We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good location, big rooms by NYC standards, good for business travelers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #114 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good value, good location, big rooms by NYC standards, good for business travelers.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Don't stay here if you want a pool, a complimentary breatfast, or an opulent "status" lobby. DO stay here if you want a clean comfortable room steps from Radio City, with nice facilities for business travelers. Lots of well maintained self service amenities-- water bottle dispensers, cappuccino machine in the lounge, lots of device chargers. Owned by Club Quarters, of which I am a fan. And I wish I had noticed that I could get discount Top of the Rock tix from the concierge before I paid full price! Also, if you need to get to JFK airport, consider their car service instead of a cab.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    562
    131
    32
    36
See reviews for
376
739
130
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hod Hasharon, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is very centrally located, the staff amazing - especially the lovely Iris and Rena.
Modern hotel - small rooms but are designed right. Staff are always ready to help and assist each.
Is recommended highly!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asaf1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel because of its location, as we were attending a concert at radio city music hall, a few steps away. This location can't be beat, right across from Rockefeller plaza and down street from the music hall. It is a small boutique hotel, but we were surprised there was a mini fridge and microwave, as well as room service. We used the room service for quick dinner and breakfast, and the food came quickly and was good! It wasn't a fancy hotel but had all the basics we needed for our one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMwyckoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the jewel again this weekend. We love it there. The rooms are not big but really everything you need. The staff is so friendly & remember us each time (unfortunately I can't remember the two women's names who checked us in and then check us out but they are awesome) So convenient. It is a Jewel for us!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel at c1am on a flight from the UK, tired and looking forward to checking in. Upon arrival we were told that they had overbooked and we were being sent to another hotel, the Princeton Club, a few streets down. Fortunately the Jewel paid for taxis and gave us a slight refund. We paid for our hotel stay at the end of the trip to the Jewel, including the first night which they had said they would cover directly with the hotel, and returned back to the UK. Upon returning and checking our bank statements we realised that the Princeton Club had charged $500 to the card we gave to cover in incidentals. It took 2 weeks to resolve through several emails to both hotels.

Aside from that, the hotel was in a good location, the rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sokas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

As we all know weather can cause major glitches in travel. All east coast airports closed due to weather on our day of arrival and eventually all flights to New York City from Detroit were cancelled. The Jewel refused to let us out of our room reservation and charged us $283 when they knew there was nothing we could do about getting here. I have stayed at other top quality hotels and they have always been courteous enough to not charge me when weather prevented me from getting to the hotel. We finally got out early morning on the second day and they didn't even wants to give us our room early until we insisted on it given that we got stuck paying for the room the night before. It has been a couple years since I have been here and the quality of the hotel has definitely gone downhill. We had a very stuffy room overlooking an alley with a broken TV. The hotel location maybe great but given all the other problems, I would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I have never had a good room here in the three or four stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's wonderful to walk out the door and catch who's performing on the Plaza. I saw the winners of The Voice and American Idol as well as Tim McGraw. Radio City Music Hall is down the street. Great Restaurants within walking distance. The little Italian place next door is wonderful.

Room Tip: Book a visit on the Today Show in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkeetyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing