We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$472
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,154)
Filter reviews
2,156 results
Traveller rating
1,264
653
157
39
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,264
653
157
39
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrockefeller centerradio city music hallpurified waterterrace clubclub quartersgreat locationpatrick's cathedralnew yorkcentral parktimes squaresister hotelliving roomnbc studiosfree wificoffee machinetop of the rockfifth avenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 2,156 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We spent some time selecting our hotel, price and location were the most important aspects, the Jewel came tops. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, our room was more than adequate and comfortable and the location, just 5 minutes walk to times square, was perfect.
This hotel could not be faulted particularly for our short stay. We did not use the dining facilities but we did have a couple of night caps in the cocktail bar which had an interesting mix of clientele.

Room Tip: The 14th floor rooms overlooking 52nd street will give great views but it will mean changing elevators half way.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is located in the center of all main NY attractions. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The one weakness is the size of the hotel and its rooms - they are quite narrow. The beds, as well, are small.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgyDaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Location, Location, Location! This property is a mere short block from Rockelfeller Center, and a half block from 5th Ave. St. Patrick's Cathedral (undergoing heavy renovations, btw), the American Girl Place, and even Broadway attractions are a few blocks away. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a small fitness room and free coffee on the second floor. The lobby is tiny; you basically have to check yourself in, like at the airport kiosks. There is always at least one employee there to help. You can get a discounted breakfast at the Club Quarters a few doors down from the Jewel, which is also a Club Quarters property.
We had a "Junior Suite", which was, well, JUNIOR! There was barely enough room between the end of the bed and the wall, to pass through (and we are not husky, athletic folks). The sofa bed was more of a "chair bed". When that was opened, you had to walk sideways to pass between the wall (with the TV) and the bed. The room was very long though, with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, desk, and 2 chairs. There was free wifi too. The bathroom was OK...very few towels, but very clean. Overall, if you are looking for a quiet, clean, convenient place to stay (especially during the frigid winter temps), and can live without such amenities as bathrobes, bellmen, room service, on-site dining, then this is a great property. Also, you can fill free water bottles on each floor, I believe. Duane Reade (similar to Walgreens, CVS) is on the same block, and there are plenty of reasonably priced places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that a Junior Suite is long and narrow, and the sofa bed is really an armchair that opens to a cot.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsKalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a very nice stay here with mom and sister last year. We found a good deal/sale online and booked one night for our stay. The location is the best thing about the hotel with Rock center immediately across the street! It was SO convenient! The lobby is small but clean and nice and you basically check yourself in with an attendant to assist you if needed. Our room had a double or queen bed with a sleeper sofa and was plenty of space for a 1-nights stay for a 3 adult family. They also had a water bottle refill station down the hall that I thought was a great touch.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were there for two nights in January and found the hotel to be everything we needed for our stay. The location was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the price was very reasonable for NYC. The rooms were on the small side, but the efficient use of space meant that they had everything we needed and were very comfortable. I've stayed in much larger NYC hotels who's rooms were smaller than the Jewel's. When we were leaving, we used the hotel's computer to do our online check in for the airport and print our boarding passes. We had some trouble getting the printer to work so we used the phone in the lounge to call the front desk for help and within 2 minutes someone was there to help with it. There's a Mediterranean restaurant right next door to the hotel that was giving out coupons for a free pasta dish so we decided to try it and were pleasantly surprised at how flavorful the food was!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leesielocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews