We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The worst hotel in the US i have ever stayed in"”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #342 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“"The worst hotel in the US i have ever stayed in"”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

i booked this hotel as part of a package holiday and booked 2 superior rooms for my family, hoping they would be nice. how wrong was i we were given 2 rooms on floor 16 overlooking a brick wall with the biggest air conditioning unit outside you have ever seen, so not a great start to our holiday. the rooms are the smallest i have ever experienced in america, and i been to a lot of destinations, and have stayed at the park central hotel in new york before which was fine. i also asked for our 2 rooms to be together, and since i booked this hotel 6 months before i would of thought the hotel could have met our requirements. sadly no, and the front desk staff member was extremely rude to us when i asked about this. so we had to seperate in different areas. we had no sleep the first night because of the noise from the outside air convector, and the air conditioning unit in the room was out of the dark ages, i felt like i was laying next to a tractor all night. i felt like ringing down for the hotel manager to come up and see if he could sleep in these conditions. the next morning we asked to change rooms and have an outside window view to get some light in, but we had to vacate our rooms and store our luggage all day and come back to get new rooms later on, which at least had an 8th avenue view, and not a brick wall, the air conditioning unit was still loud but we had to suffer it as 4 adults in one tiny room was quite hot and stuffy as you can imagine. i booked superior rooms but was told by the rude front desk staff that in america superior means basic, so being from london, i thought superior meant great, but i was wrong about that and made to feel like a second class citizen, in a country that i love to holiday in. PLEASE do not stay in this hotel, there are so many great location, much better hotels around 7th avenue, which is not so noisy to choose from. i paid a lot of money for this holiday and it was such a shame i picked this hotel to stay in, because i could of had a much better stay in another hotel. when you complain, the front desk staff could not care a less about giving good customer service, because the hotel was busy so they know that people are gonna book it and not say anything, but as i am from the uk i expect value for money which i did not get here. they need to train certain members of staff more on the value of given good service rather than just being outright damm rude.....also why spend money doing up the lobby and bar when they need to get new air conditioning units in the rooms to 2014 standard, which means quite, and do up the shabby looking rooms, you are entitled to get some SLEEP, are you not!!!

Room Tip: a good tip is pick another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 100caroline_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear 100caroline_,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We are regretful to hear you had anything but a remarkable stay with us. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced in your guestroom as well as the matter in which it was handled. These are not our service standards, and most definitely not the ones we wish to propagate. The appropriate department heads are further investigating this matter. We are disappointed to hear of the confusion regarding the room category; I would be more than happy in assisting you in booking a more suitable accommodation should you decide to stay with us in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,916
    5,961
    3,320
    1,529
    1,310
See reviews for
4,686
5,522
981
1,846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very well redocorated ****Hotel (euopean standard) close to Time Sq and The Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (18min walking) & with the world cup going on there was a fantastic atmosphere in the lounge area.
the first double room given to us was very small with hardly space to move around but that was solved the next day with great elegance.
Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: next best choice rooms ending around "05".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azvalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear azvalian,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you appreciated all the upgrades our hotel has undergone. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our prime location and that you were allocated in a more comfortable room. Thank you for you kind comments noting our energetic vibe in District M for the World Cup games. On behalf of Row NYC, we hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As all have said before- the room is small. But, spotless and the location couldn't be better. The guys in the luggage area deserve special mention as they are the friendliest, they handled large groups of people and never lost their smiles. Checkin/Check out a bit slow and not particularly welcoming. Be prepared for the $100 they stick on your card for security without warning, waiting to get that back. Would stay again. I was on the 16th floor and it was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FELECIACPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear FELECIACPC,

Thank you your review of our hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for recognizing our friendly doormen and bellmen. We regret to hear you found your room to be on the smaller side, we do offer various room sizes and layouts and would be more than happy to assist you in booking a more suitable accommodation for the future. We hope to see you back soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in mid-June. The location in Times Square could not be any better. The rooms are a little on the small side but this is expected for New York. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were very clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for reviewing and recommending our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your two night stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to know you loved our prime location, minutes from Times Square. We do regret to hear you found your room to be on the small side. We do offer several room layouts and sizes and would be more than happy to assist you in booking a larger accommodation for a future stay. On behalf of Row NYC, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pearl, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is the perfect location. Staff are super friendly and very helpful. My only complaint was there is no coffee pot in the room. The rooms are small but I would imagine most hotels in that area and in that price range would be the same. I stayed here with my daughter and a friend for four nights. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee pot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Dawn P,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments recognizing our great location and super friendly and helpful staff. Although we do not provide coffee pots in the rooms, we do have a European express café in the lobby, District M—brewing fresh coffee daily. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great stay, free upgrade for my 50th, thankyou, staff very pleasant, nice clean room.this is a busy hotel, hey its New York, busy place.hundreds of things to do nearby, bargain shopping and lots of places to eat everywhere, cheap to expensive. Yes definitely be back to this hotel

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weddings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear weddings2,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are honored to have been part of such a special occasion and are glad to hear you enjoyed your room upgrade! Thank you for your kind comments recognizing our pleasant staff and nice, clean rooms. We hope to have you back soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbroath scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved the location and the rooms were cleaned everyday and although they were small you dont go to NYC to spend it in your hotel room there was enough room for all our cases with a little imaginative thinking :). Everything was right outside this hotel and checking in and out was fast and easy. Loved the lift system where you didnt have to stop at every floor. We got upgraded to a deluxe room and although still small it totally suited our needs would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear kitkat72,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location and that you had a seamless check-in and check-out experience. We strive for optimal efficiency and are glad to hear you appreciated our quick elevator system. We look forward to hosting your next trip to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,978 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#304 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,231 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,777 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,859 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#324 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Property: Row NYC Hotel
Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing