We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location,Location”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #341 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Seymour
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, Location,Location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

ROW NY is at first brush a quirky, young people's hotel. In fact, it caters for the full range of travellers. Located as it is close to subway, theatres, and restaurants staying there enhanced our visit to New York. Walk to Times Sq and the Hudson River and ferries; subway to 9/11 memorial and museum as well as to interesting suburbs. Short ride to Central Park. Prices reasonable, service good, rooms smallish but comfortable, well appointed. Almost always a taxi outside.
We'll return.

Room Tip: nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear John K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our fabulous location; we are indeed in the front ROW and center of all things New York! We thank you for noting our good service, reasonable prices and accessibility to taxis. We regret to hear you found your room to be smallish, but we do offer larger rooms and would be more than glad to assist you in securing a more suitable room size for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,895
    5,949
    3,298
    1,522
    1,296
See reviews for
4,671
5,495
975
1,839
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location, very close to Times Square. Staff at the door and on check in were very helpful and very friendly. Room was very quiet despite being so close to Times Square.
Only down side was that the room and bathroom were very small. Wifi was free for use on one device but anything more than that had to be paid for. However these are small complaints, overall, an excellent experience, would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear anmaca,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel. We love that you were able to enjoy the bustling energy of Times Square, yet also relax in your quiet guestroom. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our helpful and friendly staff. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I reserved 3 days with Row NYC recently for a trip with my son, prepaying with points from my credit card rewards account. I had to cancel my trip to NYC, though, as my back went out just before we were to fly out.

Even though the reservation was non-refundable, Row NYC staff went beyond the call of duty and worked with my credit card company to get me a full refund, which exceeded my expectations.

As soon as I heal and can reschedule, you can be sure that I'll be knocking at Row NYC's door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Michael D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to hear you were unable to make it as planned, but are glad to hear we were able to resolve the non-refundable concern. We hope you feel better and look forward to welcoming you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here September 2013 when it was still The Milford and renovations were being done, even with the renos you weren't inconvenienced and it was quiet for the location - Time Square just around the corner. The beds were comfortable and wifi worked without a problem.
If I had to say a negative it would be that the lifts were really slow and some mornings it took a while before a lift arrived that had room for more BUT i'm sure with the new renos this has been addressed.
I will defiantly be staying here when I return to NYC!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loomoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Loomoo11,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel since your most recent stay in 2013. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. We have made significant improvements throughout the hotel and hope to showcase all our many upgrades—especially our modern and super-efficient elevator system. We hope to have you back soon and welcome you to Row NYC with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

As many others have stated, the rooms are rather small. Our room was smaller than many of the hotels I have stayed at in Europe. The check in experience was less then stellar. There were three employees standing behind the check in counter that couldn't seem to help any guests when approached. We instead had to wait for the one employee that could check in guests, so what could have taken one minute took ten. If you are going to have employees in the view of guests, they should be able to assist them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face 8th ave, or you will need to pump up the A/C to drown out the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbasax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear robbasax,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are honored to have hosted your visit to New York City. We regret to hear that your stay with us was anything but exceptional. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the front desk while checking in. The appropriate department heads have been notified and further investigation is being performed regarding this matter. We strive for efficiency throughout our hotel and hope to provide a seamless check-in experience for all our guests. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was amazing with a city view!! And TONS of room which is very hard to find in a NYC hotel room without paying an arm and a leg!! Close distance to amazing restaurants, subways, times square, and central park!!! Would stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Any room is great! They are designed to not feel cramped!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. We are overjoyed to hear you loved your room and appreciated the amazing city view. We are in the front ROW and center of many New York City attractions and are delighted to hear you found our location so convenient. We look forward to hosting your next trip to our vibrant city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I did read the reviews and as a traveler always wishing to give hotels the benefit of the doubt i chose the Row with my partner as the location of our first three nights stay in New York before travelling to the west coast on a two week vacation.
For a long weekend or an overnight stay this place is ideal however with two fully loaded suitcases it is not! The wardrobe given over to my partner only managed to take up about four items with our two suitcases staying on a very crowded floor being used as storage space.
I cannot be critical of the hotel as i read the reviews and i am sure you cannot get a place on the edge of times square cheaper. The reception staff were helpful and the cleanliness of the rooms cannot be faulted though i think the maid would have only spent seconds hoovering the few inches of floor space left around our suitcases.
I would stop again for a short break but not if on a protracted holiday stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are honored to have hosted your brief stop in New York City. Although we are glad to hear you appreciated our supreme location and clean rooms, we are disappointed to hear you found your room to be on the smaller side. We do offer larger rooms with various layout options, I would be more than happy to assist you in booking a more suitable room size for a future stay with us. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our helpful staff. On behalf of Row NYC, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,958 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,212 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,849 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#320 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Property: Row NYC Hotel
Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing