We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #315 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and concierge”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I took my elderly parents to New York and needed help organizing restaurants and tour planning. Diana , the concierge was excellent in her research, and suggestions. All the staff were very obliging and made for a wonderful time.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a central location, good service and Excellent Concierge

Room Tip: I booked the Exec. Suite and it was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    870
    381
    131
    67
See reviews for
378
799
123
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

First of all let me say how fantastic the location is for this hotel. We were able to walk to time square and grand central terminal terminal is 3 minutes away if you want to jump on the metro. You are perfectly centered between battery park and uptown.

As far as the hotel, we were incredibly impressed with the size of the room considering how little we paid for a room in Manhattan. The staff were incredibly attentive and very helpful with every request we made. All of our questions were answered and they helped us find local restaurants to eat.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone and I plan on staying there the next time I am in Manhattan.

Five star experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albi, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Last week we stayed two nights at The Court, NY, we truly enjoyed the location; its restaurant; the neat room, quite spacious considering being in NY and mostly the excellent attention at the front desk, specially from Miss Jennifer Duran who kindly helped us finding restaurants, giving us excellent suggestions from the menu, helping us to find places and mostly, by being warm and kind enough to considering coming back to this place. We really enjoyed our trip to NY !!
Vivianne Costa-Denais

Room Tip: To me the most important is the cleanliness as well as the quality of bed, which help us to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianne201453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I booked my wedding party in this hotel and they had a wonderful time here. The rooms were big and cozy. The location was perfect - close to bars, restaurants, shops and of course, the Church! Raquel Arnold was wonderful to work with! She was very responsive and extremely reliable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were two couples traveling together on a visit to NYC and stayed 2 nights at THE COURT. It was an excellent east side location and good price compared to other NYC establishments. Room was good size, comfortable and clean. Guest specialist, Jennifer Duran, made stay extra special with her wonderful recommendations and advice. Jennifer not only made suggestions on where to dine but she also suggested WHAT to eat and was spot on in her recommendations!! She was friendly and knowledgeable with giving us great directions to navigate NYC subways to get us to our desired locations. We enjoyed our visit and encounters with Jennifer and will certainly consider a return visit to THE COURT.
Patricia Schery

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear pschery,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are delighted to hear that you and your traveling companions enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us. We love to hear when our staff leaves a great impression, and I will be sharing your review with Jennifer and her colleagues in the front office. Warm, friendly, and personal service is our standard, and we are so glad that Jennifer took such great care. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

On the whole, this wasn't a bad place to stay. I might argue that the four-star rating might be half a star too high, simply because of a few items that simply don't say "four-star" to me.

As my partner and I were bringing my sister to NYC for her first visit, we booked through Hotwire as it allowed us to select the room type, and we needed a room with two beds. We were booked into a room with two double beds. For our situation, that would work just fine. Upon checking in, nothing was said that would lead us to believe that anything different was coming our way. When we got to the room, we discovered that we had a king bed, and a separate living space with a sleeper sofa. Upon calling down to the front desk, I was told that they were sold out of the doubles, so this was what was available. It would have been so simple for them to have said "We're oversold on doubles, but we'd like to upgrade you to a king suite with a sleeper sofa. Is that alright?" It sounds inviting. It sounds like they're not trying to slide one by you. Good communication costs nothing, but goes such a long way towards a good experience. But other than this lack of communication, the staff seemed pretty happy to help where they could.

The room was nice though. We were concerned that the sleeper sofa might not be comfortable, but housekeeping made it up for us while we were out, and my sister seemed reasonably happy with the quality of sleep. The king bed was also quiet comfy, so no problems there.

The room was also clean. No carpet issues or odor problems. There were two large flat screen television in the room, and a nice mini-bar area. The room, especially by NYC standards, was quite spacious. And our view of the Chrysler Building was spectacular! It was a comfortable room, for sure.

But the bathroom. The bathroom was tired. From broken floor tiles to a pedestal sink that didn't allow any room for toiletries to the shower fixtures being askew and the shower drain being pretty slow, the bathroom was certainly not what one would expect from a four-star property.

The location was good. Three blocks to Grand Central. A pretty quick walk over to Fifth Avenue and the Central Library. A nice walk up to Central Park. This isn't a part of town that I'm used to staying in, so I felt a little out of place, but it worked nicely, and gave us a chance to see a few different sites.

At the end of the day, if the price was right, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property again. I'd maybe just ask a few more questions up front.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyO_StPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear TonyO_StPaul,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and that the sofabed provided comfortable night’s sleep for your sister, we regret to hear that there was any confusion regarding your reservation and the room type. We are contacting Hotwire in order to determine where exactly the miscommunication occurred. When reserving through a third party, we always recommend that you contact us in advance of your stay to confirm the room type—while we make every effort to be absolutely clear with third party websites, sometimes lines do get crossed, and we always do our very best to ensure that any problems are addressed as swiftly as possible. Please feel free to reach out to our Accommodations team at reservefax@stgilesnewyork.com with any questions regarding reservations and room types. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it offers us the opportunity to improve. I would like to speak with you personally regarding your experience. If you feel so inclined, please reach out to me at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

Sincerely,

Robert Falco
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in the Court Hotel for only one night on May 16th after a last minute booking before international travel, therefore cannot elaborate in too much detail around any issues that other guests have been commenting on. The hotel seems to be a convenient location/cheaper price combination, but I would have stayed in a better hotel with an incrementally higher price if booking in advance.

The hotel is very conveniently located, only a few blocks away from the Grand Central station. Although I came in several hours earlier than the check-in time, the room was ready so was able to leave my luggage, which was a good start. The room was quite sizeable for NY standards, with a small separate mini bar/wardrobe area, unfortunately right next to the lift (noise at night) and had a window overlooking a wall a few meters away (so much for a last minute booking!). The room itself was clean but the downside was its bathroom, which did not really seem to be a 4* standard as it may be useful to have some upgrading. The metal soapholder in the bath fell from its place when I barely touched it, there were some colouring marks on the walls and I did not get a sense that the bathroom was very clean. I did not have any issues with these, given the one-night-only stay but would have been somewhat disappointed over a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one not right next to the lifts and one which does not have a window overlooking a wall few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONUR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear ONUR C,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you found us to be a combination of value and great location for your one-night stay in New York City, and that our clean, spacious and comfortable rooms provided a nice start to your stay. We regret to hear that the bathroom was not up to par, however, and that you had several issues during your short stay. I can assure you that our engineering team is reviewing the issues you experienced and we are taking the proper steps to improve. Should you be returning to NYC, we would love to offer you special rates for a future visit. Please reach out to me personally at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com – we would love to have another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#100 of 467 in New York City
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,285 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
501 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing