We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just GOOD”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #26 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location is fantastic. You are in the very heart of Manhattan, but the rest is just OK. Rooms are big enough, but when you know price for it, you may feel a bit dissapointed. For sure a big plus are soundproof windows, what enables you to sleep good even at the middle of Manhattan. Surprisingly I have to say that the restaurant which is next door (and hotel offers discount for its guests) is very good. I can only repeat what other guests have already written about front desk, they should inform better about what hotel's offer (wine hour - what is this !!!???), unless this is properly done not to destroy hotel's P&L

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A peaceful, boutique hotel, reasonably priced. Includes continental breakfast, wine late afternoon, a good-sized room, microwave and fridge. Two steps from 8th Ave where they actually have empty cabs. Big food store at the corner. Excellent choice for theatre.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BARRY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

hotel was in a great location with most major sites in walkable distance and theatre district on the doorstep. Rooms were clean and hotel clearly had been fully refitted. rooms were a reasonable size although bathrooms were fairly small but more than adequate. Restaurant next to the hotel was affiliated with it and did room service etc but wasn't the cheapest although was good food. on challenges were the free breakfast was in an area that became overcrowded fairly quickly so we just tool coffee pastries back to our room.

Room Tip: we had a room on the top floor which I suspect helped with street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very nice hotel. It was very close to theater district and was very clean. Our room was a nice size for NYC. Staff was very friendly. Had great breakfast buffet. Management was nice enough to let us check out late.

Room Tip: Suites are great! Light on top of ceiling is a bit annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The front desk staff needs to be more forthcoming with amenities at the hotel. I didn't know there was a complimentary wine hour!!! They didn't even mention the complimentary breakfast - I knew this from staying here before. They didn't tell us the wifi pass code - we had to call down to the front desk to get it. These are all things that they should tell guests when they check in. They are pleasant, but don't give any information which seems to be the norm in NYC. Bellmen are very nice & helpful. The carpeting on our room (503) will need to be replaced soon - there is a worn area by the bathroom. Overall, it's a nice hotel & we would stay here in the future.

Room Tip: This hotel has central heat & air which most hotels do not. So, all the rooms that I have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This boutique hotel is only a block away from all the hustle and bustle of Times Square but it seems like you're further away as it is so quiet. The hotel is beautiful, we stayed one night and got upgraded to a suite which was totally awesome. We even took their suggestion to eat
at a restaurant near Central Park which turned out to be good as we'll. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is fairly small but is in the perfect location for theater-goers. It is directly across the street from Book of Mormon and is a stone's throw from Time's Square.

The property itself was clean, and modern. Not exactly my style as far as aesthetics go, but it was fine. The front desk staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. We were a group of four, on a girls weekend and booked a suite. Honestly, the size of the suite was a total disappointment. I expected there to be a comfortable lounge area, where we could sit off and chat and maybe watch a bit of tv before going to bed. That "lounge area" (which ended up being our luggage room) has a tiny loveseat, two backless stools, a tv, and a small bar area. The bedroom that we had, was decent sized (since we didn't have to worry about tripping over luggage), with two queen sized beds. The bathroom is a huge by NYC standards, with a full soaking tub, and rain shower.

There is a happy hour every afternoon, that offers free wine and cheese. It was a nice touch, but with cheap wine, I didn't bother stopping there but once. Continental breakfast is also included the room rate, and this was more than adequate for me. Hotel also offers free wifi.

Overall, I was happy with The Pearl. It was small, but I come to expect that with NYC hotels, so it met my expectations. The service was great; we definitely got all the help that we needed, so on that basis, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bermy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 471 in New York City
3,308 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 471 in New York City
317 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#107 of 471 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 471 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £143 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing