We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! A highlight of our trip”

New York Water Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial
More Info
and up
Statue of Liberty Express Cruise
More Info
and up
New York Harbor Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily, year-round, narrated Statue of Liberty Harbor Tours, Sunset and Seasonal Cruises on unique, double-decker catamarans. Custom group and private charters also available.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent! A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a thoroughly enjoyable day on the New York Water Taxi. JP was our tour guide and he was informative and fun. Nicole, if you are reading this - It is very obvious he loves you. You are mentioned a lot! Not that it bothered us in the slightest. We did a bus tour earlier in week and the boat is much more enjoyable than sitting in traffic in the blazing sun. You get the best views of the new york skyline and the statue of liberty. Admittedly we didn't get off the boat to explore any other areas seeing as we had done the bus tour but all in all, well worth doing. Especially if you get JP as the guide.

Visited August 2014
Thank ktmcmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newell, NC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth your time.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked this tour MONTHS in advance, yet when we got to the gate, we were told the tour was overbooked. No apology was issued, no "we'll make it right", nothing along the lines of any consolation were issued by the employees at the ticket gate. In fact, they attempted to say it was our fault for not having checked -yet again- to make sure our reservations were in order. In fact, their staff had absolutely nothing to identify us, no record of us -or anyone else for that matter- having booked this tour, and then they tried to spin it off as Groupons fault.

My overall impression of the land based side of this business is one of an EXTREMELY unprofessional and disorganized crew. None of them had any idea what was going on, they did not want to be there (several of them voicing this rather openly), and they simply did not care what happened to those of us who were left on shore. They sent the 7:30 boat out with empty seats, and then essentially told those of us left without seats that we would have to pursue a refund on our own time, that their hands were tied.

If they had made an effort to apologize, or be even the least bit helpful, I could see my way towards giving them a 2 or a 3, but they do a grave disservice to NYC as it stands.

Visited July 2014
5 Thank Keystonbe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nywatertaxi, Guest Relations Manager at New York Water Taxi, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Keystonbe28,

We apologize for the experience you had with our Statue by Night tour and staff. We take pride in our customer service and appreciate your feedback.

When you purchase a Groupon, a reservation with us is still required and because our products do sell out quickly we can't guarantee there will be space for walk-up bookings.

Customer service is one of our highest priorities and we want all of our customers to leave having had a great experience so please respond to the private message so we can look into this issue further.

Thank you,

New York Water Taxi Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voula, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing Empire State Building,Intrepid,water taxi, memorial 9/11 tour”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

the tour, which started at 7.30 with the Empire State Building was a great way in exploring the city in a day tour with lots of different impressions! Debbie was a fantastic tour guide, who gave us also a personal touch, being a New Yorker herself! Being a family of six, with three teenagers, it was pretty challenging, but the program had something for everyone! Also the water taxi tour which brought us us from the intrepid to the memorial was very interesting! All in all a great day, and a must for first timers in NYC!

Visited July 2014
Thank NicoleS755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Statute By Night”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I did this tour 4 years ago, and we liked it so much that we brought our children (5 and 6) back last weekend. We purchased tickets using a Groupon voucher so the price was extremely reasonable. The tour is a great one hour look at the city by water. We had a beautiful sunset and, even though it is summer, saw the lights come on. Although the boat was sold out, it did not feel crowded. If you care about sitting up top, get in line early. Those seats fill up quickly, and I consider them to be the best view. The guide was entertaining, and even the children listened closely to him. The only blip is the process to get the free cups of champagne and apple cider. There as only one lady working behind the bar. She was working as hard as she could, but the line was still quite long.

Visited August 2014
Thank luckydog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“More than just a Taxi!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was included in our New York pass, so we decided to use it as a way to get from midtown to Battery Park. We had just thought it was a water taxi service so were pleasantly surprised when we boarded and there was a guide talking. Our guide was Joey, who was informative with added humour - very entertaining. We got off at Battery Park and then picked up back up later in the day back up to midtown, so needed up doing the full circuit.

On the way back from Battery Park to Midtown, we went past Statue of Liberty, and got really close for some great photos and the water taxi stayed there was quite some time and kept moving round so that all areas of the water taxi got good views. Commentary from Joey was really good and entertaining.

Would highly recommend using the water taxi, didn't have any issues getting on the boat we went for (unlike some previous reviews) and we travelled in the height of the summer.

Visited August 2014
Thank KatS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Water Taxi also viewed


Been to New York Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing