We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #91 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was my husband and I first visit to New York. We chose this hotel because of its location, and because of the nice reviews that we had read about it on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The location was great. The room was satisfactory, as we only booked a small room because we did not plan to spend much time there anyway. Everything was clean, the only problem that we had was that the air ventilation in our bathroom was not working. Enjoyable stay. Tonia H.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We got this hotel as part of a vacation package. It's in a great location.Great amenities. My room has a microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom is beautifully decorated and doesn't feel cramped. There's space because it's wisely used, e.g., a seat tucked under the bedside table can be pulled out as needed. Plenty of outlets for electronics. Coffee maker. Lots of lights.
My husband and I and my daughter are comfortable in the queen bed plus sofa bed room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

While few people probably enjoy spending $250+ per night on a hotel room, it's pretty much a must if you don't want to deal w taxiing everywhere, etc.
I'll save you the lengthy read and just say that my 20+ hours of online research in advance of our trip to NYC (yes, I have nothing to do at night between 10p-midnight) concluded w this hotel being the one and we were quite content.

Highlights & quick overview:

Staff: they really seemed to CARE about guests. Great tips on best way to navigate tourist attractions to make best use of time. Really pleasant surprise that made you feel at home.

Rooms: they're small. It's Manhattan. It was expected after reading pretty much every hotel chain review. Had enough room for 2 adults and a child, but don't expect a 400 sq ft room like you might get in...Idaho (?)

Location: BEST part. Walk out the door and take 5 sidesteps to the right and you're facing Rockefeller centre for a great picture.
Times Square is a 6-7 min walk away (so hotel was far enough fr the noise to have a good sleep) and walked to a broadway show in under ten
min.
Shopping on 5th ave (Tiffany and Co, Nike town, guess, etc was a block away.

would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BthatPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a quaint hotel situated within walking distance of all tourist attractions in NYC. The front desk staff were always pleasant and quick to offer insider tips on restaurants, give directions and guide us through subway train number routes and locations.

We started off on the 15th floor and from our room we noticed some balconies on the 11th floor. We made the request to move and the next day they moved all our luggage to the new room. The balcony was a great bonus as it added extra living space and evening drinks overlooking Rockefeller Center between 5th and 6th Avenues, without paying Manhattan bar prices!!

The hotel is clean, convenient and our room had a fridge and microwave.

The second floor is an open "living room" with a TV, computers, comfortable chairs and a free cappuccino maker.

Free Wi-Fi throughout.

We will stay here on our next trip for sure....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keith-Wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived at this hotel for the second time, as our first experience was good. Regretfully, we were so disapointed. Namely, we made the reservation several months ahead and were sure we would get a room with a decent view. Instead we have got a room with only a queen bed althouh we informed them that we are travelling in three, two adults and a kid 11 years old. Admittedly, they immeadiatedly got a spare bed and the problem was solved to our satisfaction. The view of the room though, is terrible. We are facing an internal space between the buildings, with noisy ventilators, so we have to have the lights turned on in the middle of the sunny day. For a hotel in the middle of Manhattan I find this unacceptable, especially so, because we made the reservation so early. The location of the hotel is otherwise very convenient, room is clean and the staff service is good and responsive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nojanaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visited New York twice in July. Stayed at the Waldorf on a girls' trip and then here at the Jewel with my husband. This surpassed the Waldorf in many ways. I liked the size of this hotel and the location was exceptional. I was able to watch the start of a song on The Today Show on TV and walk down to the stage by the end of the song. We took advantage of the courtyard bar in Rockerfeller Plaza almost every afternoon. Even with all this action outside the front door, the room was quiet at night. It was so easy to access the subway and get to World Trade Center (Century 21), Little Italy, The Metropolitan Museum in Central Park. We were able to walk very easily to Central Park, Columbus Circle, Time's Square, Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue Shops, Broadway and Irish Pubs all around Broadway. We were also lucky enough to be in the city for New York Summer Streets, where Park Avenue was closed to all traffic and we could walk all the way from close to the hotel to Union Square, and then we continued to down to Soho. (This even happens again on August 15-16). The room is small but big enough for two people and our luggage. The air conditioning is efficient and the bed is somewhat comfortable. Loved the guest closet next to the filtered water on each floor. If you needed anything, it was there. Wifi which was included in the price of the room was always working. Staff at the hotel was wonderful from the front desk, the bellman, the cleaning staff. The entire hotel was very clean (much cleaner than the Waldorf). We did go to the Terrace Club on our first night and would not recommend it. There is much better food and service close by. Will come back to this hotel for sure on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MKLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location of this hotel is just perfect – literally right across the street from the Rockefeller Centre and St Patricks Cathedral just a few steps away. We stayed for 5 nights at the end of June requesting a corner room with a view. What a view it was, with stunning views of St Patricks Cathedral and the Rockefeller Plaza. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and spacious with everything you could need.

Even though the hotel doesn’t have a huge reception area, the front desk staff were always on hand if you needed anything and were extremely polite and very helpful.

Guests of The Jewel are allowed access to The Terrace Club next door which I would strongly recommend using. We ate breakfast here every morning on the open-air terrace with fantastic views. It was reasonably priced and there was a great choice with something for everyone - light bites or a hearty meal, plus it was such a lovely start to the day.

We had a great time in New York and this hotel played a big part in making our vacation so special. I would recommend The Jewel to family and friends and we will definitely be making a return trip.

Room Tip: Corner room was spacious with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JoStewart64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#285 of 470 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Midtown
3 West Club
3 West Club
#366 of 470 in New York City
145 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#95 of 470 in New York City
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 470 in New York City
5,515 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 470 in New York City
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £119 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing