We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easyliving Harlem lives up to all it's plaudits!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Easyliving-harlem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Easyliving-harlem
Ranked #2 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easyliving Harlem lives up to all it's plaudits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

From our first email correspondence with Heidi and Tom right up to our goodbye's this morning, this B&b lives up to everything I read from other Trip Advisor reviews, and more. You're made to feel so welcome, and they're so helpful, you can't help but fall in love with the place and the neighbourhood. Don't let misplaced preconceived thoughts of others put you off Harlem. Our seven night stay (May 5th - 12th) was the best city experience I've ever had; safe, interesting, exciting, and never dull, underpinned by its history, restaurants, bars, music and most important the real community that exists in this vibrant neighbourhood. Even visiting the church services on our last Sunday morning turned into an unforgetable experience, and that's from and athiest!

Heidi and Tom couldn't do enough for you, be it advice, ideas on what to see and do, and most of all being genuine hosts who care about their guests. I can't recommend them enough other than to say believe the reviews; they're genuine and based on sound evidence.

We had the en-suite room, and the pictures on this site, however good, don't decieve; it's even bigger than they suggest. The bed must be a triple king size or made for basketball players; I've never slept in one as big! Sharing the kitchen becomes a meeting place to chat with other guests and Heidi and Tom, and the garden area out back is perfect for resting and reading at the end of a busy sight seeing day. (don't let the door lock behind you though if you go out like I did, it could be embarassing waiting to get back in).

Location wise the reviews say it again. Easy access to 2/3 bus services, subways less than 5 minutes walk away. Restaurants, shops, music venues, parks, all situated close the house. The neighbourhood is safe, but more important it is welcoming and vibrant. Try the "Appolo" theatre on 125th St on a Wednesday night; that experience alone sums up this district. A mixture of tourists and local people go religiously to enjoy the "amature night" and it's an event you won't forget. It's cheaper than Broadway and more fun if you like genuine entertainment and that's just the audience.

Make sure you buy a Metro Card (30$ for a week). It's the best deal in New York and helps get you downtown to the usual tourist sites in less than 15 minutes. Coming back to Harlem on an evening was like "coming home" after the rush of the City. Don't be put off by its out of town address. Just travelling in and out of town is an experinece alone.

The best of the area is the people and the genuine 'vibe' you get that just grows and grows on you, which is a reflection of the welcome Heidi and Tom gave to us. It has so much variety at a different pace and as such provides an excellent contrast to the usual New York sights we wanted to see.

This was our treat to ourselves for our 30th wedding anniversary, and it was worth every penny. It was more than value for money; it was an unforgetable experience full of memories we'll never forget. Thanks Heidi and Tom; thanks Harlem, you were the icing on the cake that was New York.

Dave and Lorraine, South Yorkshire

Room Tip: I followed the advice of other reviewers and paid extra for the en-suite which suited us. If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DaveLorraineBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
119
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have stayed in this amazing B&B twice and its truly one of the nicest and most personal experience I’ve ever had. I will always come back here when in NY.
I was greeted both times by Heidi, Tom and Jodi , who are fantastic people ,welcoming interesting friendly and so helpful. They know everything about the city and can recommend things & guide you anywhere.
This cozy brownstone is located on a very charming and quiet street in a great neighborhood in Harlem, everyone is so friendly. Its close to both subway stations and the 5th avenue bus.
When going to the Metropolitan or Guggenheim museums the bus is perfect and also going to Central Park.
The colonial style room was beautiful and very large with fine wood work and details, and the big bed was very comfortable. The private bathroom was new & modern . The whole B&B is so tasteful, fresh and clean. Downstairs is a big open kitchen where I had breakfast, and talking with other guests that were up early. Its also great that you can bring some personal groceries and keep in the refrigerator. Just by the kitchen is a lovely outdoor space/ patio/ garden where you can sit by a large round table , enjoying your breakfast or just a drink when the weather is warm.There’s some great restaurants and jazz clubs nearby.
Coming back from a long busy day to this little gem was a joy. It felt like coming home. I just loved staying here.

Room Tip: I love the big rooms with a private bathroom, but I also stayed in a room that had a shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marial861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed in one of the top floor rooms in Heidi and Tom's amazing Harlem house just before Xmas in 2012. We have to say it was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in and was perfect for our 5 day trip to the city. Heidi and Tom made us feel very welcome and the house is beautiful with lots if the original features restored. The house is in a lovely neighbourhood and it is extremely convenient to get into central Manhattan on the subway at any time of day and night. Thank you for a lovely stay - we will be back. R & B x

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitebarnlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was or second time staying with Tom and Heidi. We love the friendly atmosphere and the "more than comfortable" accomdations. We had a large king size bedroom with a private bath that was perfrct, neat and immaculately clean. We drove from CT and found parking on the street safe and easy. Tom and Heidi suggusted that we take the subway from a block away to 59th street and Columbus Square for shopping and then a short walk to Times Square. It was so easy and quick! They then suggested to have a walk over to Bryant Park for the Skating on 6 th Ave. and 42nd Street. Along the way, we saw lots of fun free events going on. We went to Grand Central station and were amazed at it's beauty and fabulous food court. Not only are they the most gracious hosts but they are full of knowledge about all the areas of Manhattan. The only complaint we had was that Jodi was away for the weekend and we did not get to see her again. This is the BEST Place to stay in NY. 125th Street and the Apolo Theatre are a short walk and the shopping there is great as well. We hope to visit them at least once a month. We Brought our well behaved 12 year old daughter and she just adored her time in NYC.

Room Tip: Heidi and Tom offer private baths with certain rooms and a shared bath with other rooms.The shared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheshe116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellammare del Golfo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have been at Easyliving-harlem and I will always choose this town house for my future trip to NY. A very stylish house where you can enjoy your stay. The room is clean and beautiful. Heidi, Tom and Jodi are just wonderful.I love the way they welcome the guests. They are very nice people! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempele, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for 5 days in Dec 2012 with Heidi, Tom & Jodi. The owners Heidi and Tom were super friendly and helpful, and they gave good tips for the local restaurants and other interesting places in NYC too. The booking correspondence with Heidi was very easy and quick - excellent!

We stayed in Kind Size bedroom with a private bathroom. The room was really king sized - very spacious, clean and comfortable. We also used the modern, fully furnished kitchen downstairs and had a nice breakfast: English muffins, jam, coffee and fruits there. The whole house was very spacious, cosy and spotless!

The location in Harlem was good, just a couple of blocks away from the subway which took us to the central Manhattan in roughly 20 mins. There were some groceries and great restaurants nearby. We also felt totally safe there, it was actually very peaceful neighborhood.

We had a lovely stay in NYC with Heidi and Tom!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hosts, Heidi and Tom and their god daughter Jodi are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They will often make suggestions on where to go. Every morning Tom will teach us on how to get around to the different places we plan to go on that day which was very helpful for us as the subway system was a little complicated for us in the beginning.

We stayed in the room with the king size bed and attached bathroom. The room was very clean and spacious, much bigger than we expected!

The location was great too as it is near to 2 subway stations for different subway lines.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jiahui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#3 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easyliving-harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easyliving-harlem

Property: Easyliving-harlem
Address: West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a large,beautiful TOWNHOUSE and rent out 4 SPACIOUS ROOMS to travelers, who prefer this kind of accommodation to the anonymity of a hotel. Frequently guests meet with us or each other in the COMFORTABLE KITCHEN for cooking, friendly chats, tips and exchange of experiences. RATES 120 to 150 USD/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. VERY CLOSE to MAJOR SUBWAY/BUSES. DON'T VISIT, LIVE NY!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Easyliving-Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing