We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in June 2014 in a deluxe room with 2 Queen beds on the 3rd floor.
The room was large enough for the three of us, had every amenity required and very clean. The breakfast was adequate and plentiful, despite the throw away plastic plates etc. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel's position was perfect, just a few minutes walk to Times Square or a subway station for further afield. We liked it very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,690
    529
    68
    11
    10
See reviews for
755
907
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here during the week before Christmas the staff was helpful and the location awesome. The staff and room was worth the price, we will be back again this summer. It's the people like the staff here that made the stay in NYC do nice and makes my daughter and I want to return yo NYC and when we do we know where to kick up our feet.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillys007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We are here for 3 nights, room 1004, with balcony!
Fantastic, as it is so hot can do a little sun bathing after walking all day, not many hotels have balcony's, so worth it just to soak up New Yorks atmosphere.
Don't have any problems with noise,
Great clean room, great shower & very comfortable bed, even a little kitchen, which we heated up food from carmines restaurant, ( another great place to it)
Lovely continental breakfast & afternoon complemetry wine & cheese,fruits biscuits.
So close to Times Square ( 2 mins walk ) broadway, even Central park 15min walk, tube either end of block, got down to world trade centre in 10 mins, downtown broadway is like our oxford street shops!
I've treated my husband for his 50th birthday, well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaycavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent 5 nights in mid June. City was packed with tourists, but the Pearl is on a quieter street near Times Square. Subway is one block away, bellmen very helpful with directions and cabs. Front desk staff very friendly, and helpful with transportation and resaurant recommendations. We stayed in two rooms, one with 2 Queens and the other with 2 Queens and a small sitting area, both rooms were super clean. Nice shower and separate tub in each bathroom. Wine hour in the evening was nice, and breakfast was decent especially for children/teenagers. Typical fair, bagels, cereal, pastries. Would recommend for families, or anyone who wants to be near Times Square, but on a quieter street. We stayed on the 8th floor facing 49th street, room was quiet, no noise issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Terrific location yet quiet. Can walk to many of the sights, restaurants, subway close. Door and desk staff really helpful. Theatres all around (one opposite, Book of Mormon). Large room, very clean. Loved everything, would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

In NYC it's hard to find accommodations comfortable for a larger family. The Pearl comfortably fit our family of six. The room had two queen beds and a pull out couch area. While I wouldn't call it a suite per say, it definitely provided enough room for our sleeping needs. The evening wine and cheese was wonderful and having access to the continental breakfast was convenient in the morning. The location can't be beat if you want to be close to Times Square and easily walk to many of the broadway shows. We were warmly welcomed the minute we stepped out of the car and the front desk clerks were extremely helpful and friendly. Very happy we found The Pearl!

Room Tip: Rooms near the street are obviously a little louder. Bring along a sound machine or download a soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely small friendly boutique hotel. Staff and concierge very helpful. Breakfast although continental still offered alot of choice, eggs, bagels, pastries. Lovely philosophy shower toiletries. Nice size rooms, very clean. Would not recommend to those who are looking to avoid the extremely busy times square. Luckily our room was not facing the road and was very quiet. 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucky122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,571 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,302 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing