We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #333 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 4 nights here in a junior executive suit.

Plus points are that it is in an excellent position. It is not too expensive and the room we had (915) was huge with a view of the Empire State Building. It was clean and offered all the usual things you would expect. The staff were lovely and helpful.

Downsides are that the room was a bit tired, with worn carpet and a few wobbly items. Air con was stupidly noisy, but the rooms stayed cool enough if we switched it off at night we found even though it was 90f during the daytime (tip leave it on all day while out). Even on the 9th floor the noise from the street was louder than you'd like, but hey this is New York so you expect noise.

All said, it's not posh, it's not pretentious and it does what it needs to do. I think 3 1/2 stars might describe it better, but it's still good enough.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DizzygirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Air conditionning noisy !!!
Very small bathroom ....
And fake picture on their website. No balcony with table on top !

Ok for a NYC 3 stars... But not 4.

Next time i ll go back to Beacon hotel. Much better for same price

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korben4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out this hotel helped make our weekend a very special time. The room was very spacious, clean and a great location. I would recommend this hotel very highly. You won't be disappointed. The staff was terrific and the manager was hands on - All in all my husband had a terrific surprise birthday weekend, partly because of this hotel.
Marlene Judy

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlenejudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The first thing you notice when you walk in is the empty glass space filled with balloons - strange but its NYC. The hotel needs some updating as it looks like its a mish mosh of old and new - they need to make up their minds - stick with the traditional or upgrade to modern. The rooms were of good size and clean. The place just needs to be updated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eldiablo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If I could, I'd give The Court 3 1/2 stars: they're better than "average," but not quite "very good." Ultimately, they provided a spacious room for two people in a good location at a solid price - definitely a good value, and so I'll round up.

The only real issue came at check-in; we arrived at 3:30, 30 minutes after check-in, but the room wasn't ready. The desk clerk was more matter-of-fact than apologetic about it, but we negotiated the wait from "about an hour" to "give me ten minutes." Unfortunately, she was the only desk clerk available and there was a constant flow of people checking in, and she never acknowledged when the room was ready until I approached her. The lobby was small and the only place to sit was not comfortable, a wrap-around bench right next to the desk as people stood in front of us waiting to check in.

Once we did get to our room we were generally pleased - the room is really big by New York standards, and had plenty of space in addition to the two beds (I believe their website says it's 400 square feet). The room was clean and the desk and nightstand along with a TV stand all had a modern look to them, but while staying in it for 2 nights, the paint and carpet began to seem a bit worn and it felt more like an older room they were dressing up with a modern, trendy look rather than out-and-out updating the rooms. But still, it's a clean, comfortable and spacious room, just one that could use new carpet and paint (and a TV remote with a working Channel Up button). The bathroom was spacious, clean and had adequate water pressure in the shower and good lighting and the WiFi was good enough for checking email and general web surfing.

We were ultimately heading to the Upper East Side for the weekend, but it was tricky finding something around $200 a night with two beds; with its location close to Grand Central and the 34th/35th Street Pier this was the best match of value and location. We got a clean and comfortable room with more than enough space for two people in a good location at a price that met our budget, and I would recommend it for if you're looking for the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was clean and in a very great location in New York. The bed was very comfortable to sleep and sheets were clean. The staff were friendly, but there was no one at middle of the night when we needed to ask something. The location is perfect as everything is nearby and great restaurants to dine in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very friendly staff, spacious, clean and well appointed rooms, lobby small however nice decor and sitting area, pool table, Great Lounge Bar. The location in NYC is great near restaurants, Penn Station and Grand Central Terminal. I will return.

Room Tip: I booked directly on hotel's website and found a great rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AutumnBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#172 of 471 in New York City
830 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#194 of 471 in New York City
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#126 of 471 in New York City
575 reviews
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#298 of 471 in New York City
229 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#119 of 471 in New York City
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £86 - £750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing