We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to the name” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #16 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lived up to the name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel, located just off the very busy Times Square and found the hotel lived up to its' name.

Service was exceptionally good, polite and helpful at all times and reception staff were well prepared to respond to various requests.

Room was very comfortable and all sounds but the occasional siren from fire/police cars were insulated, making it easy to sleep. In fact, the bedding and pillows were the most comfortable we have encountered.

Breakfast was adequate and a welcome inclusion in the cost of the accommodation, which is not cheap but room size was very good by NY standards.

Location near Times Square is good for exploring that area, however be prepared for large crowds, traffic congestion getting to and from the hotel if using cars and if you walk a little out of the immediate area, down past 8th you will get better priced restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    522
    67
    10
    10
See reviews for
747
900
65
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Friendly staff welcome you to this gem of hotel, in the mid of the theater district. Rooms are very spacious, with four of us staying at a suite, with all amenities, free WiFi, and unusual continental breakfast, which I don't find in most places in NYC. Staff very helpful, and service was always timely, and fast. As a perk, there is a daily wine and cheese complimentary at 4 PM, and always, snack, and refreshment available.

As a frequent traveler to NYC, and having stayed in many different premises, this is a keep, and reasonable priced. you won't regret, and still enjoy the electricity of this city, with a nice place to relax and wine down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a beautiful, small, Boutique Hotel. We stayed in a King room with a balcony. SOOOOOOO spacious especially for NYC! The room was so tastefully decorated, clean, balcony was amazing, bed was sooooo comfortable. Staff was so accommodating and breakfast was easily accessible and simple. Surprise delivery of in room champagne was a nice touch. The location is A++++ Times Square, transportation, east side, west side, cruise terminal, attractions, you name it, all at your finger tips. Restaurants, from street vendors and diners, to upscale steak houses are right outside the door.
We will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Balcony room was awesome to have. Out on the Balcony was a little noisy until about midnight, but wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMARIANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful bigger than average room with a separate closet that held our suitcases. The bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The staff were helpful booking tours, shows and for directions. If we ever get back to NY we will certainly be staying at The Pearl.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am very picky, especially when I am staying in NYC- since you are paying top dollar for whatever
level of hotel you are staying at. I was at a conference at the Crowne Plaza which is a block away, and decided to try the Pearl as I prefer smaller hotels in general. I was very happy with just about everything at this little gem. Great helpful staff, large quiet room, parking garage right next door-
Free breakfast with everything you need, and a cute restaurant right in huge building-
Also ate at Serafina, right across the street, which has delicious pasta dishes ( try any of the ravioli- unbelievably good). I highly recommend the Pearl- it is truly a gem in Times Square!

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of building to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at many hotels over the years in NYC and were looking for something more spacious than your typical room. The suites here fit the bill and then some. The finishes were better that expected and the service was friendly and very professional. The location is so convenient, yet not chaotic. When we had a change of plans that allowed us to stay in NYC an extra night the management of the hotel found a want to keep us in our suite even though the place was fully booked. Very impressive all around.

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Loved this hotel. Service was impeccable, location wonderful, spacious room with fabulous bathrooms. If I could, this is the only place I would stay in New York.
I love the fact it is not pretentious or ostentatious and tourist can browse around dressed down without feeling out of place at all, even if this is a 5 star hotel.
Kudos to management, our stay was PERFECT IN EVERY WAY.

Room Tip: room was perfect for family with four tall adults. room on third floor was perfect for kids who wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaDoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing