We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #306 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK but needs work”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The first thing you notice when you walk in is the empty glass space filled with balloons - strange but its NYC. The hotel needs some updating as it looks like its a mish mosh of old and new - they need to make up their minds - stick with the traditional or upgrade to modern. The rooms were of good size and clean. The place just needs to be updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldiablo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    853
    371
    124
    65
See reviews for
367
786
121
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If I could, I'd give The Court 3 1/2 stars: they're better than "average," but not quite "very good." Ultimately, they provided a spacious room for two people in a good location at a solid price - definitely a good value, and so I'll round up.

The only real issue came at check-in; we arrived at 3:30, 30 minutes after check-in, but the room wasn't ready. The desk clerk was more matter-of-fact than apologetic about it, but we negotiated the wait from "about an hour" to "give me ten minutes." Unfortunately, she was the only desk clerk available and there was a constant flow of people checking in, and she never acknowledged when the room was ready until I approached her. The lobby was small and the only place to sit was not comfortable, a wrap-around bench right next to the desk as people stood in front of us waiting to check in.

Once we did get to our room we were generally pleased - the room is really big by New York standards, and had plenty of space in addition to the two beds (I believe their website says it's 400 square feet). The room was clean and the desk and nightstand along with a TV stand all had a modern look to them, but while staying in it for 2 nights, the paint and carpet began to seem a bit worn and it felt more like an older room they were dressing up with a modern, trendy look rather than out-and-out updating the rooms. But still, it's a clean, comfortable and spacious room, just one that could use new carpet and paint (and a TV remote with a working Channel Up button). The bathroom was spacious, clean and had adequate water pressure in the shower and good lighting and the WiFi was good enough for checking email and general web surfing.

We were ultimately heading to the Upper East Side for the weekend, but it was tricky finding something around $200 a night with two beds; with its location close to Grand Central and the 34th/35th Street Pier this was the best match of value and location. We got a clean and comfortable room with more than enough space for two people in a good location at a price that met our budget, and I would recommend it for if you're looking for the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was clean and in a very great location in New York. The bed was very comfortable to sleep and sheets were clean. The staff were friendly, but there was no one at middle of the night when we needed to ask something. The location is perfect as everything is nearby and great restaurants to dine in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very friendly staff, spacious, clean and well appointed rooms, lobby small however nice decor and sitting area, pool table, Great Lounge Bar. The location in NYC is great near restaurants, Penn Station and Grand Central Terminal. I will return.

Room Tip: I booked directly on hotel's website and found a great rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutumnBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, just a couple of blocks from Grand Central Station and surrounded by restaurants. The rooms are big and comfortable, with maybe a slight need for renovation but nothing worth complaining about. Very welcoming door staff but with perhaps a hint of surliness from some staff at reception. We'd very happily stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHarriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location, very close to Grand Central terminal...within 2 blocks you have both a 24hr Duane Reade and a CVS...plus great breakfast spots as well as cool happy hour bars within a few blocks.

The staff was friendly, the room was pretty spacious by Manhattan standards, and it was very clean and sharp. A modern feel but inviting so you enjoyed just relaxing in the room as well. Comfortable bed, great king size pillows.

I think maybe the only thing that was annoying was it seemed that the windows were made of paper as we thought they were open all night because it was so loud outside....now of course that's very common for most of the Manhattan hotels you would find no matter what...try and get a high floor if you can.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frontrowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I were coming to NYC for a last minute trip but we didn't want to spend the ridiculous amount of money to stay near Time Square. The Court of St. Giles, is a great hotel for the money.

It will not provide the lavish hotel lobby ambience or extreme amenities of a larger chain but it is still worth the stay. The lobby and restaurant is very clean and nice. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area and gave great recommendations for family activities.

We had a great stay and would recommend it for the family that's not looking to spend an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoenGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#246 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing