We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22,546)
Filter reviews
22,546 results
Traveller rating
6,501
7,475
4,394
2,167
2,009
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,501
7,475
4,394
2,167
2,009
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity kitchendistrict mmilford plazagreat locationtimes squarenew yorkrooms are smallbusy hotelaround the cornerstreet noisesubway stationcentral parkelevatornycbroadwayblockavenue
Filter
Updating list...
16,012 - 16,017 of 22,546 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I booked the Row Hotel for my Daughter's surprise 18th birthday present. When we arrived in our room, we realised it was not the King sizesd bed we had paid for . The edges of the room were some what dirty and the bedsheets had yellow stains on them. Straightaway we alerted the staff on the issue and how we had been cheated as we received a double bed instead of King. To compensate for the hotel overbooking King Sized rooms, we were given free breakfast for everyday we were staying there and a 30 dollar discount for only one night we stayed there. Although, such a gesture could not fully compensate for the way we had been misled. Why was we not told this when we arrived? Not only this but the TV was not working on our first day. It came to our attention that the room we were given was specifically for a disabled person yet we were able people. When we showered, we had to place towels on the floor to stop the water from going everywhere. The heater in the bathroom was dirty and rusting. Nevertheless, two staff members called Chantelle and Robert provided excellent customer service to deal with our issues and I commend them for that. The location for this hotel is also great. But on a whole, I will never recommend this hotel for any family and friends as you are better off paying more for a better hotel to have a pleasant stay. By the way, our room was 2415.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Romarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Romarsh,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. Although we are glad to hear Shantelle and Robert provided such memorable customer service and you enjoyed our unbeatable location, we regret to hear the remainder of your stay was anything but exceptional. We apologize for the condition of your room, and would like to point of these are not our service standards, nor are they the ones we wish to propagate. I have notified the appropriate department heads who are further investigating these concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us and showcase the side of Row NYC we are exceedingly proud of. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking for space to spread out this is probably not the place for you. We had a deluxe queen room and there was room for the bed and barely room to walk around it. The bathroom just had a sink but no counter to sit anything at all on. Had to sit on the floor by the front door in front of the full length mirror to put on makeup and fix my hair. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The elevators were nice - express right to your floor so that was a plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we weren't in the room much so the space wasn't a huge issue for us. The location is great - just one block from the very center of Times Square and very central to everything. Subway within 2 blocks and hop on hop off bus right outside.

Room Tip: We were on the 24th floor so the noise from the street below was pretty muted. If you're on a lower floor it might be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimPowell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear KimPowell1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our premium location and found our unique elevator system so efficient. We do regret to hear you found your room to be on the smaller side, we do offer larger room sizes and layouts and would be happy to assist you in booking a larger one for the future. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Row Hotel has an amazing location if you like to be in the heart of things where there are a lot of people. It was a bit too hectic for us however the rooms were cozy with a nice view.
The service could be improved a bit. At a walking distance from all the hot spots (Times Square, Broadway, Central Park...)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat-Karam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Nat-Karam,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you found our unrivaled location so amazing. We are glad to hear you found your room to be cozy with a nice view. We regret to hear the service you received during your stay was anything but exceptional. We will use this feedback to improve for the future. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed the hotel's close location to Time Square; otherwise it was just an ordinary hotel. We were not staying there for the hotel itself but for its location.

There was one experience I need to share with. When we arrived to the hotel, we were given a room that was only partially cleaned and the sheets were not changed. We were very upset and complained to the hotel management. Even though they apologized and gave us a bigger room and also some snack and bottle of wine for free, we were not sure what it was supposed to mean. Is this the usual way how to treat travelers? I need to say, I was really upset; especially when the hotel was not cheap at all ($220 per night).

Better to double check what they are giving you before moving in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PePans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear PePans,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location and had an overall pleasant stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with you original room. These are not our service standards, nor are they the ones we wish to propagate. However we are glad you were given a better room and a complimentary bottle of wine for your troubles. We hope to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just came back from a trip to NYC and stayed at the Row hotel. It was a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel. The people at the front desk, Sephan, Shauntel, and Don Chatham were very nice and helpful. Every request was taken care of very nicely with a lot of care. We recommend anyone visiting NYC to stay at this hotel!

Kaner, Israel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kaner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Kaner123,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your kind comments recognizing our customer driven staff. It was our honor hosting your visit to New York City, we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews