We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect nothing less from Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #207 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expect nothing less from Marriott”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife and our two teenagers stayed here for 4 nights. I picked this hotel for the good rate and the breakfast included. It's a new place, so everything is in very good condition. The room was very small but had everything we needed. I insist, the room was very small, so that's what you should expect, a very small and a very nice and clean room. The staff was GREAT, they do have what the right service attitude. Breakfast was also good, nothing fancy but very good. The southamerican lady in charge of the kitchen and breakfast area made us feel at home. I didn't like the neighborhood but I did know where I was gooing, so no complaint about that. Close to subway stations. Our room had no view and I would guess most of the rooms in this buildng don't have it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmigoCharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear RayoMcQueen2010,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear the associates were GREAT and have the right service attitude. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    283
    73
    31
    16
See reviews for
212
290
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

What a shame that this new building was so poorly designed. The staff are warm, friendly, and helpful; the breakfast, while nothing special, was fresh and free and served with a smile; the place is clean and location is good. But the rooms are so tiny that I won't return. To give you an idea: the ice bucket and coffee maker are stored in the closet because there is no other place to put them--no countertop or end table or anything. Something as simple as substituting a queen instead of king bed in the room would have helped. Oh, and the window air cond unit rattled endlessly. Another bad (money saving?) design fault.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street if you don't want to look into somebody's office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear MikeSacto,

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the room size and HVAC unit. I hope you addressed it with the front desk, so we could have the opportunity to make it right. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed here for one night on business, 7/13/11. Smallish room, but right for the price during tourist season. Stylish - flat screen TV actually had a high def feed for channels with that content. Good water pressure and very clean. High speed internet very functional. Quiet quiet quiet - a plus in the city. Front desk friendly and responsive upon check in and coming back and forth. Appears to be new construction from what surrounds it. Cool new feature - just wave your key card at the reader; you need not insert the card. Comfortable bed. I'd stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: Reserve early, and join Marriott Rewards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Slewiecki,

We were delighted to hear that you liked the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea, and would "stay here again,for sure" . It was nice to hear that the front desk associate were friendly and responsive during your stay. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, CT USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

One can never go wrong with any property in the Marriott family of brands. Predictably clean, well maintained and competent staff.

This was inexpensive by Manhattan standards but in a convenient location on the west side of Manhattan. Felt safe walking around at night. Close to subway. Decent and clean room. All that, plus I got Marriott points.

Room Tip: Request upper floor away from elevator for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPCWaterford_CTUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear JPCWaterf...,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Easy walk from New York's Penn Station with NJ Transit, LIRR, and Amtrak located there. NJ Transit offers an inexpensive connection from Newark Liberty Airport to Penn Station. Subway is at end of block from hotel. Super friendly and helpful staff from warm cookies and bottled water to help with restaurants and transportation. Breakfast is included and is more than adequate. WiFi is free. Bathroom is very small but modern with a walk-in shower and plenty of storage. Bedroom is more than roomy enough, especially by NYC standards. We had a very comfortable king-size bed with desk, large dresser, end tables, and desk chair. No extra seating except the desk chair. The closet was small but had plenty of hangers. We were on the front side and had a view of the Empire State Building. The street is very quiet. It is the 'Flower District' and by day all the sidewalks are bordered by trees, plants, and flowers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJworldwidetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear NJworldwidetraveler,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I am very pleased with this hotel and that is saying a LOT. I would be happy to stay here again. The hotel appears to be either fairly new or recently renovated, and the rooms are laid out very well with modern furniture, modern bathroom fixtures, and excellent bedding. It has a modern urban feel to it which is my personal taste. There is a free breakfast that is quite healthy, with careful selection (juice, fruit, cereals, milk, Starbucks coffee, bagels, hard boiled eggs, etc. The staff are attentive and very helpful. The location is extremely convenient for me personally, but of course you need to make that decision for yourself.

There is free wifi everyplace in the building. This is a BIG DEAL nowadays, where not just your computer but your smart phone and your tablet computer all function better on wifi than 3G.

I am tempted to offer 5 stars but for several considerations:
1. The rooms are small. This is OK with me, but maybe not for everyone.
2. They had an accident and misplaced my laundry for a day, which put a serious dent in my weekend attire. They were apologetic and this appeared to be an unusual situation.
3. While convenient to me, the location is on a block that is industrial during the day and dark after working hours. It is close to some VERY active nightlife areas but not directly in one.

I want to underscore that this is not a fancy business hotel.

Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for high floor to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Yalel,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea, and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in New York City!

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Highly recommended! The reception was very nice, helpful and very pleasant. They were nice enough to let us did an early check-in when we arrived 9ish asking for a parking spot. I like how they were able to provide a portable crib for my 1 year old! The complimentary breakfast actually had variety option, and there were staffs standing by to refill the drinks and foods. They even notify you when they are closing up, what a nice gesture.

The complimentary coffee, tea, and chocolate are just there for you to fill in any time you want, since we went there to visit a friend, we were able to use their breakfast area to chat with a nice cup of tea on our hands (after dinner, and my husband was upstairs in the room with our baby)

The room is clean and we feel comfortable enough to let our little one to claw on the floor, this is one of the reason we were willing to pay a little bit more for the hotel.

Subway station is in walking distance. Whole Food Market is also within walking distance, MacDonald is right beside if you don't like the breakfast provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear that the service provided was excellent. The entire team work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,886 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#208 of 467 in New York City
2,021 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,339 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 467 in New York City
845 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea for your home-away-from-home as you visit New York City. We are a top choice among hotels in Chelsea, NYC, offering a perfect location near Chelsea Market, Chelsea Piers, the Financial District, the Empire State Building, High Line, and Metropolitan Pavilion. Our hotel sits in the Flower District, close to the subway that can take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. Stay with us and experience a memorable and easy trip to NYC. We offer comfortable and spacious accommodations that include free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast, a full-service business center, and a well-appointed fitness center. Walk to restaurants, bars, and more from Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea, and enjoy staying in a hotel that is a smart choice among hotels in NYC and in Chelsea, NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing