We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small boutique beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A small boutique beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was a first time visitor to NYC. I was alone, but meeting a friend later that night. I had no clue where to catch the train or where I was in the city. The front desk staff was friendly and professional. They answered my questions quickly and efficiently which was what I needed. The rooms are smaller than a normal hotel room but they were every bit as nice or better than most five star hotels I've stayed in. All the amenities were there and wonderful, the balcony overlooked 49th street and was sooo nice. NYC can be a daunting environment for someone unaccustomed to this large a city but the staff make it a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend as far as the location and the staff as well.
Job well done!

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,693
    529
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
755
908
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is really well located in the heart of the Theater District and a very short walk from Times Square.

Inside, the hotel is tastefully decorated throughout and it is immaculate.

The rooms and the bathrooms are huge by New York City standards and they are immaculately clean. The hotel is really well maintained.

The price includes a buffet breakfast, which is huge bonus. There is also a free cheese and wine hour and there is free coffee and tea available all day.

There is also free wi-fi available.

The staff are really friendly and very helpful, if needed.

I cannot fault this hotel in any way and I would highly recommend that you stay here.

It is good for both familes and couples alike. It is very quiet throughout.

There are about 14 floors so I can only assume that the higher you go the less traffic noise you'd expect to hear, but I heard very little other than the odd truck horn, and we were situated on the 3rd floor.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook West 49th Street at the front (with a street view) or the back of the hotel, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eebz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our recent trip to New York for our 30th anniversary. We found the staff very helpful and accomodating. The daily wine reception was a great place to meet people from all over the world. The morning breakfast was just the right amount. Our room was very comfortable with modern furnishings and the bathroom was nicely done as well. The hotel's location was perfect for us right in the heart of the theater district. Excellent stay. Would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMurr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our family just stayed this past weekend and loved the hotels location to Times Square which is 5 mins. walking distance. The staff was very helpful with all our needs and we even got to check in early since our room was ready. The hotel room was newly remodeled and super clean. Overall our trip was great and we enjoyed our stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Rm #506 it has a shower and tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Right on Times Square and close to subway station.
Very nice and spacious room.Beds were very comfortable.
Nice breakfast, bagels, cereal, yogurt and fruit.
Free WiFi.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved this hotel. Great location, clean and comfortable room, most staff are helpful and breakfast is included. I liked this hotel because it isn't right on times square but is only a very short walk from it. It is smack bang in the middle of the theater district and Hells Kitchen for restaurants. Subways are also conveniently located. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel with my family. The boutique hotel is clean friendly and the rooms are huge for NY. The complimentary breakfast is very ample to start the day with. The rooms are very clean and the hotel staff are very efficient and courteous. The hotel provides 24 hour coffee, snacks and fruit, The shampoo etc supplied is top quality. The location is right in mid Manhattan and every attraction in NY is within walking distance and the hotel is right across the street from The Eugene Oneill Theatre which is showing The Book of Mormon. The area is very busy and well lit so you feel safe at all times. The hotel cant drown out the noise of the constant sirens and beeping horns if you get a room overlooking 49th Street but I think that is one of the best things, all the noise and movement just adds to your experience in NY. I SPECIFICALLY asked for a room overlooking the street. Don't go to NY if you want a quiet holiday. This is a fantastic hotel and the staff do it proud. If I go back to NY for a fourth ime I WILL BE BACK AT THE PEARL........

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and away from the lift and a back view if you want quiet. Ask for a room overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lainey1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing