We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Clean room & Friendly staff”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #355 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights celebrating our 10yr anniversary. Shantelle at the front desk gave us breakfast and drink vouchers once she found out it was a special occasion. We also came back to our room one day to find a complimentary fruit basket with a note from her wishing us congratulations - very nice touch. The room was comfortable and clean. Location is great - right on 8th ave just a block away from Times Square and many of the theatres are located right around the corner. Even within walking distance of Central Park. I would recommend walking down to "Restaurant Road/Row" - 47th I think and eating at "Bare Burger." That area is less crowded than Times Square and has tons of other restaurants.
This hotel was just recently remodeled and looked very nice. If you take a cab from the airport you might want to tell the cabbie that it used to be the Milford Plaza. He had no idea what Row NYC was but he knew of the Milford Plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

WOW, thank you for the 5 star review. We are elated that Shantelle made your 10 year anniversary memorable and special with her great service and special touches. We are also happy that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable and upgraded rooms. Our location is always a plus, we know you enjoyed being in the front "ROW" of the theater district and Times Square. We look forward to your next visit on a special occasion or anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,060 - 14,066 of 19,641 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked a double room at ROW NYC through bookings.com for just one night. Our experience was awful, the room was not clean and the staff was beyond rude.

We arrived at about 1115am checked in and were given directions to our room. We didn't spend much time in the room and left almost immediately after dropping our bags off. When we returned to get ready to go out that night we encountered a numbers of issues which were unacceptable.

Among the issues we discovered during our short stay:
1. Our shower never drained and backed up into the tub even after shutting off the water making it extremely difficult for two of us to shower.
2. The power outlets on the desk didn't work.
3. Our tv never worked---it wouldn't even power on.
4. When we returned last night to go to bed, we turned down the sheets to discover several large yellow stains on the sheets and on the comforter. We called the front desk (and almost reached nobody) and asked to have the sheets changed. The receptionist was rude and said she would send someone up with clean sheets. Twenty minutes later someone brought us new sheets but offered no apology and didn't offer to remake the bed for us. To add to the situation she was incredibly rude about the entire situation.

The room was fairly expensive and I think we are not wrong to expect clean bed linens and a working shower.

Long story short: it wasn't anywhere near up to par and for the rate we paid we expected much much more. Won't be staying here again and I would encourage you to think twice before you book with them.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor in a double room-- it had nice views of 8th ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Amanda R,

Thank you for your concerning review. We regret to hear that you found the condition of your guestroom to be subpar. We have notified the appropriate departments and are investigating these concerns to ensure they do not happen again. I am beyond dumbfounded at the conditions you reported regarding the linens in your room. We take this matter very seriously and regret that we wee unable to rectify this issue in a more timely manner. I assure you that that the issues you have reported are not our standard, and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in us as I know we can do better.

-Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have been staying at the Row Hotel (formerly named Milford Plaza) every two weeks for the past year. I am always greeted by friendly, attentive staff when I arrive. Junior at the front desk is always very accommodating and takes care of our team's various needs.

This hotel is located within a few minutes walk of Times Square and the atmosphere is busy and bustling, much like the feel of the city. The new lobby renovations feel almost like you are in a nightclub, which could give you a little extra energy after a long day of travel. The room accommodations are cozy and simple; a sweet and relaxing retreat from the city. Rooms are the typical size for New York City and depending on your floor, they have a spectacular view!

Located in the Theatre District, the location of Row Hotel is perfect for all things New York: shows, Hells Kitchen restaurants, Central Park, Times Square, and shopping.

Room Tip: High floors and street-side for a good view; inside room with no view for a quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Meredith E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your patronage and loyalty and are delighted to hear Junior and the rest of our staff welcome you warmly every time. We love to hear you enjoy our prime location and the upgrades our property has undergone. We look forward to your future stays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

June 4, someone opened our hotel room door with a key card but luckily the door latch was locked. Saying she is from the security but when i checked tru phone i was informed that they didn't send someone. I requested a change of room because our location is very secluded but the fourth time i followed up from the front desk for an available room, the story is now different.. its a cable maintenenance guy. Should i believe? She should have knock the door if it is legitimate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Tad B,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. My sincerest apologies that you felt, at any point during your stay, that your safety was in question. We did indeed have scheduled cable maintenance for the date you reference, our deepest apologies for not communicating this information to you sooner. We take this matter extremely seriously and the appropriate departments have been notified and are further investigating this issue. Safety is and always will be our number one objective and we hope to host your stay in New York City in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel in Feb this year when it was still the Milford Plaza just before re-branding and I absolutely loved it!! had read the reviews prior to by arrival but wasn't bothered by them, most reviews go on about small rooms, your in New York? as long as the room is safe and clean that's all that matters, who is going to be spending their trip in the room anyway. I contacted the hotel prior to my arrival as I had injured my ankle and was going to have mobility issues, the hotel kindly upgraded us to a larger room with a bath also without hesitation. we were on the 22nd floor, you could still faintly hear the street noise but that added to the fun of being in NYC, we had a great sleep every night and the room was cleaned well daily. The staff were very kind and helpful and the check-in and check-out process was very speedy and easy, flight home was not until 9 at night so the hotel kept our luggage for us. The hotel itself is in the perfect location could not have been more pleased with the overall experience and have now booked up to return in December!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear VictoriaGilmourx,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us back in February. It gives us great pleasure to hear you found your room to be clean and comfortable and also found our luggage storage facilities to be helpful. We look forward to welcoming you to Row NYC in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel renovated in January 2014.
- Located on the 8th avenue, right behind Times Square, you will enjoy NYC like no other. 300 feet for the theaters, right across the famous Shake Shack Hamburger, in front of the subway (WTC line).
- The staff is extremely friendly and helpful
- the rooms have a good size (for a NYC hotel), they are not that clean.... :-(
- ask to be located above the 10th floor at least, it will reduce the noise of the street.
- I would not give 4* but well 3*

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VINCENT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear vincent l,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location, and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We regret to hear your room was not in our norm of cleaning standards. I have notified the appropriate department to further investigate this matter. We hope to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our business team recently stayed for 2 nights at the Row NYC Hotel. It is apparent everyone has been educated in the "Art of the relationship". Each person we met made us feel like family. The main floor was buzzing all day with people from all over the world making breakfast to evening cocktails a blast! Try this Hotel...

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 19th floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear bp87,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are so glad to hear your and your business team enjoyed a welcoming experience during your stay with us. We appreciate each and every one of our guests and hope to host your future stays in NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,724 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 469 in New York City
4,673 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 469 in New York City
4,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 469 in New York City
4,878 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#328 of 469 in New York City
7,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £95 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing