We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Complaints”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Complaints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what it was advertised as. A wonderful continental breakfast and wifi also contributed to the experience. The room was also very quiet at night which Is important for these long business trips. Happy hour is a wonderful experience and something to come back for.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DorothyTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,693
    529
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
755
908
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel was a real find. It was very reasonably priced but comfortable, nicely appointed and clean. It did not feel like I was settling due to budget at all.

It is right in the middle of the Broadway action and close to Times Square but was quiet and felt like an oasis as soon as you walked through the doors.

There was always cold lemon water to refresh you after exploring the the city and fruit and snack as well.

I would stay there again any time I'm in the city.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsdryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent a night here and went to the theater. Amazing location. It offers complimentary breakfast, snacks day-round and a happy hour as well as free wifi. Room was wonderful and bathroom was beautiful. We could some noise during the day. At night fall -- dead silent. Wonderful! The attached restaurant was great for a late night dinner.

Staff was lovely and recommendations to have breakfast at Cosmic Diner around the corner was right on the money. There is a supermarket on the corner of 8th....


Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisheva2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Pearl Hotel while on our honeymoon in June 2014. We chose this hotel based on the exception reviews and it lived up to it in every way.

The hotel is located just off broadway west 49 street. Although right in the heart of Times Square the hotel is very quiet and we had a perfect sleep every night. Not once could we hear the noise of outside.

The hotel decor is immaculate. Low lighting in the corridors make the hotel feel very boutique while the reception area and breakfast buffet area is very well lit and modern. We stayed in the Deluxe Executive King room and again the decor and cleanliness of the room was fantastic.

The hotel staff were also very friendly and the concierge was always helpful and polite when we needed her services. Every morning we were greated with a 'hello' and every evening we were greeted with 'good evening'.

The bell boy was always present and would always open the door and say hello.

We booked this hotel knowing it would be for our honeymoon and probably once in a lifetime stay. However the hotel surpassed our expectations so much that we will definitely try to visit and stay at The Pearl Hotel again.

Room Tip: We booked a king executive deluxe which was on floor 14, the highest floor other than the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
429 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Probably the best place to stay while attending any Broadway production. Centrally located in the theatre district, this boutique hotel offers luxury, comfort, convenience along with quiet. I emphasize quiet, because that is an incredible bonus in such a busy location. The staff is friendly, the rooms are top-shelf, and the complimentary breakfast offerings are varied and fresh. I would go back in an instant. My only disappointment was room readiness. We had arrived early and checked luggage so we could enjoy all the city offered. Upon returning at 4 PM, our room was not ready, and it took some gentle persuasion to insure we could get in to change for 5 PM dinner reservations and a 7 PM show time. A minor inconvenience, but one that never should happen.

Room Tip: Any location works. We were on the 3rd floor right over 49th street, and never was bothered by city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great modern property that is between 7th & 8th Avenues, close to Times Square and is a block away from a Red Line subway station. Very modern and comfortable hotel, the second floor has a nice area where breakfast and evening snacks are served daily. I am sure that the rates were marked up for the Superbowl, but still well worth the amenities and high level of service provided. Thank goodness that the windows in our room opened; they are not afraid to turn on the heat.

Room Tip: We were in a suite on the front of the building that faced a theatre across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dufferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at this wonderful property with our 2 young children (ages 6 and 8). We booked this hotel after extensive research and the valued comments from Trip Advisor contributors and could not have been any happier with our choice in this extremely busy part of the city.

The boutique size of this property in such an ideal location was absolutely perfect for our family. The hotel is comfortable and cozy, with a friendly staff, nicely sized rooms for NYC and easy walking distance to Times Square. We had a deluxe room with 2 double beds located on the 8th floor facing the Eugene O'Neill Theatre (currently showing the Book of Mormon) but the neither the noise from the theatre nor the city sounds were disruptive in our room. The nicely appointed room featured an oversized closet with shelves, in addition to a number of drawers under the flat screen TV, so no shortage of space for clothing as is often lacking in city hotels. The bathroom was a decent size for our needs, though my only (small) complaint would be about the tiny sized bath products that were sparingly left in the bathroom. We were not restocked one afternoon and additional products were quickly brought to our room, as the staff was always so quickly accommodating of our needs. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job and the rooms were spotless. The beds were very comfortable, as the linens and towels were high end. The room also had a small fridge and microwave which is always nice when traveling with children. The continental breakfast and the wine reception in the evenings were well stocked and well staffed, as both were quite busy while we were there. The front desk and bell staff were always very helpful with anything we needed and kindly helped guide us through the city. A few minor suggestions for the management would be to have more pillows on the bed (2 is not sufficient in my opinion for a nice hotel, though there was one in the closet), and rather have 4 on each bed which is pretty standard in higher end properties. We requested more pillows the first night and they were also quickly delivered to our room. Also a wine opener in the nicely appointed kitchenette in the room would be a minor but nice addition as well. On additional thing I want to praise the staff for was the kindness in dealing with the unfortunate cancellation of our first night due to a cancelled flight to NYC due to severe weather. It was very professionally dealt with, as obviously those circumstances were beyond our control. Our family very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely property and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jholetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing