We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in NYC”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #26 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a family vacation in NYC. The hotel was wonderful. Staff were friendly, it was close to everything we wanted to see. Rooms were large and clean. It was nice having. The continental breakfast was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Pearl is a great boutique hotel on 49th w. The hotel has been very tastefully decorated in subdued tones and clean lines. The high ceilings make the space feel more spacious. The bedroom was very large with a seating area and a desk. While the bathroom was on the smaller side it was more than made up by the toiletries, bathrobe and slippers. The hotel staff could not be nicer and are always looking at ways in which they can help. The free wifi was a welcome touch. The second floor hosts the small, but well equipped gym, as well as the space which is used for the complementary continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and hot beverages at any other time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pearl.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from our second stay at the pearl hotel and once again it didn't disappoint. I can honestly say I can not find a fault with this hotel. It is in a perfect location, the rooms are smart and comfortable, the staff are helpful and always pleasant and the complimentary continental breakfast is an added bonus. We have recommended this hotel to friends who also came back with the same opinion - perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our family of four just returned from a 3 night stay and we have no hesitation in recommending this boutique hotel. It is the perfect location (on a quiet street, 2 blocks away from Times Square). The hotel staff were very helpful including the people at the front desk, Christian (Concierge), the porters and the folks who are in charge of breakfast / the complimentary wine and cheese hour. Our room was modern, spotless and included a very comfortable mattress. The subway is 1 block away and there are a large number of good Restaurants within walking distance (The Pearl helped us to book a Reservation at Carmine's after the online website indicated there was no space available). Broadway theatres are close by; as are the stores on Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Hell's Kitchen, etc.
JS

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I can't say enough great things about the Pearl Hotel. The location was terrific (very near Times Square). The staff was really attentive and helped when I had a special request. Since I had knee surgery this summer, I needed to come back to the hotel and ice my knee several times. The front desk had housekeeping bring up ice for my knee. They have a free continental breakfast and a wine hour as well which my husband and I enjoyed! There were very few rooms per floor so there was not a lot of noise in the hallway. The rooms were very quiet and restful. We will make sure to return to this hotel when we come back to NYC.

Room Tip: There are only about 7 rooms per floor. All rooms are terrific and it seemed very quiet to me. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel in a very convenient location. The rooms are large for New York and the beds are extremely comfortable. It is also incredibly quiet. Cannot fault anything. The complimentary cheese and wine (and fruit and crudités and dips and crackers) is a really nice bonus at the end of a day of sightseeing and the breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. It included lovely fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice, bagels, muffins, pastries and eggs, all buffet style. I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at The Pearl August 8th through August 11th. We were impressed with the cleanliness, the décor, the newness, the comfort of the beds; the lovely rain shower along with a separate full size bathtub; the toiletries (Philosophy); the friendliness of the staff; the location to Times Square (and subway access); the ease of securing cabs and/or car service. It is a small hotel, that is quiet..so perfect place to go when done with the hustle/bustle of the city. There is an adjoining restaurant and bar (which is accessed through the lobby). We did get drinks there (which was so very convenient)...but too busy to enjoy a meal there, but the pictures of their burgers and steaks looked amazing. In addition, they have live Jazz music on Mondays and Tuesdays. Loved the whole experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#24 of 473 in New York City
3,396 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 473 in New York City
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,270 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £150 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing