We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for central NYC”
Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Apartments
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Reviews of these apartments tend to be quite mixed, so I was a bit wary when I booked my stay here for 5 nights, particularly at the prices (~500GBP/~750USD at that time), quite a bargain for this part of NYC). One of the main reasons I opted to stay here was that every room came with an en-suite bathroom (sharing bathrooms is still very common in a space-confined NYC), and of course the location.

The staff were friendly and the room was basic, but spacious, comfortable and functional. A/C worked well. It took a while to work the TV, but I probably watched less than an hour during my whole stay (who needs TV in NYC?). Wi-fi internet was available in my room, despite claims that there's only wired access. En-suite and kitchenette were as described (didn't use the kitchenette much though; I just ate out). Excellent location, though. Times Square is on your doorstep, and all the Broadway theatres are within walking distance. Better still, pretty much every subway line passes through Times Square or Grand Central, and you can get to pretty much anywhere in the city from here.

On the other side, the towels/bedding weren't changed (not an issue for 5 nights, but 2 weeks here may be a bit of stretch). To be honest, you wouldn't expect that in apartments anyway. There was a cleaning surcharge and, in my case, tax to be paid in cash on arrival so be prepared (adding a cleaning surcharge is a bit of a cheek when there's no daily cleaning, to be honest, but it's still good value). Complaints about traffic noise were a common criticism, but you'll probably get that anywhere in Central Manhattan! I really didn't find it an issue. The decor in the room wasn't great, but again I had no major complaints about it.

If you want a hotel (not self-catering apartments) near Times Square, stump up and pay for something better. If you can't afford that, then you need to compromise on location or service. If you're happy to do away with room service and daily room cleaning for a short stay (which really shouldn't be a problem), then this is a bargain. I'd happily return if I did need to be near Times Square again, but you'll probably get better bargains if you dare to move about a bit more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristopherP715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

If a picture is worth a thousand words - here's 10,000 :) ........ although the beds were comfortable, overall the rooms were terrible and dirty, only one of the two elevators which kinna worked, it just had no light to indicate which floor it stopped at. The light in the kitchen area did not work - it was reported to the staff, but never fixed. No phone in the room. Could hear everything from the next room. For two days there was awful smell of sewer in the hallway.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room if you have to stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank HomelyPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a hard review to write because we broke the rule that says you should complain to the staff and give them a chance to put things right. We didn't do that because we already knew they were fully booked and there wasn't actually anything they could have done to change things. The room was shabby and outdated, but it was clean, and it was noisy because it was right next to a construction site which started work at 7am weekdays. So they couldn't have moved us to a different apartment and they couldn't have shut down a construction site for the New York subway extension.

Also to put it in context the United Nations Conference that was happening meant that loads of hotels were full or very expensive so this was a relatively good value option, although not cheap.

The good points are that the staff are good, helpful and friendly and there at the front desk 24/7. And the location is good as there are plenty of good bars and restaurants on 9th Avenue nearby. The lobby area is nice, and there are some interesting books about NYC to look at. The communal areas are all clean and well kept and the bed was comfortable.

The bad stuff is that we were there for a week and one of the two elevators was permanently out of service, leading to delays, especially when the cleaning staff were using it.

The apartment itself was pretty poor, and to call it an apartment just isn't true - it was an averagely sized room with an old fashioned sink/cooker unit and microwave to the side. There wasn't room for a table and chairs to eat at, only a desk with an office chair and a weird padded deck chair type seat. The fixtures were old and shabby with exposed electical fixtures like junction boxes.

There was poorly fixed secondary glazing to the door to the balcony with bits peeling off the frame where strips of wood had been nailed down. There were chips and marks all over the walls near the floor and a fridge that looked like it came from the 1950s (although it worked well).

The bathroom was the worst part with mould patches and a filthy air vent above the shower - which was just a curtain over the bath. The floor tiles had been patched up with paste which had been left in lumps.

The 'wardrobe' was just an alcove with a rail above, and there were no drawers at all to put clothes in so we had to keep things in suitcases.

Nobody goes to NYC for a quiet holiday - the constant sound of cars honking is just part of the experience. But at 7am every morning the vehicles from the construction site right oppositte would start bleeping and didn't stop until 4pm. The air conditioning unit was really noisy and old and seemed to need a service.

There was a balcony but there were no chairs to sit on and admire the view of the construction site, and the flock of about 500 pigeons which swarmed constantly were a bit of a worry in terms of getting unwated additions to your clothes and hair!

I feel bad about writing this review because we had an amazing holiday and the accommodation didn't spoil it at all - you're never going to go to NYC and spend long periods of time in your room!

We've been to NYC loads of times but we'd never go back to Metro Apartments.

Room Tip: Not 8K on the 8th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faddywaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Metro Apartments for 1 week in August 2012. I was very nervous about staying here after reading some of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised with our choice. We checked in really easy and quickly around 7.30pm. Our un-renovated was on the 7th floor, 7A i think. The room was so spacious. We had almost everything we needed. The kitchenette was fantastic. So good to be able to start the day with your own breakfast. I did however rewash the dishes and utensils before using them as I noticed they weren't as clean as I would like. The coffee pot, fridge, hot water and stove were all excellent. I would have liked to have a couch in the room rather than a desk. The bathroom was old and a little cracked but clean and in perfect working order. Like most have mentioned, the area is really noisy, but i cant see how anything can be done about that. Yes most nights we did wake up to loud trucks and buses or a very random delivery time for the construction site across the road, but hey, its the city that never sleeps. The air conditioning does drown out some of the noise though. During our stay I found every staff member lovely and more than willing to share some local knowledge. Metro apartments is in such a good location too. We walked everywhere and never felt unsafe despite the area being a little rough. If you're not after a 5 star experience and want and affordable place to stay I would highly recommend Metro Apartments.

Room Tip: Don't stress if you don't get a renovated room. The old ones are just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hope J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Metro Apartments isn't like a hotel, exactly, you're leasing an apartment for a period of time. After several previous trips to NYC in which I'd stayed on the East side, midtown, in a shoe-box sized room, I wanted something bigger and with facilities to at least store food and even cook or heat food up. My apartment (and you get a real door key not a swipe card) was huge compared to the hotel room I usually stayed in. I had a queen sized comfortable bed; a built in wardrobe, a bathroom with a shower over a tub and vanity unit; a kitchenette with fridge, microwave, hotplates, cutlery, pots, pans and crockery for four people; a large bureau and a balcony. Being on my own, I found I had plenty of room and it was great to be able to eat a healthy breakfast in the apartment before heading out for the day instead of buying breakfast out somewhere - saved money too. The reception area is newly renovated and the staff are very helpful and pleasant, especially Dave who knows where to get good pizza at weird hours. My apartment seemed to be one of the ones that they haven't quite gotten around to renovating yet - I kind of felt like I was back in the late 80's a little but it didn't matter. My apartment was on the third floor and next time I might ask for one higher up (they have 13 floors) as my balcony was directly level with the flyover to the Lincold Tunnel - but I still had no problem sleeping at night as the windows seem to be double-glazed and having the air-con going drowned out any traffic noise. I'm a light sleeper and had come prepared with earplugs but didn't need them. The block the Metro Apartments is on is in, shall we say, a less than salubrious neighbourhood but once you walk one block north to 42nd St and about half a block over, things improve markedly. I found the location very convenient indeed - take the cross-town bus on 42nd over to Grand Central to get trains to anywhere or to one of the North-South avenues to get buses and, of course, Times Square is right around the corner. You have to pay a cleaning fee of $58 when you arrive, for the cleaning of the apartment after you leave. While you're there, you look after yourself - if you need new towels, sheets, toilet paper, whatever, you can ring down for it or go downstairs and ask for it but there's no daily room servicing like in a hotel. I was happy to look after myself and valued the privacy so this was no problem for me. There are plenty of places around to buy food including a Food Emporium one block up on 42nd so if you don't want to eat out every night, you can cook for yourself. I really liked the Metro, especially having so much more space, and will definitely make this my regular place to stay for future trips. It was also considerably less expensive than my previous hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAM66Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for a week in September - great location, close to Times Square, Hell's Kitchen and subway access. The apartment was spacious, well furnished and very clean. We found every member of staff to be very pleasant, helpful and friendly - would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just returned from seven nights in a studio at the Metro Apartments. What a fantastic hotel/apartment! Loads of room, great view over the city. Yes, it's loud, but it's New York! Nothing bad to say about this accommodation. Located close to Times Sq and other attractions, and with easy access to subway and buses. Clean accommodation and couldn't hear guests in rooms around us.

Staff were friendly enough and had lots of information for us if we needed it. Also could leave bags with hotel on last day whilst we did some last minute sightseeing before returning to the airport.

If you want a clean, spacious hotel with all the modern amenities, this is your place! If you want room service... not so much... but who needs room service in New York City?

Looking forward to staying again soon

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor, which was lovely. Can't speak for anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westendwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Out NYC
The Out NYC
#270 of 469 in New York City
1,390 reviews
Midtown
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Travel Inn Hotel New York
#336 of 469 in New York City
1,815 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#290 of 469 in New York City
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#123 of 469 in New York City
1,220 reviews
Midtown
Apt 168
Apt 168
#34 of 163 in New York City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Address: 440 W 41st St, New York City, NY 10036-6815
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing