We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Attentive Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #92 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I recently stayed here for one night after being booked at the Club Quarters Rockefeller Center next door. I was not aware that these two hotels were related and the manager Danny informed me that there was a room available here with a terrace and a view of Radio City Music Hall. Upon checking in, I received a call within five minutes from Danny asking me how I liked the room and also wondering if I had left my wallet at the front desk...which I did!! In addition to being very helpful and friendly he also saved my weekend...Overall the hotel is lovely and the 2nd floor lounge is great. I did not make it up to the rooftop restaurant but I hope to make it up there during my next visit. The rooms at the Club Quarters are always great and while they are not known for being spacious, they do offer every amenity you would possibly require. Overall I am very happy with this hotel chain.

Room Tip: Suite upgrades are usually available for anywhere between $25-40 depending on location. I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent three nights at The Jewel and had a wonderful time! The hotel is perfectly located for theaters and restaurants and a short taxi ride to many museums. I was afraid that the room we had reserved -- their small queen -- would be very closet-like, but it was new and beautifully appointed, fitting a comfortable bed, a desk, microwave and small fridge in addition to a compact bathroom with shower. We will definitely stay here for our next NYC visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is conveniently located at Rockefeller Center. The lobby is very small and no frills but there is an area on the 2nd floor with a sitting area, coffee machine, computers and TV. The complimentary bottled water is a nice touch.

The room is fit for its purpose and the bathroom has sufficient counter space. The water pressure of the shower can be improved.

Subject to availability, check-in prior to 11am is available at a fee of $35.

Travellers who like the location may also consider Hotel Shoreham which is a few blocks north. I have always stayed at the Shoreham but decided to try the Jewel. The two hotels are similar in price range and size. Hotel Shoreham is a few years older but to me, closer to sights which interest me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Ideal location at Rockefeller Center. A 15 to 20 minute walk to the theater district. Clean, smaller rooms. Exceptionally quick check-in and check-out. Great price. One of the lowest that I found in midtown. I was surprised that with 15 floors and only 2 elevators, I never had to wait more than 30 seconds for an elevator. The second floor "living room" with computers, coffee, etc. was a nice touch. I didn't get a chance to use the fitness facility, I guess walking around Manhattan is enough exercise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A very clean, modern, compact room (with efficient room design) in a fabulous location, great value for the money, private balcony, unlimited complimentary coffee and bottled water (probably saved $50 in coffee and water alone!). If you tend to be claustrophobic the room might be too small. As a couple here for business and fun, it worked well for us. Just know in advance that one of you will need to crawl/climb into bed due to a wall up against one side of the bed. A superbly quiet heating system too and great service. Loved the Jewel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

You can't beat the location of The Jewel directly across from Rockefeller Center and all the excitement of 5th Avenue & Radio City. The 2 bedroom suites are perfect for families (very clean) & although small, have everything you would need- in fact, more than most hotels. The 2nd floor has a "living room" with business center, fireplace, free coffee. The staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful. A great perk is that you have access to the rooftop bar/restaurant next door in the Members Club. Perfect for a late night snack & drink.

Room Tip: Our 2 bedroom suite was very quiet- 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Centrally located, nice clean rooms, excellent service and thoughtful towards the environment. I absolutely loved the hotel.
Easy access to all parts of town. Small but comfortable rooms, definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#284 of 469 in New York City
1,432 reviews
Midtown
3 West Club
3 West Club
#366 of 469 in New York City
144 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#98 of 469 in New York City
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,453 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#140 of 469 in New York City
538 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 469 in New York City
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £106 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing