We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #112 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality hotel in the middle of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend retreat into Manhattan and I could not have been more pleased. Clean, efficient and moderately sized, we were comfortable and well kept in this hidden jewel. The bottled water was a nice touch but exemplary staff made the experience one we wouldn't forget. Definitely would return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmg901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    548
    129
    32
    35
See reviews for
369
726
130
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent of course and the room I had was spacious, clean and well equipped with a kitchenette. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

There are two things I really liked about this hotel:

a) They have confronted the perennial problem of accessing drinking water in US hotels. Ordinarily you either pay $$ for a couple of mouthfuls from some miniature bottles or shuttle up and down to the water source in the gym to fill up or venture outside and smuggle the precious fluid back in - despite there almost always being a giant hulking ice machine growling away on each and every floor. At the Jewel they have a filtered drinking water fountain on each floor. Above each one is a supply of free empty plastic bottles. This speaks volumes to me about the hotel's attitude to its guests.

b) The second nice touch is a 'guest closet' on each floor (next to the drinking fountain) where guests can help themselves to room service items like soap, shampoo, coffee etc. It is a simple idea but once again tells you how the hotel feels about its guests.

It is not all rosy at the Jewel. The gym is small with no aircon and old, broken machines and empty anti-bacterial wipes/soap. It stayed in this state for the three weeks I was there despite drawing the hotel's attention to these issues.

There is no bar/restaurant at the Jewel but it is affiliated with the Club Quarters a few doors down where you can use their bar and restaurant and charge it to your room. Personally I enjoyed visiting the myriad of food outlets 30secs walk from the hotel.

There is a lounge on the 2nd floor which has some comfy chairs and a couple of PCs for Internet and a nice coffee machine.

Definitely one to return to.....

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have a kitchenette/
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is quaint and reminds me of a European hotel, but larger. Staff was very friendly and helpful. You can't beat the location. Just steps out the door to watch ice skating at Rockefeller. Subway right out the door and walking distance to theaters. Hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes. Awesome coffee maker too - even made lattes! We booked a superior deluxe and got room 210. Kitchenette was very nice. We will definitely stay here again for all the above reasons. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 210 was right by hotel "living room", we loved it. We didn't have a view of Rock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The jewel is the perfect place to stay in NYC. Loved how close it is to everything. The staff was very polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and a good size for NYC . On our next visit hopefully the weather will be nicer to experience the terrace.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barberett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
502 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you have business in this part of Manhattan (especially Rockefeller Center) or want to be close to the more upscale shopping options on Fifth Avenue, or go to an event at Radio City Music Hall, then this hotel is very well located. Its very easy to miss, as it has a very small ground floor presence. The lobby is quite small, and the rooms are also small, but well furnished and very clean. There is a great and very relaxing lounge, coffee bar and small business center on the second level. The staff is definitely friendly and helpful. The hotel (at least the rooms that face north) is relatively quiet. There are a plethora of dining options immediately next to the entrance and across the street in Rockefeller Center. The Jewel definitely exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Somewhat quieter if you don't face Rockefeller Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank og84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Jewel was just perfect. The rooms are well laid out, hotel was quiet and well appointed. Complementary fresh-ground coffee and cappuccino in the living room was great. Very modern, clean and they thought of every convenience. We had breakfast next door which was good with a nice view. The central location was a short walk from the theater, Times Square and many terrific restaurants. Catching a cab was easy and sitting watching the ice skaters at Rockefeller Center was awesome. Free wifi was fast and convenient. Another awesome feature was late check-out - only $38 to stay until 3:00 p.m., a great option when one of us woke up not feeling well and it was pouring rain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Came for a 2 day stay for my hubby's birthday and couldn't have asked for a better getaway. To begin the staff working at this hotel are amazing. Iris is phenomenal!!! She upgraded us to a room with a balcony without even asking. Asked if any special occasion was being celebrated, when I told her it was my husband's birthday she told me she would have a chocolate cake delivered to our room on them. They had it up there in 15min...it was delicious!
Free water in every floor with plastic bottles. Free wifi. Free maps of NY and breath taking views. Will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colombia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,140 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing