We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #355 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This newly renovated hotel in extremely convenient to NYC Theaters. Several of the theaters are just around the corner from the hotel and Times Square is within walking distance. The Subway access is less than a block from the front door.
The room was compact, minimal storage space for luggage, and the bathroom door was next to impossible to close.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear laurie h,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although we are delighted to hear you appreciated our central location, we regret to hear we did not meet you expectations regarding your guestroom. We do offer larger room sizes and layouts and would be happy to assist you in booking a more suitable accommodation for a future stay. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,716 - 14,722 of 20,475 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was a bit skeptical of staying at The ROW NYC after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor. I took my 7 year old grand daughter on her first trip to NYC so I really wanted to have a great hotel experience and... we did!

First of all, the hotel rooms are small - no doubt about it. We did not come to NYC to spend time in our room (other than to sleep) so this was a non-issue for us. We had two large rolling bags and they fit in the room perfectly with plenty of room to navigate inside the room. The beds were quite comfortable and the blackout blinds were awesome! We did not encounter any noise issues beyond what you would expect in NYC. Our room (1845) had a great view!

Location... FABULOUS!!!

Another issue I read about were the elevators. We encountered no problems at all. If anything, I think their elevator system worked really well!

Staff was excellent - very friendly and accommodating! I did not have an issue with checking in but several times as we were in/out of the hotel there were HUGE lines. Seems strange that there would constantly be such long lines for check in/check out and at the bell desk.

All in all, we had a great stay and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Sharon R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear you and your grand daughter had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. We are thrilled to know you appreciated our unrivaled location and efficient elevator system. We do offer larger room sizes and layouts, should you decide you require additional space for a future stay. We hope to have you and your family back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Couldn't fault the reception staff and conceierge service (especially Junior and Abigail)
You are right round the corner from Times Square and Broadway and subway and coach or trains.
Room was always clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Carla L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are overjoyed to hear you appreciated our prime location and found our staff, especially Abigail and Junior. We thank you for you kind comments recognizing our clean rooms. On behalf of Row NYC, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Arrived at Row NYC to spend 4 nights there..BIG mistake.... Eventually checked in after queuing, and trying to hear the receptionist over the most horrendous sounds being broadcast through a sound system, about a foot above your head (not musical..just.a clanging sound).. got to the room, only to find possibly the smallest room in NYC..it had 2 of the smallest single beds I have ever seen, with about a foot of space around them..so difficult to get our suitcases into the room in the first place, and definitely no where to put them for unpacking...and with a wardrobe about 2 foot wide, looked like we would have to share our bed with our cases... The air con unit was so big it took up about a quarter of the room, and sounded like a Boeing engine..so looked like we wouldn't get much sleep with it on, the decor in the room was horrendous, all dirty with chipped paint, and looked like it hadn't seen a Hoover in a very long time. The final straw was the view...a brick wall and the main air on system. Decided this was not happening..so went back to reception and requested another room. We were moved up 2 floors to a slightly bigger room with a view to the front of the hotel..thought things were looking up, until I seen the wardrobe was a hole in the wall with a curtain for a door, then looked at the bed to find a stained pillow case. The hotel entrance looked fine on arrival, but the decor in the other hallway areas was oppressive, everything painted black with very low ceilings..and grubby carpets. At this point we decided we couldn't stay here, so headed for the lift to go and find another hotel...at this point we knew we had made the right decision...even the cockroach in the lift had given up. The only thing this hotel has going for it is it's location, but that wasn't enough I make me stay here. Eventually after a couple of hours and 900 dollars later, got a great hotel and went on to enjoy an amazing trip to one of the best cities in the world.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear margaret C,

Thank you for sharing your very concerning experience, as it can only help us improve. Firstly, I would like to extend my deepest apologies for this embarrassing and shocking sequence of events that you experienced during your stay. This is not reflective of our standards and absolutely not the ones we wish to propagate. Our only wish is that you would have brought all your very concerning issues to our attention during your time with us so that we may have been able to salvage the remainder of your stay in New York City. We regret to hear that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. I would like to add that we have several size and view options when selecting a double room, and would be more than happy to assist you with a room that better fits your needs should you decide to stay with us again. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

my to Row started off bad my luggage was not sent by jfk for 2 days while i was staying at Row i go to the front desk and reported the issue to them and front desk girl acted like she did not care but said she would call security. security manager chris came up to me and asked if he could help i explained my situation and i felt from chris that he really cared he took time out to listen and took all my isaidnformation and said he would contact me if my luggage came ,about an hour later my luggage arrived i told him i would be right down security chris said he would bring my luggage to my room. he did not have to do it and he is specail and saved my stay at Row nyc i would be back cause of the security manager

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear lucas f,

Thank your for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to hear your visit to NYC started off a bit rocky, however we are delighted to hear Chris was able to assist you in locating your luggage and salvaged your stay. We strive to ensure each and every one of our guests has a pleasant and seamless experience when staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Please read all of this before you book, it will save you time and money!!
Don't be fooled by the pretty entrance and lobby.. that soon begins to feel like you are in a hostel. We were shown to a room that you couldn't swing a cat in, apparently it was a double room but looked absolutely NOTHING like the website. We had 2 tiny single beds with a foot in between them, the bathroom resembled a postage stamp and all of the decor was a complete mess. The view was horrific and that was the last straw. We asked to move room and we were given another which was marginally bigger but had dirty pillow cases and sheets, not to mention the awful aircon that was so noisy it made you feel like you were sitting next to a boeing 737. After this we decided to try and find another hotel and were greeted by a COCKROACH lying dead in the lift. So 3 hours and $900 later, we finally had a new hotel and managed to enjoy our stay in New York.
To anyone who has already booked, do yourself a favour and cancel and book somewhere else before you go!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jillian1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Jillian1302,

Thank you for sharing your very concerning experience, as it can only help us improve. Firstly, I would like to extend my deepest apologies for this embarrassing and shocking sequence of events that you experienced during your stay. This is not reflective of our standards and absolutely not the ones we wish to propagate. Our only wish is that you would have brought all your very concerning issues to our attention during your time with us so that we may have been able to salvage the remainder of your stay in New York City. We regret to hear that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. I would like to add that we have several size and view options when selecting a double room, and would be more than happy to assist you with a room that better fits your needs should you decide to stay with us again. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is extremely well located next to Broadway and Times Square. However, the rooms and bathroom are very small and so are the beds. Barely any space to move around the room and to store our luggage.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AN02B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear AN02B,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Although we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our unbeatable location, we regret to hear we did not meet your expectations regarding your room size. Please note that we do offer several room sizes and layouts and would be happy to assist you in booking a larger room category for a future stay. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#404 of 473 in New York City
5,050 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,054 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 473 in New York City
10,187 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#258 of 473 in New York City
4,257 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 473 in New York City
7,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing