We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a guys sports weekend.”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My son and I went to NYC to see a game at Yankee stadium. For a couple of guys the room is more than adequate. We had two twin beds. I would not recommend it for couples as the female half would complain about the size of the room and the small bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you and your friend had a great sports weekend getaway. We do offer larger room sizes and layouts and would be more than happy to assist you in booking a larger room category for a future stay. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18,919)
There are newer reviews for Row NYC Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,315 - 13,321 of 18,919 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was ok for a short trip, but be warned that the rooms are on the very small side - always go for a corner room if you can (although I can't really guarantee if they are that much bigger, looks like it from the floor plan poster that was next to the elevator)!
The air-conditioner in our room was very loud, so it may interrupt your sleep. The rooms were relatively clean, although the bathroom ceiling needed to be repaired as paint was peeling off pretty badly.
Hotel as whole is very close to Times Sq, and with a very trendy atmosphere. Staff were ok, not the nicest of people but tolerable considering the number of guests they were processing.

The hotel as a whole is good if you aren't going to spend a lot of time in your room, and a decent price compared to others around the area. I would definitely say that it is not a 4*, more like a 2-3* place in comparison to other 4* hotels in the area. If you can, fork out some more money to another hotel near the area that is genuinely a 4*.

Room Tip: Corner room, and wifi is free for ONE device ($5 for 4 devices).
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Neal S,

Thank you for your candid and detailed review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and had an overall pleasant stay with us. We do regret to hear you found the rooms to be on the small side, we do offer many room sizes and layouts, and would be happy to assist you in booking a more suitable room category for a future stay. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our trendy atmosphere and affordability. We do hope to provide a 5 star experience upon a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I travel 200 nights a year and am very appreciative of great service and somewhat tolerant when it is less than perfect, but my recent stay at the Row was pretty poor. The worst was check in- granted, it was fairly late at night, but there was a long line waiting to check in and one frazzled employee to do it. The Row is a fairly large hotel right near Times Square with over 1000 rooms, so there is obviously lots of acitvitiy and at 11 at night, the lobby resembled a nightclub more than a hotel. Rooms are ok, a bit small but that's pretty standard. The overall vibe was a nightclub crossed with a youth hostel..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank robinsonsummerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear robinsonsummerfield,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to hear you had anything but an exceptional stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during check-in, we have notified the appropriate department heads and are further investigating this matter. We do offer larger rooms and layouts should you decide you require additional space during a future stay. We hope to regain your confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband stayed there for an evening as we went to a broadway show! The hotel was modern but the service was terrible!
We went up to our allocated room which was tiny and i have to say they upgraded us to a bigger room.
The problem was that it was really dirty! The sheets were not even ironed and the bathroom was disgusting!
When we checked out it seemed that they were doing us a huge favour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from floor 20 up
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sharnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sharnag,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, as it can only allow us to improve. Although we are glad to hear you found our hotel modern, we certainly regret to hear you found the service to be subpar. These are not our service standards, nor are they the ones we wish to propagate. The appropriate department heads have been notified and are further investigating these concerns. We also regret to hear you found the rooms to be on the small side, we do offer many room sizes and layouts, and would be happy to assist you in booking a more suitable room category for a future stay. We hope to have an opportunity to showcase the side of Row NYC we are exceedingly proud of, upon a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The lobby is very fancy, the rooms are less fancy but very nice. Good service, cafeteria a little small. Right next to everything basically yet no noise in the room.
Total price kept being lowered while we stayed there...not sure how that works. We ended up paying a lot less than the initial price.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Internal_Pudendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Internal_Pudendal,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are overjoyed you loved our unbeatable location and lobby design. We thank you for noting our good service and found us to be a good value. We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to hosting your next trip to our vibrant city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

the row nyc hotel was a better experience than I expected. after reading some of the reviews I book a stay on 7/23-24/ 2014 because of how close it was to penn station amtrack station and times square. the room was great ! while small it was roomy enough and very clean. we were on the 23rd floor which was very quite , no street noise. we had a king bed and the room had 3 windows, views we great! the staff were very nice and helpful . they arranged theater tickets and tour bus excursions of nyc. saved us a lot of time and leg work. hats off to all the staff for their excellent service. I was very happy and will be going back to the row nyc again .

Room Tip: upgrade to the deluxe rooms on the higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Janice R,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It was truly our pleasure hosting your stay in New York City! We are overjoyed to hear our prime location made for a convenient stay. It gives us great pleasure to know you found your room on the 23rd floor comfortable, very clean and appreciated the wonderful city view. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our excellent staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to ensure a memorable and seamless experience while staying with us. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the 2nd time i stay in this hotel and always like to stay in some of the best hotels in the world. This was brilliant, clean and the location is phenomenal. I will always stay in this hotel in NYC. The hotel has a brilliant vibe, and fantastic staff. It has come to the stage were friendships have been established due to the brilliant customer service and their kindness to help tourists like me find places and give their local knowledge. I would like to thank mostly Aaron Zick from the Breakafast room for his superb customer service and help. Everyday he would greet all my family, help us out with our annoying tourist questions and even remember what each of us likes to order every morning. It is people like this that make me return to this hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel again. Wether its for business, family, honeymoon etc. The only slight downside is the rooms tend to be a little small in comparison to say a hotel in Los Angeles. But this is NYC so everything is pushed together.

Thank You

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Chris N,

Thank you for your heartwarming review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and continued patronage. It gives us great pleasure to know you found our hotel to be brilliant, clean and in a phenomenal location. We thank you for your amazingly kind words recognizing Aaron, he truly is a service superstar and we are lucky to have him! We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to having you back for another phenomenal stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
4,373 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#390 of 468 in New York City
4,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing