We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appreciate Thoughtful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #118 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appreciate Thoughtful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Another great stay at the Jewel. The location is prime, the rooms are comfortable and the staff is accommodating. Special Kudos to Christina and Chris, who went out of their way to be kind and helpful during my trip. Truly a joy to see them at the beginning or end of long days. See you in 2014!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeGracious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    542
    126
    32
    35
See reviews for
360
717
126
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I were traveling with 2 adult daughters and their 3 children. We booked a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen plus an additional small queen room. We asked for early check-in (1 PM) and adjoining rooms. Upon arrival we were told the existing guest had been granted late check-out so the suite with the kitchen where we were hoping to feed the small children would not be available for 2-3 hours, but we were checked into a small one bedroom. The check-in staff in the small lobby were friendly and courteous, but card key encoder was broken so they couldn't make us key. The 8 of us with luggage had to wait in the hallway for security to let us in the room. The room was very nice, clean and modern almost new furniture and fixtures, but too small for 8 people to wait. We took the children to lunch at a nearby deli (the hotel has no restaurant but offers a 20% discount at one just a few doors away). It is indeed facing Rockefeller Center so we took the kids ice skating and returned with them tired and cold just before 4 PM. The suite near our single room was still not available but they graciously checked us into a suite on another floor and moved us to a nearby single room.

The 2 BR/2 bath suite was nicely equipped with a cooktop, fridge, microwave. The 2 beds had sliding smoked glass partitions for semi-privacy, but if someone turns on a light in the common area the glass permits it to disturb all. The table and chairs in the common area could not accommodate more than 2. The rooms we got were in the rear facing a nearby office building across and enclosed courtyard - no view of Rockefeller Center but probably a lot quieter mid-December.

The single room to which they moved us turned out to be handicap access. It was a little larger than the first, but the shower was equipped as basically a curtain around a drain the bathroom floor so a wheelchair could get in. There was no shelf or rack for soap or anything.

CONCLUSION: We'd stay here again, but probably save money by getting a 1 bedroom suite (which they were offering for a $40 upgrade on check-in) and 2 small rooms. It is unfair that they grant late checkout and charge the departing guest for it while not compensating the arriving guest for the lack of availability. There were issues as noted but the rooms, while small, were very nice and in a great location, and the price was probably right for midtown NYC.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicap access rooms if you want a real shower. If you need early check-in be sure they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed at the Jewel December 2013. Room was a good size (we booked superior with kitchenette), plenty for the three of us (two adults and a baby). Not really a kitchenette, more of a small fridge, microwave & coffee machine but enough for us. Check in and general facilities good, staff generally very helpful.

The location is great, perfect for all midtown activities and yet even at the busiest time of the year the hotel itself wasn't noisy at all. Only slight complaint is that the "room service" (dial out to restaurants but charge to your room) wasn't very effective with some of the restaurants not answering or refusing to do takeout because they were too busy in house. Not an issue really as so many food options within walking distance, we just wanted to order something when we arrived as it was late, we were tired from the journey and full of cold.

Overall very impressed and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolann_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Arrived on Friday night, 12/13/2013. Web site says views of Rockefeller Center. When we asked on duty clerk, was told you really can't see the center , but can see the light glow from an angle. Rooms are over priced and extremely small. Very hard queen size bed and not enough space to store clothes and personal items for two people. Complained, checked out after one horrible night and was charged for an extra fee because we did not tell them ahead of time. Also, was over charged compared to our booked rate. We stayed at Hampton Inn for 4 nights after and had a great experience, concierge service, free breakfast, and rates 1/2 less, all with huge rooms and king size beds.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I never knew that there were actually hotels in Rockefeller Center! The hotel may not technically be part of Rock Center, but the building next door was! We were 1/2 a block from the skating rink and the Christmas tree. The Radio City Music Hall was at the end of the block! How can you do better than that! The hotel was very beautifully maintained, the sleep comfort could not have been better. Breakfast was available at the the Club Quarters, about 100 ft away, in the Terrace Club on the 7th floor. From the Terrace Club outdoor deck, there was a view of the Rock Center Tree and skating. A must see.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing 51st Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Jewel has become my mom and my's go to hotel when traveling to NYC. It is in a great location. Very convenient for shopping and seeing the Christmas tree. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They always have a smile on their face and are always so willing to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDZ0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

What a wonderful hotel, I wish I had discovered this place before now! We visit NYC 3 or 4 times a year and we will definitely be returning to this hotel!

We had delays in air travel and had to run to the hotel or we would have missed a show. The front desk was super helpful! She checked us in in under 2 minutes and sent us on our way. The room was wonderful and much larger than most hotels in the city (still small compared to other cities but big for NYC).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gryffindorguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing