE!

Room Tip: It is a shorter hotel, so im not even sure you can get a room with a view of the city. You would ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here recently for 5 nights. We had a queen room which was large enough. The staff were helpful although we didn't need to ask them anything much. The room was clean, the location very central and close enough to Times Square to go see it but not close enough for you to be swamped with everyone else going to see it! It is close to two metro stations so is very convenient. Overall it was adequate for our needs as we were out most of the day.
I just have a few moans but they shouldn't really put anyone off
It does state the breakfast is continental. Just be sure you understand this means quite basic continental. If you like something substantial or warm other than your coffee and toast then this won't suffice.
There is no free water in the room - this should be standard in a hotel charging this much.
There is no toilet brush. A funny thing to say, until you need one!
It's not the type of place to come back to and hang around. There is a bar/grill next to it but it's not that inviting.
If like us you just needed somewhere central and clean for sleeping in between exploring then this is fine. If you want a hotel "experience" then this isn't really for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WozThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing