We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy mac and cheese”
Review of Macbar

Macbar
Ranked #4,066 of 13,740 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
Neighbourhood: Nolita
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Nolita
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy mac and cheese”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Yes, this place is SMALL in size but LARGE in deliciousness! We made a point to come here for lunch one day and we were not disappointed. The portions are large, the packaging is adorable, and the food was wonderful. We were lucky enough to snag a (VERY) tiny table but I would recommend planning on getting lunch/dinner to go. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Food for the kid in you”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Macbar is a unique and funky hole in the wall off Prince Street where you can find twelve imaginative and mouth watering varieties of Macaroni and Cheese. The seating is limited so a to-go option may be necessary, but they've got you covered. You will be handed a to go box that looks just like a giant macaroni, so sense of humor? Check.
My favorite dish has been the Mac Quack, which is macaroni and cheese with bits of duck confit mixed in to fontina cheese, caramelized onions and herbs. The prices are extremely reasonable, offering this dish for $8 for a small serving (the servings are not particularly small, you will have left overs).
Another favorite is the Mac 'shroom dish. Roasted mushrooms, fontina, mascarpone, truffel essence. And there are many more varieties ranging from the classic, american cheese and noodles to the mac lobsta' dish.
I really recommend this for a day on prince street, shopping exploring the city. It is hearty and warm and will tickle your taste buds to no end.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Forget that "blue box"”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great mac n cheese here! While there is a classic 4-cheese option, this is the place to go when you want a more exciting variety. My best friend enjoyed the Cheeseburger Mac, while I inhaled the Mac Quack - chunks of duck, caramelized onions, and lots of fontina cheese on top. Mmm so good! The both of us got smalls and it was more than enough since it is so rich. In fact, because of this, we ate ours in two sittings.

My only gripe is that the place is SO small - there's only 3 small tables here. Luckily, there's a few city benches along the sidewalk that can be used as makeshift mac n cheese dining spots when the weather is decent. Luckily, the delicious food more than makes up for this fact, so don't miss Macbar for a quick bite to eat! [In fact, you can't miss it since it is BRIGHT yellow haha.]

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebelyell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Mac and Cheese lovers will adore this place. The menu is fun and the eats are great. I recommend the Four Cheese, Mayan Chipotle, Quack Mack and Mack Stroganoff. During busy hours finding seats is tricky, but its worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grand Daddy of Mac & Cheese”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Tried the Mayan Chipotle & Carbonara from this place recently and have to say this is the Grand Daddy of Mac & Cheese.

This stuff is very rich so even a big eater will be fine with a medium.

The Mayan had a little bit of a bite but was a great way to jazz up Mac & Cheese. The carbonara had a nice traditional charcoal flavor.

The store it self is very small inside, just 3 low tables sitting 2 people each, so we just got them to go and ate at hotel.

Definitely worth another visit when in NYC

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macbar also viewed

 

Been to Macbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing