We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #353 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nice people at the check in. It was a little mixed up with my reservation- they had me for one bed. I was traveling with my dad, so we definitely needed 2 beds...they manage to fix that and give me a room with 2 beds with no extra charge. The room was clean but very small...I don't think I ever stayed in a hotel room of that size!

Parking is a challenge...only valet parking and the price was very high- $55 per night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank 119crisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Cris B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed a welcoming check-in experience and we were able to allocate you in a double bedded room. We regret to hear you found your room to be on the smaller side. However, we do offer larger room sizes and layouts and would be happy to assist you in booking a larger room for a future stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,560 - 13,566 of 19,286 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I took a short trip to NYC and chose Row NYC. Although the room was a bit small for four people, it was definitely do-able. We didn't spend much time in the room so it really wasn't a big problem. Everything was clean. The lobby has a very modern and upscale feel. All the staff that we dealt with were extremely pleasant and very helpful.
It was great to be able to drive down and have the hotel take care of parking our car, not all hotels offer a parking service.

The biggest plus for this hotel is its location. It was centrally located and very easy to walk to almost everywhere. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marycatherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear marycatherine P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed our unrivaled location and found the valet parking service so convenient. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our clean and modern lobby as well as our rooms. We do regret to hear you found your room to be a bit small, but we do offer larger room sizes and layouts and would be glad to assist you in booking a larger room for a future stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have already posted about this hotel when it was The Milford Plaza. As they have change the name of the hotel all the comments have disappeared but I want to thanks the people working here and the hotel for my stay.
I stayed in The Row NYC on November 2013 and the value for money is very interesting. Previous my arrival I asked for a high floor room. When I arrived, the people working at the reception ( at least 5 people working at the same time ) were very helpful and gave a room in the top floor with breathtaking views.
The rooms are not 5 stars rooms, as neither is the hotel. But they are ok, clean and spacious for NYC.
I will come back with my faimily next month and I have already contact the PR department and they answer me promising a better, if possible, stay than the last. For sure they will do it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JairoLombardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear JairoLombardia,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay in November 2013. We look forward to having you back to showcase all the upgrades our property has undergone since your last stay with us. We hope to see you again soon, at Row NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We selected this Hotel for our daughter's 15th birthday celebration (we latins celebrate 15th not 16th). Anyway, it had a different name when we reserved it and our taxi could not find it. After a few times around the block we finally realized our Hotel had a new name ROW NY (this was back in April 2014). Our daughter was fascinated with the location, she's a fan of Cake Boss and their NYC store is just 1 block away! We walked to every event we had, Time Square, Mamma Mia show, the NY Pass office for our sightseen tickets... everywhere, LOCATION was excellent!

Room Tip: Had to be the top floor, right ? - It's the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VillySan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear VillySan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our unrivaled location. We are honored to have hosted your daughter's 15th birthday and thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Booked using priceline for a 4 star hotel. Room was a closet and ac was so loud I thought it was the subway. I am required to use two hundred characters so I am using space to reach my requirement did I mention that the motel 6 would have given me a nicer room

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank NormanPatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear NormanPatry,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel, as it can only allow us to improve for the future. We regret to hear we did not meet your expectation regarding your room size. We do offer larger room sizes and layouts, and would be more than happy to assist you in booking a larger room category should you decide to stay with us again. We do hope to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The lobby of the hotel is very loud, busy and chaotic at all hours. Bus loads of people in and out. Very long lines at the front desk 24/7. No doorman at entrance. But one at the elevator checking room keys. Elevators smelled and carpets in the hall seemed dirty. No amenities worth mentioning. 2 paper cups in the room, were never replaced. No coffee maker. No full length mirror, no luggage rack to put my suitcase on. My sink did not drain. Mentioned it to the front desk but it was never fixed. No comfortable place to sit and have coffee without feeling like you were in Times Square.
The location was great and the bed was really comfortable. No problems with noise in my room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellingScoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear TravellingScoo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although we are glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location and found our beds to me really comfortable we do regret to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the busy lobby area, and are currently implementing strategies to alleviate the wait at the front desk during peak times. In regards to the sink in your room, I have notified the appropriate department heads who are further investigating this concern. These are not our service standards nor are they the ones we wish to propagate. We do hope to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great central location. People have commented on the size of the rooms but considering the cost and location you really can't complain.

The bar is lovely, although the food menu very limited but I understand a proper restaurant will open in Autumn/Fall.

We found all staff to be very friendly and helpful. They even allowed us to extend our check out time until 2pm with no extra charge.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Naomi B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you found our prime location to be a convenient home-base while exploring our vibrant city. We appreciate your kind comments recognizing our friendly and helpful staff and are delighted to hear you were extended a late check-out. We hope to host your future visits to NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#103 of 469 in New York City
4,409 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,601 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#396 of 469 in New York City
4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,254 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,953 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £105 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing