We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #348 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had stayed at this hotel several years ago when it was the Milford Plaza, I was looking for a "Broadway" located hotel for the purpose of attending a few shows during our stay. That hotel had a good location but it was showing its age!
The newly remodeled Row NYC is a changed (for the better) Hotel, we attended two shows within half a block of the hotel and the third show was three blocks from the hotel. The room interiors have been totally renovated with very modern designs, the beds have very comfortable pillow top mattresses and goose down comforters and pillows. It has a quick check in area with very knowledgeable and attentive staff. It has a Free large area (ten monitors) for Internet use, including printers for airline boarding passes. It has a very convenient bar and restaurant for a quick drink or sandwich. To say the least I enjoyed my stay at this Hotel. 7-1 thru 7-5-2014.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernesto241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ernesto241,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are beyond thrilled to hear you loved all the upgrades our property has undergone since your last visit. We appreciate you kind comments noting our reputable location and our modern design. It gives us great pleasure to know our comfortable beds and goose down comforters made for a restful sleep. We hope to provide another 5 star experience upon your return stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,141
    6,226
    3,536
    1,630
    1,455
See reviews for
5,019
5,787
1,047
1,975
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,588)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of the Row is hard to beat, but the rooms are incredibly small, even for NYC standards. Two adults and two suitcases and you are tripping over each other. The bathrooms are also super small and don't have any counter space. Bottom line if you want a good location and you don't care about the room stay here. If you want a little more space to stretch out then head somewhere else.

Room Tip: Any rooms on the front side of the building have a fair amount of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug_Boston_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear travelbug_Boston_09,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We regret to hear you found your room to be on the small side. We do offer various room sizes and layouts, and would be happy to assist you in securing a more suitable accommodation for a future stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our room was incredibly small. Two single beds and a tiny desk in the room with no room to walk around, and no good space to leave an open suitcase. No dresser if you wanted to unpack a few things either. Clean and functional and reasonably priced according to NYC standards. We had one problem. My daughter's prescription glasses were missing after the first cleaning of our room. My guess is they were swept into the garbage and thrown away, as nothing else of value was missing. We reported this the minute we noticed it...late the first night after returning to our room. We were told someone would get back to us in a day or two. As that didn't happen, we asked again the last day we were there. They couldn't find the report, and took ages to take another report. We were not offered any compensation and in fact, I felt like they were just placating us and had no intention of following up. I was promised an email copy of the report for insurance purposes, and that never arrived either. I am not happy with the way this was handled. They were really friendly and helpful when we reported this - both times - but both times, promises were made and not fulfilled, and the glasses never turned up, and no compensation for what must have been a housekeeping mistake. But for this incident, I would recommend the hotel for a moderately priced hotel with an excellent location for Times Square and the Theatre District.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mom444,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to know you had an overall pleasant stay with us. We do regret to hear of the inconveniences you experienced regarding your daughter’s missing glasses. I have notified the appropriate department heads, and will make sure the appropriate follow-up procedures are taken. We hope to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love this hotel my favorite in the city. Close to everything I need, Port Authority, Times Square, Pizza, Church's Chicken lol Very clean and chic. Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Did I mention the sexy lobby with the enchanted smell?!?!?! Lovely see you in November.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajoel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ajoel88,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our unbeatable location and “enchanting smell in our sexy lobby” during your last stay in August 2013. We thank you for your comments recognizing our friendly staff, comfy bed and cleanliness standards. We look forward to your arrival in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I am not a neat freak. But I really don't understand what previous reviewers are talking about when they say this place is clean. I have been horrified at the level of dirt on the floors in the hallways, in the bathrooms, around the baseboards... If you are even a little picky about cleanliness, I recommend finding another place. Also, the rooms are not ideal for more than two, very close people. Bathrooms are teeny and there is no room for much other than beds and a narrow walking space between the beds and the walls.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Tracy S,

Thank you for your detailed and candid review of our hotel. We are deeply disappointed to hear about the condition of your room during your stay, these are not our service standards and most definitely not the ones we wish to propagate. I will be more than happy to personally assist you with confirming a larger accommodation better suited to your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly at GM@rownyc.com. Thank you again for choosing Row NYC for this visit to NYC. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to restore your faith in our superior product and unrivaled service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Wayne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The room was small and the modern decor was pretty ugly. My boyfriend had requested a different room than we received so they tried to accommodate us with drink vouchers and a corner room. The shower didn't even have a shower curtain and we had to call the front desk for one. The location is great if you're parking you car and plan on walking around touristy Times Square. Otherwise, the traffic is a nightmare!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Katherine R,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel, as it can only allow us to improve. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our great location. We are, however, disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations regarding your room. This is not our norm and the appropriate departments are further investigating this matter. We hope to regain your confidence in us, should you decide to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the former Milford Hotel now renamed Row NYC Hotel, while visiting New York City for the first time last summer.

I found a great deal and was happy to see that this Hotel was about two blocks away from Times Square and is in the middle of the Broadway/Theatre District.

I read many of the pre renovation reviews on this hotel & building before booking and was almost scared off by some of the things that were said, which I found after staying here to be almost all untrue.

There were extensive renovations made to the building and during my stay the alterations were in their final polish phase. Despite being unfinished the Hotel still looked very presentable and inviting.

The lobby of Row NYC had a very modern and minimalist feel, which was designed particularly well, featuring along with it a bar and lounge area in addition to a hotel store which was like a small newsstand and 7/11 in one.

We initially arrived at the hotel many hours before check in and we were exhausted from our flight from the West coast.

The concierge asked us to come back after 12pm, three hours later at the time, and she would see if any rooms were available.

I went back as asked and the hotel was able to find a room, allowing us to not have to sit and wait until 4pm which was the normal check in time at Row NYC as of the time I stayed.

The room was a good size for a couple of excited and eager tourists and we felt very comfy. I found the elevator system was pretty cool and straight forward to use contrary to what many others have claimed.

The room featured a small closet and desk as well as a few night stands were your bags could be placed atop.

Bathroom was a bit cramped and the shower as well as sink could have been a bit more tidy, but perhaps this was results of unstarted or unfinished renovation work.

I didn't realize however how being in the middle of all the action around Times Square could be a blessing and a curse. And make no mistake, this hotel is in a extremely busy and bustling part of Manhattan.

As a first time visitor, admittedly I was overwhelmed by the amount of stress that could be brought on ones vacation simply by being in the middle of so much hectic activity. It really depends on your personal temperament.

Overall Row NYC is a solid hotel and a smart choice if you decide to stay here. Friendly staff, clean rooms and blocks away from the 42nd st Subway station and Times Square/Theatre district.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Olusegun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Olusegun A,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We loved to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay during your last visit in August 2013. We have made significant upgrades to our hotel since then and hope to have you back soon to showcase the many improvements and provide another wonderful experience! Thank you for choosing Row NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,198 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#100 of 466 in New York City
4,284 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 466 in New York City
9,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 466 in New York City
4,840 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 466 in New York City
6,824 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 466 in New York City
7,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Property: Row NYC Hotel
Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing