We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pearl”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent a night here and went to the theater. Amazing location. It offers complimentary breakfast, snacks day-round and a happy hour as well as free wifi. Room was wonderful and bathroom was beautiful. We could some noise during the day. At night fall -- dead silent. Wonderful! The attached restaurant was great for a late night dinner.

Staff was lovely and recommendations to have breakfast at Cosmic Diner around the corner was right on the money. There is a supermarket on the corner of 8th....


Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisheva2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Pearl Hotel while on our honeymoon in June 2014. We chose this hotel based on the exception reviews and it lived up to it in every way.

The hotel is located just off broadway west 49 street. Although right in the heart of Times Square the hotel is very quiet and we had a perfect sleep every night. Not once could we hear the noise of outside.

The hotel decor is immaculate. Low lighting in the corridors make the hotel feel very boutique while the reception area and breakfast buffet area is very well lit and modern. We stayed in the Deluxe Executive King room and again the decor and cleanliness of the room was fantastic.

The hotel staff were also very friendly and the concierge was always helpful and polite when we needed her services. Every morning we were greated with a 'hello' and every evening we were greeted with 'good evening'.

The bell boy was always present and would always open the door and say hello.

We booked this hotel knowing it would be for our honeymoon and probably once in a lifetime stay. However the hotel surpassed our expectations so much that we will definitely try to visit and stay at The Pearl Hotel again.

Room Tip: We booked a king executive deluxe which was on floor 14, the highest floor other than the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Probably the best place to stay while attending any Broadway production. Centrally located in the theatre district, this boutique hotel offers luxury, comfort, convenience along with quiet. I emphasize quiet, because that is an incredible bonus in such a busy location. The staff is friendly, the rooms are top-shelf, and the complimentary breakfast offerings are varied and fresh. I would go back in an instant. My only disappointment was room readiness. We had arrived early and checked luggage so we could enjoy all the city offered. Upon returning at 4 PM, our room was not ready, and it took some gentle persuasion to insure we could get in to change for 5 PM dinner reservations and a 7 PM show time. A minor inconvenience, but one that never should happen.

Room Tip: Any location works. We were on the 3rd floor right over 49th street, and never was bothered by city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great modern property that is between 7th & 8th Avenues, close to Times Square and is a block away from a Red Line subway station. Very modern and comfortable hotel, the second floor has a nice area where breakfast and evening snacks are served daily. I am sure that the rates were marked up for the Superbowl, but still well worth the amenities and high level of service provided. Thank goodness that the windows in our room opened; they are not afraid to turn on the heat.

Room Tip: We were in a suite on the front of the building that faced a theatre across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dufferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at this wonderful property with our 2 young children (ages 6 and 8). We booked this hotel after extensive research and the valued comments from Trip Advisor contributors and could not have been any happier with our choice in this extremely busy part of the city.

The boutique size of this property in such an ideal location was absolutely perfect for our family. The hotel is comfortable and cozy, with a friendly staff, nicely sized rooms for NYC and easy walking distance to Times Square. We had a deluxe room with 2 double beds located on the 8th floor facing the Eugene O'Neill Theatre (currently showing the Book of Mormon) but the neither the noise from the theatre nor the city sounds were disruptive in our room. The nicely appointed room featured an oversized closet with shelves, in addition to a number of drawers under the flat screen TV, so no shortage of space for clothing as is often lacking in city hotels. The bathroom was a decent size for our needs, though my only (small) complaint would be about the tiny sized bath products that were sparingly left in the bathroom. We were not restocked one afternoon and additional products were quickly brought to our room, as the staff was always so quickly accommodating of our needs. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job and the rooms were spotless. The beds were very comfortable, as the linens and towels were high end. The room also had a small fridge and microwave which is always nice when traveling with children. The continental breakfast and the wine reception in the evenings were well stocked and well staffed, as both were quite busy while we were there. The front desk and bell staff were always very helpful with anything we needed and kindly helped guide us through the city. A few minor suggestions for the management would be to have more pillows on the bed (2 is not sufficient in my opinion for a nice hotel, though there was one in the closet), and rather have 4 on each bed which is pretty standard in higher end properties. We requested more pillows the first night and they were also quickly delivered to our room. Also a wine opener in the nicely appointed kitchenette in the room would be a minor but nice addition as well. On additional thing I want to praise the staff for was the kindness in dealing with the unfortunate cancellation of our first night due to a cancelled flight to NYC due to severe weather. It was very professionally dealt with, as obviously those circumstances were beyond our control. Our family very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely property and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jholetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Pearl was a gem, the entire staff were always eager to assist us in any way. I was really surprised to find this small town hospitality in such a large fast pace city just for that reason I would most certainly book at The Pearl if I ever return to NYC. The rooms are very comfortable for two people. The location is perfect, close to everything or just a short subway ride away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely modern rooms and fantastic location just off Times Square.
The staff are helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
It is pricey but this is Manhattan (& we were there a few days before Christmas) and in this case you get what you pay for.
Breakfast is a bit 'canteen like' but given the amount you can eat in nyc that is no major hardship.
Definitely recommended

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RachelandNeil213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#29 of 469 in New York City
3,077 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,270 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#23 of 469 in New York City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
462 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £189 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing