We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, conveniently located, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #104 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Affordable, conveniently located, clean”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I spent four days in New York and stayed at the Jewel. The hotel is conveniently located in front of the Rockefeller Center, which means a two-minute walk to get to the entrance of Top of the Rock. Radio City Music Hall is just down the street and the NBC studios are on the next street over. It's also just 15 minutes away from Time Square. Our room was small, but very comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and nice. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but there a couple of delis next door for breakfast and they have a deal with a restaurant located in the hotel next door. Although located in a busy area, the hotel is very quiet. You can't hear the traffic from inside, which ensures a good night's sleep. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    581
    133
    32
    36
See reviews for
387
776
131
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I just came back from a three week stay at the Jewel. It has been wonderful. Excellent location, great room with all one needs to feel comfortable in Manhattan. Very good service, and the girls at the front desk are so sweet you want to take them home with you.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana Cristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Nice rooms with coffee/tea making facilities. Housekeeping cupboards had irons & supples of tea coffee and milk. Iced bottles of cold water available 24/7 - a real bonus in a very hot NY city. Takeaways nearby for 'quickie' breakfasts. Good location near Rockafella Centre & for Top of the Rock ( views fantastic! a must) Opposite square where huge Xmas tree is erected in Dec. Short walk to Time Square & most locations. Tube nearby takes you to most placess too. Reception staff very helpful. Had a central lounge area but not used as too usy seeing the sights! In summary a good spot to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Can't fault it! Great Hotel, Great location - close to all the best shops on 5th Avenue. Just across from the Rockefeller Centre. We had a "superior room" which was superb - although long and narrow it easliy accommodated 2 Adults and one boy of 15yrs. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen1955-1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

if you are looking for a place to stay in Manhattan which is close to everything. Well this is your place.

You are one block from 5 ave where all the shopping is located. About 5 blocks from time square and right across the road from rockafella centre.

We had a superior room which was a nice size for a couple. The bed are very comfy and the shower and toilet were nice and clean. you had access to free water and what i liked the most is there was free laundry serve which was fantastic.

The staff were all so friendly and would go out of your way to help you if you needed it. The only fault i had was the air-con in the room was very loud if you had it on of a night time, which we did because it was very hot. beside that, i cant fault this Hotel and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The central location speaks for itself. The price, for this location, was excellent. The room was not huge: it was long, but narrow. But the decent length and the tasteful furnishings removed any feeling of smallness. It was really a very pleasant space to live in for a few days, and that's with a toddler running around every which way. We needed a replacement coffee pot and the staff were friendly, helpful, and quick in getting it. This hotel joins my short list of places I prefer to stay at when in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkledc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Very small, but neat and clean. We just stayed overnight and had 1 small bag. I can't imagine where one would put anything if they were staying for a week. The bed was comfortable and our room was fairly quiet. The location was perfect. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#270 of 467 in New York City
1,390 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#79 of 467 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#105 of 467 in New York City
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,615 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing