We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We quite enjoyed our stay at the jewel. It is very conveniently located across from 30 Rock where we went to see Jimmy Fallon. A few minute walk to central park and near the subway as well. The rooms are very modern and well thought out and we had a pull out lazy boy which worked well. While the lobby is very spartan the staff was very friendly and helpful, we would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrekdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    541
    126
    32
    35
See reviews for
360
716
126
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I would highly recommend The Jewel hotel. The location is perfect for midtown Manhattan....located on W. 51st Street, midway between Fifth Ave. and Avenue of the Americas. The hotel sits directly across the street from Rockefeller Center. Broadway shows, shopping and restaurants are all an easy walk. Central Park starts at 59th Street and that too is an easy walk.
We had the "kitchenette" room which would be perfect for two people but with three adults was very tight. It had a mini-kitchen with silverware, small stovetop, pots/pans, glassware, toaster, microwave and refrigerator. There was a huge built-in desk (which used up precious space) and two flat screen televisions.
Each floor has a water "filling station" at which they provide clean bottles that you can fill with purified water. A real plus!
On the 2nd floor they have a Business Center where you can use their computer or printer (no charge), have coffee and read newspapers every morning.
Their "sister" hotel, called Club Quarters, is just a few doors down and features a restaurant (discount given) and bar. The breakfasts were very well priced and delicious. It also features a beautiful outdoor terrace for dining which overlooks 51st Street facing Rockefeller Center.
There is no "doorman" or Concierge, but neither was needed. The staff at the front desk was always very helpful and friendly.
We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaFruithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is new and the rooms are well thought-out, very Euro-style. There's plenty of room for two people and their gear in the queen bed room. The hotel is small and I could walk up the stairs to my room. On the second floor is free coffee, very good beans that are ground for each cup, and a nice lounge area. The location is perfect, at Rockefeller Plaza, many subway lines all around. Central Park is a 6 minute jog (10 minute walk). Price was very good, around $260 +/- a night. My room was in the rear and was exceptionally quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawkner, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is my unforgettable trip, the hotel is very marvellous, the staffs are so friendly and helful. Spa is so good. The view around the hotel is nice. The food is good and delicious.
I'll stay this hotel in my next trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just steps from Rockefeller Center and the Today Show plaza, I couldn't have asked for a better location. This was my first trip to NYC. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and asked if we were there to celebrate anything. Traveling with my just turned 13 year old and 15 year old daughters, I told her we were there to celebrate a birthday and hopefully see Matt Lauer at the Today Show the following morning. I asked if they had any availability for a larger room and she offered us an upgrade on her! We could see part of St. Patrick's Cathedral spires and could look down into Rockefeller Plaza (Room 909). She gave us a map of the city, easy walking directions and pointed us in the direction of Central Park. We packed a ton of things into the one night we were there and The Jewel's location was the key factor. The hotel is clean, very secure (need a key card to access any of the floors) and the furnishings are tastefully modern and compact,,,they make the most out of their space! I'd have taken the pillows if I could - they were luxurious! I was pleasantly surprised that I could not hear our neighbors...I am a light sleeper and usually am annoyed by people above or next to us but what woke me up was the occasional jack-hammering in the wee hours of the morning. (I guess it really is the city that never sleeps!)

I loved the 2nd-floor coffee station where you could make a fresh cup of cappuccino should the plain old coffee from your in-room maker leave you wanting more. They also have ice-cold water refill stations on every floor. There are numerous deli's and markets offering an eclectic array of hot/cold food options as well as plenty of high-end restaurants just feet from the hotel.
If you forgot to pack something, just head to the pharmacy at the other end of the plaza! All in all it was a wonderful stay with a very welcoming staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel staff is very helpfully, accommodating, service minded and pleasant. The hotel is situated between 5th and 6th avenue, near MoMA and just a short walk from Central Park. Very central and easy to access. Over all a most pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with king sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara on the Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to NYC and found it to be a good choice. The location is excellent (specially if you need to be close to Rockefeller Center). Times Square is just a few blocks away and quite frankly that few blocks is a welcomed buffer if you are looking for a relatively quiet place to retreat. That being said, there was some construction going on in the hotel so one of my mornings began with hammering and the sound of progress. An unfortunate but necessary evil if you want to stay in a well kept hotel. I do wish someone would have told me about it sooner though.
No grand lobby here, just a counter and a friendly employee to greet you. Check in lacked privacy due to the small area but it wasn't the end of the world. The room was on the small side, but that was to be expected, and the bathroom had been recently renewed and was very clean (hat's off and thanks to the housekeeping dept). Each floor also has a guest closet that you can access for extra pillows, blankets etc. I called down twice to request an item (forgetting about the closet) and they said they would drop it off. The item never came and by the time I remembered/clued in to the guest closet it was too late. Another nice feature is the bottled water stations all over the hotel. This is especially good if you are like me and a little unnerved about getting water from the bathroom sink or just want some water to go. I didn't get a chance to check out the other amenities but will the next time. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who's interests take them to midtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelHopper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing