We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service ever”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #349 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Booked a room with 2 doubles. When I arrived got a room with 1 double for 2 adults and a child. Was told there was nothing they could do as they were booked. Not even a reduction in the. 200+ night charge. Should have stuck with the Sheraton. Would never return or recommend. Doesn't even deserve a 1.

Room Tip: Stay away from this fly by night ripoff
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Judy M,

I am extremely concerned by your review and regret that you had such a disappointing experience. We regret to hear that due to unusually high occupancy during your stay we were unable to accommodate you more comfortably. We would be grateful to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

-Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18,917)
There are newer reviews for Row NYC Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,497 - 13,503 of 18,917 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the The Row NYC hotel the last weekend in May. The rooms were small as others have said, but clean and modern. Our towels had some hair on them when we arrived that were obviously not ours. My MIL reported it and with minutes someone appeared at our door and replaced all the towels. The elevator system is very nice. You type your floor into a keypad outside the elevators and it assigns you one of 6 elevators. The assigned elevator takes you straight up to your floor and you don't have to stop at every random floor saving a lot of time when you consider how many floors are in the hotel. The staff is clearly working on increasing their tripadvisor reviews as they include a business card with the tripadvisor website on it and encourage guest to review their stay here. This encouragement of public reviews I am sure has increased the customer service level. Our experience from Ceaser who checked us in, to the breakfast attendants, luggage attendants, concierges and elevator attendants was excellent. This property was also in an excellent location, with easy access to a subway station and walking distance to times square, broadway, central park, etc... We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maziedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear maziedaisy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your lovely comments recognizing our customer service team. We regret to hear of the condition of your towels upon checking in, this is not our service standard and definitely not the ones we wish to propagate. We are glad to hear your towels were replaced in a timely manner. We are pleased to hear you found our elevator system so efficient, it was a pleasure hosting your stay in NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Row was interesting. Check-in was easy. We had booked the AAA rate which was about $275 per night with tax. Location great but our first room had a damp, musty smelling odor. There were no extra amenities -- no bottled water and no coffee maker. The water pressure in the shower was amazing! Great shower. That was the best part of the stay! At 11:30 p.m. when we returned to our room to sleep, there was banging and clanging of construction crews right beneath our window. We were on the 7th floor (Room 715). Asked to be moved and the manager on duty accommodated. We were moved to the 18th floor on the other side of the hotel. Had a peaceful night's rest. I was grateful for the new room because it was torture listening to heavy construction crews ripping up the street below.

Room Tip: Higher floors are obviously better!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esrinilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear esrinilaw,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had an overall pleasant stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the road work being performed by the City of New York during your stay. However, we are glad to hear you were able to relocate to a quieter room on a higher floor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the shower in your room as well. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights celebrating our 10yr anniversary. Shantelle at the front desk gave us breakfast and drink vouchers once she found out it was a special occasion. We also came back to our room one day to find a complimentary fruit basket with a note from her wishing us congratulations - very nice touch. The room was comfortable and clean. Location is great - right on 8th ave just a block away from Times Square and many of the theatres are located right around the corner. Even within walking distance of Central Park. I would recommend walking down to "Restaurant Road/Row" - 47th I think and eating at "Bare Burger." That area is less crowded than Times Square and has tons of other restaurants.
This hotel was just recently remodeled and looked very nice. If you take a cab from the airport you might want to tell the cabbie that it used to be the Milford Plaza. He had no idea what Row NYC was but he knew of the Milford Plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

WOW, thank you for the 5 star review. We are elated that Shantelle made your 10 year anniversary memorable and special with her great service and special touches. We are also happy that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable and upgraded rooms. Our location is always a plus, we know you enjoyed being in the front "ROW" of the theater district and Times Square. We look forward to your next visit on a special occasion or anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked a double room at ROW NYC through bookings.com for just one night. Our experience was awful, the room was not clean and the staff was beyond rude.

We arrived at about 1115am checked in and were given directions to our room. We didn't spend much time in the room and left almost immediately after dropping our bags off. When we returned to get ready to go out that night we encountered a numbers of issues which were unacceptable.

Among the issues we discovered during our short stay:
1. Our shower never drained and backed up into the tub even after shutting off the water making it extremely difficult for two of us to shower.
2. The power outlets on the desk didn't work.
3. Our tv never worked---it wouldn't even power on.
4. When we returned last night to go to bed, we turned down the sheets to discover several large yellow stains on the sheets and on the comforter. We called the front desk (and almost reached nobody) and asked to have the sheets changed. The receptionist was rude and said she would send someone up with clean sheets. Twenty minutes later someone brought us new sheets but offered no apology and didn't offer to remake the bed for us. To add to the situation she was incredibly rude about the entire situation.

The room was fairly expensive and I think we are not wrong to expect clean bed linens and a working shower.

Long story short: it wasn't anywhere near up to par and for the rate we paid we expected much much more. Won't be staying here again and I would encourage you to think twice before you book with them.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor in a double room-- it had nice views of 8th ave
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Amanda R,

Thank you for your concerning review. We regret to hear that you found the condition of your guestroom to be subpar. We have notified the appropriate departments and are investigating these concerns to ensure they do not happen again. I am beyond dumbfounded at the conditions you reported regarding the linens in your room. We take this matter very seriously and regret that we wee unable to rectify this issue in a more timely manner. I assure you that that the issues you have reported are not our standard, and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in us as I know we can do better.

-Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have been staying at the Row Hotel (formerly named Milford Plaza) every two weeks for the past year. I am always greeted by friendly, attentive staff when I arrive. Junior at the front desk is always very accommodating and takes care of our team's various needs.

This hotel is located within a few minutes walk of Times Square and the atmosphere is busy and bustling, much like the feel of the city. The new lobby renovations feel almost like you are in a nightclub, which could give you a little extra energy after a long day of travel. The room accommodations are cozy and simple; a sweet and relaxing retreat from the city. Rooms are the typical size for New York City and depending on your floor, they have a spectacular view!

Located in the Theatre District, the location of Row Hotel is perfect for all things New York: shows, Hells Kitchen restaurants, Central Park, Times Square, and shopping.

Room Tip: High floors and street-side for a good view; inside room with no view for a quieter sleep
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Meredith E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your patronage and loyalty and are delighted to hear Junior and the rest of our staff welcome you warmly every time. We love to hear you enjoy our prime location and the upgrades our property has undergone. We look forward to your future stays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

June 4, someone opened our hotel room door with a key card but luckily the door latch was locked. Saying she is from the security but when i checked tru phone i was informed that they didn't send someone. I requested a change of room because our location is very secluded but the fourth time i followed up from the front desk for an available room, the story is now different.. its a cable maintenenance guy. Should i believe? She should have knock the door if it is legitimate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Tad B,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. My sincerest apologies that you felt, at any point during your stay, that your safety was in question. We did indeed have scheduled cable maintenance for the date you reference, our deepest apologies for not communicating this information to you sooner. We take this matter extremely seriously and the appropriate departments have been notified and are further investigating this issue. Safety is and always will be our number one objective and we hope to host your stay in New York City in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
4,373 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#391 of 468 in New York City
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 468 in New York City
4,922 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing