We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon, 7 nights”
Review of Harlem Grand

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harlem Grand
Ranked #10 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at Harlem Grand and it was a great experience. It's a cozy B&B, big room and the owner Kellyn knows how to welcome people. She gave us a small tour around the neighborhood which was very helpful. Very central, 2 blocks fom the subway station with express trains to downtown. For breakfast we loved Uptown Kitchenet, the pancakes are fantastic!
The price is very nice for NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msdamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Harlem Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Harlem Grand B&B for six nights in September for our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere authentically New York and found this to be the perfect location for us. If you are looking for a real New York experience and are doing it on a budget this is perfect. The subway is literally a 5 minute walk from the front step. There is great dining all throughout the Harlem area (try Crazy Horse for some pizza). Time Square is a 15 minute ride from the B&B.

The house itself is obviously an older Brownstone and decorated to match the era. This is what we were looking for - it's not 5 star hotel quality - but it is clean, fun, and quaint. It made for a phenomenal experience. The owner, Kellyn, makes the experience most memorable. She loves her community and is proud to show off the neighbourhood and share the history of Harlem on a welcome tour.

If you're looking for a fun adventure in Harlem and New York this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 9 nights in Harlem Grand in September. Kellyn, the owner, is sweet and very helpful. She was always ready to give us suggestions about what to do and how to get there.The day of our arrival, we made a tour around neighborhood with her, with her car, and she give us a lot of useful information.
The room was spacious and well furnished, clean and the bed was cozy!
The location is excellent: about 2blocks from the metro 125th street station ( only 15 minutes from time square) and just in the corner you can get a bus that takes you to the central park or museums mile or the fifth avenue! The place is quiet and safe and Harlem is fantastic! So we racommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnDaGi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at ther Harlem Grand over four nights in August. We found the room very comfortable and well fitted out. We were able to enjoy our privacy and at the same time have Kellyn on hand for advise. Being a family run business there was always someone on site and you felt safe. The area itself was safe and walking area at night time wasn't a problem. There was plenty of Blues and Jazz clubs in walking distance. People in the area were very friendly. Subway was minutes walking distance. This place is truely a GEM. Will book for next year.

Ann and Graeme
Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

After two stays at the Harlem Grand - I will always return there while in NY.

The rooms are lovely decorated, have everything you need and give you the feeling to enter another world after a full day of NYC-tours. Once you are through the door it's quiet and peaceful and nobody will bother you unless you need something. Then you will always be able to contact the house owner either directly or via cell - with Kellyn you will nevevr get lost. ;)

And if you don't want to waste any time with relaxing but use every single minute of your stay to discover New York - don't worry. There are a lot of things going on all through the area around the Harlem Grand within walking distance. Or if you decide you need to go back to time Square you can catch the express line of the underground train and be there within 10 minutes(at night and day). The station is only 3 minutes walking distance from the house. And again if you should ever have some spare time the house owner always has ideas how to fill your time with some unique adventures.

I hope I will have the opportunity to go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ju F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I've stayed in inns and B&B's in various parts of the world including the U.S., Canada, England, Franc, Italy, and Peru. Although I once lived in NYC and have visited several times since then, I had never stayed in a B&B there. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Harlem Grand, especially since it was near Columbia University, where I had business. The room was charming and comfortable.The proprietor was kindness itself, advising me on airport transportation and taking me for walks and rides in her car to show the sights of this special area of the city. Her restaurant recommendations were excellent, giving a great sense of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed for 8 nights and you get what you pay for. It was inexpensive but did not have the feel of a bed and breakfast. We had requested a room with 2 beds and ended up with a room with one bed and an aerobed. No bath soap or shampoo provided. The towels were changed midway on our stay. Saw the owner 2 times during our stay. Any communications was through the phone. We just stayed in our room the whole time we were there. There was a gathering room downstairs but it was dark and uninviting. Close to the subway but it is in Harlem. I would not have felt safe it I was by myself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#240 of 468 in New York City
713 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#393 of 468 in New York City
1,519 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#72 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#131 of 468 in New York City
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlem Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlem Grand

Address: 343 W 122nd Street, New York City, NY 10027-5101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HARLEM GRAND B&Bs are located in Manhattan in the historic districts of Morningside Heights, Hamilton Terrace and the Upper West Side in beautifully appointed 100-year old brownstones nestled in the heart of New York City. Harlem Grand B&Bs are steps away from Columbia University and are centrally located to all major express trains. All Harlem Grand B&B locations are a mere 10-minute metro ride to Times Square. Airport taxi transfers to/from Harlem Grand take 20 minutes to/from Laguardia, 50 minutes to/from JFK and 90 minutes to/from Newark Our accommodations include gracious, beautifully appointed, originally detailed bedrooms with private, en-suite baths. Rooms include Queen sized beds, vanities, lounge chairs, floor to ceiling windows, desks, closets, dressers and the finest of bed linens. Harlem Grand adheres to Green Building Practices including recycling, water and energy conservation. At Harlem Grand our luxe Dandridge Room boasts a beautiful en suite bathroom and provides access to additional travel companions, should your party require two bedrooms on one floor. The elegant Poitier Room features an extra large bedroom, lovely en-suite bathroom and sleeps 4 comfortably. The divine Cicely Room is crowned with beautiful sunny garden views, a cheerful en-suite bathroom and access to a fully loaded private kitchenette. Our stunningly serene Elspeth Room is enwrapped in luxurious comforts everywhere with its dreamy skyline views, plush en-suite bathroom and access to a fully loaded private kitchenette. Guests look forward to retreating to the tranquil comforts of Harlem Grand as much as they look forward to taking their daily bite of New York City. At Harlem Grand, we go the distance to ensure you are well taken care of in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to New York City at your choice Harlem Grand B&B! For stays up to 29 days: HARLEM GRAND - a 5 bedroom brownstone. For stays of 30 Days or Greater: HARLEM SUITES - a 2 bedroom apartment Manhattan Manor - a full floor, 1 bedroom apartment Hamilton Terrace Inn - a full floor, 3 bedroom apartment Hamilton Douglas Loft - a 2 bedroom apartment HARLEM GRAND B&Bs "Your Home Inn Harlem" Copyright 2017 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing