We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great located, clean, friendly hotel”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great located, clean, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I brought my husband and two teenagers here and felt we had plenty of space, plenty of towels and was very comfortable. The daily cleaning was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. We had Broadway tickets and the theater was right across the street. We had so many choices of great restaurants and shopping we could get to by foot. I would highly recommend the Pearl Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebebigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    537
    71
    11
    10
See reviews for
769
927
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife, 4yr old daughter and I stayed here for a week. We stayed in room #304. I'm guessing the might be the worst room in the hotel. It was directly across from the Book of Mormon sign and right above the breakfast area. So I did hear street noise as well as noise from the breakfast area. Thankfully, it didn't affect my wife and daughter since they're both heavy sleepers. I just used the supplied ear plugs to get a good nights sleep. I actually called the hotel a couple of days before we arrived to request a room on a high floor. However, we arrived early in the day and took the first room available. So, my impatience probably cost us a better room.

The room itself was spacious with a nice bathroom. Unfortunately, the TV in the bathroom didn't work. Normally I wouldn't have cared much but it would've been nice during March Madness! I think the size and quality of the room was very good. We had a cousin visit us and she said our room was nicer than the room she stayed in at the W.

The service was top notch. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room (we were celebrating our anniversary). Everyone we encountered was very nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was a great way to start every morning. I would recommend this hotel based on the service alone.

The location of the hotel can't be beat. It was centrally located for everywhere we wanted to go: from Brooklyn to NJ to Harlem. Walking to the subway (ACE/NQR) took about 3min. We never had a problem getting a cab with the help of the doorman. And we walked to Wicked.

Overall, this hotel is great. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room #304 if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erock901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gilead, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Three friends and I just returned from a NYC "girl's" trip, and we spent three nights at The Pearl. We have found our new favorite hotel, and plan to return often! The room was spacious enough for four women and all our luggage (and shopping bags) - it was also clean and the beds are very comfortable. Everyone on the staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast and the wine hour, and the location is wonderful. We were also able to check in early. We will definitely recommend The Pearl to our friends, and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Ideally situated off Broadway & just round the corner from Times Sq. Rooms are comfortable & towels changed daily. The complimentary breakfast & wine/cheese from 4-5pm were an added bonus. Staff were very friendly & helpful. I would book here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fionaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I've never felt so compelled to leave a review before - this hotel was amazing! From the beautiful, clean, sound-proof rooms, to the amenities, to the incredible staff! I am so grateful for Christian, whose knowledge of Broadway shows and subway lines helped my boyfriend and I immensely. The free continental breakfast and "wine hour" is what brought me to this hotel - excellent money-savers! from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, I could not have been more impressed. According to my boyfriend, I'm "hard to please", so this must truly be a great hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank afrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I try to stay at The Quin when I visit NYC, but there were no rooms available so I decided to try the Pearl.

I had made the mistake of not requesting early check in, but was surprised to find our room would not be ready until 4pm. I upgraded to expedite my check in as I had early dinner reservations. The front desk was very helpful.

I have high expectations for a hotel, so here is my review:
Pro: Room was clean with a comfortable bed and linens.
Cons: The bathroom was average at best, and the room had only one hook to hang clothing, that being in the bathroom. The closet was very small, allowing only a single suit and a shirt or two to hang.
The complimentary Sunday breakfast was nice, though there is limited seating and very little table space.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Pearl for 4 nights in mid-March and loved it. From check in to check out, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was not your typical cramped NY room but was spacious. Except for fire and police vehicle sirens which you'd hear in any hotel, the room (which faced the street) was very quiet. The elevators arrived the fastest of any hotel we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in plenty). The continental breakfast was a plus for this type of hotel; good and plentiful. We were provided with excellent service (like providing an extra suitcase rack) and had no complaints about anything. We will be staying there again in June for 4 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ntieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,717 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
934 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing