We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Clean, quiet, plenty of room, walking distance to subway lines, restaurants, etc... no complaints for a 5 night stay. I was on the 7th floor- street side - and had virtually nothing wake me up during my stay - hooray!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,695
    529
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
757
908
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Pearl is fantastic. Great location, and you don't hear the noise from outside your window as some other reviews say. The decor is really nice all through out the hotel. Room was perfect, our air con broke while we were out and when we came back they had upgraded our rooms for us to apologise for the inconvenience! But even without the extra upgrade I couldn't have faulted the hotel. You get a nice wee breakfast of fruits, bagels and cereals, which is perfect for when you're on the go. I would highly recommend The Pearl. Staff were very helpful when you needed them too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ke-anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I found the hotel, staff and services to be very good, clean, comfortable and safe. The location is great for walking to times square, all the theaters, restaurants, and shopping. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My trip to New York had rather a poor start, I had arranged to rent an apartment for a month which turned into a nightmare so be warned if you are booking from the UK, often photographs flatter. The apartment was dark, dirty, and noisy, I only stayed two nights. Luckily I met a someone who recommended The Pearl Hotel. The Manager Jaime Mendieta was kind and helpful. I booked in on 31st March and stayed until 14th April and it was brilliant. There is really nothing to fault with this hotel, truly the best hotel in New York so far and I have stayed at the Crown Plaza, The Waldorf and many more of a similar grading. The Pearl outshines them all, excuse the pun! The friendly helpful and efficient staff make you immediately feel welcome. My room was large (unusual for New York) and airy and spotlessly clean, the young woman who serviced my room was called Feina and was totally dedicated to her work and always helpful and cheery. Breakfast is included which is also a plus and there is a small gym with outside space for early morning yoga. I wish I had taken the names of all the staff there as they made my stay such a pleasure so if they read these reviews a heartfelt thank you. I will be back without a doubt, at last I have found a safe haven in the heart of my favourite city.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath and shower which is nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethBeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Not only does this hotel have a fantastic location and the most spacious, comfortable rooms that I've ever experienced in NY, the icing on the cake has to be the complimentary breakfast. Loads of choice and the perfect way to start a busy day of sightseeing. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay here next time I'm in New York.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColinSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel was great value for money and had some of the best staff I have encountered in a NYC hotel.

We asked for a quiet room and it was. Not a huge room aqnd a bit airless, but spotless and well laid out and central to everything.

Breakfast was complimentary but it was an eat on the run affair with everything in disposable cups and plates and people jockeying for the few chairs and tables.

We would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room because it can get noisy facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevegne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the pearl hotel. i have been there few times and alwys glad to return .If you are in NYC go to this hotel, the perfect place to stay. the room is very nice, big and very clean!!!!! nice breakfast , happy hour at 4pm. staff are amaizing with a smile will do anything to help you . location perfect on time square.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DORIT534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing