We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of overbooking scam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #103 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be aware of overbooking scam”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First i will start with the good parts, the location(maybe the best location in nyc), hotel and amenities, free coffee and water are very well, but the management style of the hotel is very poor. We made our booking to the hotel at January 10 months before the stay, I informed the hotel twice prior to our arrival about our late check-in, booking com people have also contacted the hotel and called me saying that it is ok for late check out, at the 9th night we came to hotel at midnight after a long flight and we are told that hotel is overbooked and we will be transferred to another hotel belongs to same group and front dest said we will pay nothing to the hotel that we transferred and our first night will be free of charge we are not pleased with the inconvenience after a very long trip that we planed for a long time but we said ok, next day at the other hotel they charged us for the night despite our refusal to pay, they said we have to pay and handle the situation with Jewel and if not paid we will not be check out, we paid helpless and go to the Jewel, there was a different one in the front dest and said we have to pay full charge, we gone mad after this behavior and explained the situation again and again, we argued and finally she said they are ok for free of charge first night, be careful with this hotel about their overbooking scam, after this situation i read lots of reviews on tripadvisor on similar situations

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    585
    134
    32
    36
See reviews for
391
782
131
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here overnight to spend two days in NYC. Great Location. east access to Rocerkfeller Plaza & Radio City. I can't say it enought, GREAT LOCATION. We went to the Today show, if you're going to see the Christmas Spectacular at Radio City, the location is also great. The rooms are roomy, clean. They offer free filtered bottle water which is a great location. The 7th floor has a restaurant, The Terrace, with great views. Keureg coffee makers in your room. Our room had a queen size bed, pull out couch, table/desk combo with chair, sink, small fridge, micro & bathroom. For NYC, large rooms. We stayed on the 6th floor & heard no noise at night. I heard once guest complain about the room from the next door club. As a previous reviewer said this place is a jewel. Used mostly for business travelers. It is clean, easy access to NY and has a great pizza shop next door.

Room Tip: Request the 6th floor or higher. I believe rooms start on the 3rd floor & you may hear noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pell City, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights and could not have been happier. the room, while small, was efficiently laid out and comfortable. The room was clean and the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. The location is unbeatable- across from Rockefeller Center. This is one hotel that will see our repeat business! New York hotels can often be a hassle but this hotel was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atl30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KANEOHE, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Love the view from The Jewel NY! Staff is super friendly and hotel is really clean. Hotel is conveniently centralized around many shops, restaurants and site seeing locations. Plan to stay here again on my next visit!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed during marathon weekend. This hotel is an a fantastic location directly across from Rockafeller Center. We walked everywhere! The rooms are small, but that is to be expected for NYC. I appreciated the clean, updated hotel rooms and accommodating staff. Our room didn't have a view, but was very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spartychic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We enjoyed the convenience of this mid-town location. The staff was very accommodating, both in storing our luggage for us and giving us good directions and help to enjoy New York City. There is a nice lounge with coffee, wifi, etc. available. As with most NYC hotels, there's not a lot of room, but a fold-out chair/bed in our room did accommodate a third person.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilston
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The reviews for this hotel are spot on. The check-in is quick and easy. It’s a great location, good accommodation and very helpful staff on call in reception. A few minutes’ walk and you’re at Central park, Rockefeller just across the road. We initially had a room at the rear on the fourth floor but we were moved to the sixth as we could hear an external air-con fan. They sorted out this change without any issue, and we didn’t even need to do it bar pack our bags and leave them in the room. It was all moved for us. Clean and well kept, though the maid tends to come later in the day than we're used to in the UK.

Room Tip: Higher level street side is better, though you still get some street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhouse35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#272 of 467 in New York City
1,402 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#99 of 467 in New York City
757 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#102 of 467 in New York City
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing