We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A wonderful hotel for attending Broadway shows. Our room in the back was completely quiet at night despite the bustle of the streets. Lemon water, cookies, chips available at all times, wine and cheese for a between show break - this hotel made our whirlwind 9 shows in 6 days super easy. The staff was very helpful, the bathroom well appointed and modern, the beds comfortable - I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a calm oasis near Times Square.

Room Tip: Room in the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie6242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice and quiet boutique hotel. The room is clean, confortable, modern and large for NYC standards. The staff are friendly and professional. Free breakfast, free snacks and coffe, free internet that works. Location is very convenient especially for first time visitors with easy access to most NYC attractions, restaurants, etc.
We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Located directly across the street from the Eugene O'Neill theater (Book of Mormon) it's set very slightly back (1/2 block) from the chaos of Times Square but generally right there. The room was fine, no issues. The elevators are a little slow. I took the steps. The room key had to be rekeyed 3 times. That was a bit annoying, and I got the impression not unusual. Second floor has cookies and drinks. Nice touch. I'd say if the location is your main interest, this hotel had great value and you'll get a fairly priced, clean room. I wouldn't suggest staying here for any other reason, though. As a Times Square hub, sure. If your memory of NYC will be NYC, this works. As a memorable hotel, not so much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseCriticMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My group of 4 ladies just returned from a girls trip to New York City on May 17th. We stayed at the Pearl Hotel mainly because of its excellent location near the Broadway theaters & the restaurants. We also chose it because it is a small boutique hotel. We felt very safe & comfortable there. It was also very convenient to order Broadway show tickets through Christian, the concierge, & have them delivered to the hotel for us to pick up at his desk. The vibe of this small hotel is relaxing & tranquil. Two of us shared a room on the ninth floor & it was very quiet & neatly cleaned. One caveat of the rooms was that there was no mirror on the dresser, so we had to share the mirror in the bathroom. Two ladies sharing a room could use two mirrors! We enjoyed the afternoon wine & cheese hour. The continental breakfast was average. Christian, the concierge made some great restaurant recommendations & was very helpful.

Room Tip: The higher floors have very quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Pearl is fantastically located walk around the corner and there it is Times Square. Being in the centre of the tourist district the hotel is quiet and we felt very safe. The staff were lovely. I was staying here for my bday and when we came home there was a bottle of wine and a card. Very nice. The rooms are fairly small but modern and very clean. Overall a very enjoyable stay and I have recommended staying here to numerous friends.

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you want to see the best of New York and be in all the action but not the noise, with a very comfortable affordable hotel, this is the perfect hotel.
My husband and I stayed her in December 18th to 23rd with our grown up daughters for 5 days ( separate rooms )
Doing shows, shopping and site seeing. The Pearl is central to everything, walking distance to Times Square, the theatres and transport. The hotel was very clean, very good size rooms and modern with a capsule coffee machine. Service was excellent and they had a free wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. Breakfast was good as well, fresh and plenty to eat. Would highly recommend this Motel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreySS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

it was the kind of stay you would hope for in big apple.everything was great.the weather could of been better but the hotel was simply fantastinc.our whole family had a great time.very helpfull staff with great knowledge of the area.thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#27 of 469 in New York City
3,091 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 469 in New York City
240 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,272 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
465 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £182 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing