We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique NY experience”
Review of Elegant Tightwad

Elegant Tightwad
Ranked #250 of 605 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dress like a diva, shop like a tightwad! Join NYC's original Garment Center Wholesale Shopping Tour. We've been taking shoppers behind the scenes in the NYC Garment District since 2002 where they buy current season designer duds at wholesale and below. Other tours include East Village Bargainista, Uptown Consignment Crawl, and Accessory Addict & Customized Private Tours for your group or organization of 1 – 100 people. We’ve been seen on CBS, CNN, & media outlets worldwide.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique NY experience”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Loved this tour. Brought friends from the UK for a unique experience. So great to do something that isn't 'run of the mill'. When to small venues that I would otherwise have walked straight past. Absolute food goldmine. Who knew there was a cute little beer garden on 1st Avenue?! Did the Hells Kitchen one too - all three of us have all gone back separately to venues we visited!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    12
    3
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
“Hell's Kitchen Food Tour”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have been on a number of food tours, but the Hell's Kitchen food tour
was far and away the best. Pamela has extensive knowledge of the area
and shared both facts and folklore with our group. In addition, the food
was excellent and plentiful. We had passed a number of these
establishments on our way to the tour, but paid no attention to them.
After seeing the charm of these eateries and actually meeting the owners
of the establishments, we will be going back again. It is a wonderful
area to explore. And don't forget to try Grumpy Coffee - delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous time on Garment District Diva Trek!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was a great tour of showrooms in the Garment District with our fabulous guide, Lou! We were a group of five related ladies, ages 21 to 70, and we each had a wonderful time! We recommend this tour for a fun, unique, and discount shopping experience in NYC!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
1 review
“East Village Food tour”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

All four of us had a great time....And, Angela is a great fifth!

As Angela gave us a brief History, and current life in the East Village the various eateries we visited corresponded to the casual lecture we shared.
I am such a foodie and enjoyed every establishment we visited along the way with their ethnic flavors.
You'll see us again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“dessert tour in East Village - wow!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed all 5 stops on the dessert tour. As much as I love dessert
I was so full at the end of the tour that I didn't eat anything the rest
of the day! Angela was a lovely tour guide. I loved the area that we were in. After eating we walked around the neighborhood some more - just to check out some cute "boutiquey" like shops...it was so much fun!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kendrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elegant Tightwad also viewed

 

Been to Elegant Tightwad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing