We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #300 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at The Court and I enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and I had a great view from my window. The staff were friendly and very helpful. One young lady Jinelis Abreu on the front desk was A+, she always met me with a smile and any query I had was taken care of instantly. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Dennis O,

Thank so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are delighted that our staff provided friendly, personal service for you, and I will be sharing your kind words with Jinelis and her colleagues in the front office—we love it when our staff makes a great impression. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com if we can be of assistance in arranging a future visit or with any special requests. We hope to welcome you back to The Court very soon.

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    847
    366
    117
    65
See reviews for
362
779
119
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have stayed in Times Square many times before, but loved staying in the Murray Hill section for a change. A great neighborhood feel, and yet convenient to everything. We loved the variety of restaurants. Mexican one night, Turkish another, and French on the last night....all within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear barbara89,

Thank so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We love our Murray Hill neighborhood, and we are always glad when guests discover its great combination of charm and convenience. So happy to hear that you had a chance to sample the great restaurants nearby! We hope you choose The Court again on your next trip into the City.

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice, clean, located centrally, and has an outstanding staff. I'm a regular, and the upgrades have been exceptional--all for, really, a budget hotel price. It's a wonderful find, and a great bargain. Unreserved recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaw11946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Shaw11946,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are delighted that our combination of value, space and comfort made for such great visits. Thanks for recommending us! Please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com if we can be of assistance in arranging a future stay or with any special requests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court!

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had stayed in both The Court and The Tuscany many years ago when they operated under the Starwood 'W' banner. The location in the quieter Murray Hill is the most appealing aspect of The Court as the hotel itself is no where near the condition it used to operate when a W. The room furnishings are tired as is the carpeting and subflooring. The air conditioning was sporadic and inconsistent and the bed anything but 'Heavenly'

The staff, however, could not have been more hospitable and accomodating. It is too bad the hotel has not kept up it's interiors as the location is quite compelling and the competition is lacking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear David H,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are always delighted to hear when our friendly staff leaves a great impression on our guests. We regret, however, that you found the condition of the hotel to be less than adequate. While The Court is an older property, we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms to each and every guest. I’d like to speak with you personally regarding your visit. If you feel so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me directly at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We would love another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The tub was clogged and filled with water as i showered. the thermostat was malfunctioning and would not shut off the AC or at least turn the heat on (it was cold outside); the service guy had to shut the entire system down..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Garfield S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Garfield S,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We regret to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your visit so that we can take the proper steps to improve. I can assure you that our engineering team is looking into the issues you described with the thermostat and drains. In the meantime, I’d like to speak with you personally regarding your visit. If you feel so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me directly at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We would love another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in June for a special occasion outing for the two of us. The doorman that met us and arranged the valet parking and Glendis, the reception agent, were extremely nice, attentive, accommodating, pleasant and professional. Because of their professionalism the check-in process was quick and simple. I appreciated their commitment to customer service.

The hotel lobby was small, but what did I care? I wasn't planning on hanging out there anyway. It was clean and neat.

Glendis upgraded our room and the room we were assigned was perfect. A corner studio, with a king bed and windows on two walls. Lots of light. The room was nicely decorated and laid out. For a hotel in Manhattan it was also pretty roomy. The whole room was extremely clean.

I have not one bad thing to say about our stay at this hotel. Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at the time of check in. You never know what they might have sitting empty that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Eugene M,

We are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful visit at The Court during your trip to New York City. We love to hear when our staff leaves a great impression, and I will be sure to share your kind words with Glennis and our entire front office team. How wonderful that the Courtyard King room provided a lovely escape in Midtown for you! Thanks for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back to The Court on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Inexplicably, The Court came up as a "4 star hotel" on my Hotwire booking. This was by far the poorest "4 star" hotel I've ever received via Hotwire. The room was dark and uninviting. Tiny, basic bathroom. Air conditioning never worked properly - an engineer was called, who said it had "frozen" and needed to thaw. That didn't work, even as the system cycled through various loud grinding noises throughout the night. Bed soft as mush. Paper thin walls - heard hallway conversations all night.

The only good thing to say might be the location, if it works for you. Otherwise, this 2-night stay has me seriously questioning the wisdom of relying on Hotwire, which has previously been reliable. But I live in fear now of booking another 4-star hotel via Hotwire - I'd dread the possibility of clicking "purchase" and seeing it come up as The Court.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Public Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Glenn90,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We regret to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your visit so that we can take the proper steps to improve. Though we cannot control our ratings on third party sites, we certainly do our very best to provide clean, comfortable rooms to each of our guests. I’d like to speak with you personally regarding your visit. If you feel so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me directly at robertf@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We would love another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Front Office & Guest Services
@StGilestheCourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#246 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing