We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT room and hotel at a good price...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A GREAT room and hotel at a good price...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in June for a special occasion outing for the two of us. The doorman that met us and arranged the valet parking and Glendis, the reception agent, were extremely nice, attentive, accommodating, pleasant and professional. Because of their professionalism the check-in process was quick and simple. I appreciated their commitment to customer service.

The hotel lobby was small, but what did I care? I wasn't planning on hanging out there anyway. It was clean and neat.

Glendis upgraded our room and the room we were assigned was perfect. A corner studio, with a king bed and windows on two walls. Lots of light. The room was nicely decorated and laid out. For a hotel in Manhattan it was also pretty roomy. The whole room was extremely clean.

I have not one bad thing to say about our stay at this hotel. Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at the time of check in. You never know what they might have sitting empty that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Eugene M,

We are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful visit at The Court during your trip to New York City. We love to hear when our staff leaves a great impression, and I will be sure to share your kind words with Glennis and our entire front office team. How wonderful that the Courtyard King room provided a lovely escape in Midtown for you! Thanks for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back to The Court on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    839
    360
    117
    62
See reviews for
358
771
119
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Inexplicably, The Court came up as a "4 star hotel" on my Hotwire booking. This was by far the poorest "4 star" hotel I've ever received via Hotwire. The room was dark and uninviting. Tiny, basic bathroom. Air conditioning never worked properly - an engineer was called, who said it had "frozen" and needed to thaw. That didn't work, even as the system cycled through various loud grinding noises throughout the night. Bed soft as mush. Paper thin walls - heard hallway conversations all night.

The only good thing to say might be the location, if it works for you. Otherwise, this 2-night stay has me seriously questioning the wisdom of relying on Hotwire, which has previously been reliable. But I live in fear now of booking another 4-star hotel via Hotwire - I'd dread the possibility of clicking "purchase" and seeing it come up as The Court.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Public Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Glenn90,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We regret to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your visit so that we can take the proper steps to improve. Though we cannot control our ratings on third party sites, we certainly do our very best to provide clean, comfortable rooms to each of our guests. I’d like to speak with you personally regarding your visit. If you feel so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me directly at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We would love another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Quality Hotel and cozy, perfect location! 3 streets from the Grand Central. The rooms are large (at least 35 square meters).
Pleasant and professional service. wifi all over the hotel. I did not eat at the hotel so I have no opinion.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor .. and thay took into consideration this request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oshrit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We snagged a bargain for a 4 night visit to NYC with Hotwire. Was dubious about our "win" at this hotel as Trip Advisor has mixed reviews for this property. We were very pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay there again. Our room was on the 5th floor and faced the street. It was a huge room and had a couple of alcoves - one by the closet and another in the main room with writing table, tv, etc. This wasn't exactly an "alcove" but was in an indented area within the room. We are early risers, but if you like to sleep in or are a light sleeper you may want to request a room at the rear of the building. Even tho this hotel is not on a major street, there is a lot of truck and street noise which can go on all night long but definitely begins in earnest early in the morning. The bathroom shower worked perfectly. The sink was not set into a vanity, but there was a large window ledge as well as a shelf next to the sink for shampoo and other items left for you to use as well as cups. By re-arranging the items on the shelf as well as using the window ledge, there was good space for cosmetics and other personal grooming necessities. Had a king size bed which was really, really comfortable. Heat/air worked fine. Only comlaint we might have was that the maid didn't seem to ever get it right for how many towels to leave. It was fine for 2 people the first night - 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, 1 bath mat, and 2 washcloths. An extra or two would have been appreciated tho. The following nights there was always at least one towel missing - one night we were missing a hand towel - only 1 was left, one night no washclothes were left and the last night there was no bathmat. I know we could have called housekeeping or gone to front desk to remedy this, but we were tired and didn't want to bother and simply made do. Location is great as you are just a couple of blocks from Grand Central and can take off for all parts of the city on subways there. The shuttle buses to all the major airports (JFK, LGA, EWR) are also in the same area. There are many moderately priced bagel shops, deli's, restaurants, markets, within very close walking distance. New York hotels are incredibly expensive, so we were very pleased that we won this on Hotwire and if the price were right, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or like to sleep late in the morning, you might want to see if you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stabroek, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We sayed at St-Giles in March. The hotel was ok and th location was ok aswell. Nothing out of the ordinairy thought. It was clean and a liitle bit boutique style designed which was a nice touch. As the title says good value for money.

Room Tip: Great vibe in the bar on weekends! Great service at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just got back from 3 nights in NY and we stayed at the Court. Larger corner suite. Rooms were a great size, nice walk-in closet, great location -- we quickly picked up the Bagel Express habit half a block away every morning. Asked for a room with a view; okay but not quite what we were hoping for. Room is old, but very comfortable. A few bathroom tiles on floor loose and carpet old, but all clean. Bed very comfortable. Sleeper sofa in executive suite worked out great. Doorman very nice.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor; someone said the 16th (top) floor has the best views but it was not availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoTravelMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent a weekend in NYC. We often visit NYC for a weekend and I typically try to book interesting hotels. This seemed like an interesting option, but I was disappointed. On the positive side, the rooms are larger than a typical NYC hotel room, which is really great. The hotel had a modern feel, which I also enjoyed. Our room had a direct view of the Crysler building, and we loved that. On the not-so-positive side, the room showed signs of fatigue, and was fairly spare. While the bathroom was largish, the shower stall was tiny and felt like a coffin. The shower door leaked water in the bathroom. I don't think the hotel deserves a 4-star rating in terms of category.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing