We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great amenities”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Downers Grove, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great location, great amenities”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I can't say enough great things about the Pearl Hotel. The location was terrific (very near Times Square). The staff was really attentive and helped when I had a special request. Since I had knee surgery this summer, I needed to come back to the hotel and ice my knee several times. The front desk had housekeeping bring up ice for my knee. They have a free continental breakfast and a wine hour as well which my husband and I enjoyed! There were very few rooms per floor so there was not a lot of noise in the hallway. The rooms were very quiet and restful. We will make sure to return to this hotel when we come back to NYC.

Room Tip: There are only about 7 rooms per floor. All rooms are terrific and it seemed very quiet to me. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    547
    73
    11
    10
See reviews for
789
932
66
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel in a very convenient location. The rooms are large for New York and the beds are extremely comfortable. It is also incredibly quiet. Cannot fault anything. The complimentary cheese and wine (and fruit and crudités and dips and crackers) is a really nice bonus at the end of a day of sightseeing and the breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. It included lovely fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice, bagels, muffins, pastries and eggs, all buffet style. I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at The Pearl August 8th through August 11th. We were impressed with the cleanliness, the décor, the newness, the comfort of the beds; the lovely rain shower along with a separate full size bathtub; the toiletries (Philosophy); the friendliness of the staff; the location to Times Square (and subway access); the ease of securing cabs and/or car service. It is a small hotel, that is quiet..so perfect place to go when done with the hustle/bustle of the city. There is an adjoining restaurant and bar (which is accessed through the lobby). We did get drinks there (which was so very convenient)...but too busy to enjoy a meal there, but the pictures of their burgers and steaks looked amazing. In addition, they have live Jazz music on Mondays and Tuesdays. Loved the whole experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location, comfortable bed, clean quiet room, nice style and a very reasonable breakfast make The Pearl a hotel I would definitely recommend. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable and treated everyone very nicely. Throw in a complimentary wine hour and 24 hour snacks....what else can you ask for. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jared H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After spending one night at a disastrous, gross and obscenely loud hotel we checked this place out in the morning, intending to switch. We were greeted by very friendly staff who seemed sympathetic to our experience and offered to show us a room so we could see the cleanliness and overall atmosphere. They showed us a few rooms and we were impressed, grabbed our luggage and checked in, all before 9am. They gave us an "upgrade" on the room, probably because it was the one they had free that morning, but it was really appreciated anyway, they could have made us wait to check in. Very friendly, super helpful. Breakfast was included and so was afternoon wine. Rooms were large, soundproof and very clean. highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa,Poland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location is fantastic. You are in the very heart of Manhattan, but the rest is just OK. Rooms are big enough, but when you know price for it, you may feel a bit dissapointed. For sure a big plus are soundproof windows, what enables you to sleep good even at the middle of Manhattan. Surprisingly I have to say that the restaurant which is next door (and hotel offers discount for its guests) is very good. I can only repeat what other guests have already written about front desk, they should inform better about what hotel's offer (wine hour - what is this !!!???), unless this is properly done not to destroy hotel's P&L

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A peaceful, boutique hotel, reasonably priced. Includes continental breakfast, wine late afternoon, a good-sized room, microwave and fridge. Two steps from 8th Ave where they actually have empty cabs. Big food store at the corner. Excellent choice for theatre.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BARRY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 466 in New York City
2,835 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 466 in New York City
3,525 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing