We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY IN NYC!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #203 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I recently took my daughter on a mother/daughter trip to NYC, neither of us had ever stayed there before so we were a little nervous and not sure of where to stay and what to do since there are so many options!! I have to say that upon our arrival to the hotel we were pleasantly greeted by Thomas at the front desk and I have never felt so welcome or been treated so nice. He made us feel right at ease and gave us great tips on where to go and good places to eat. One suggestion was Waldy's pizza right around the corner, if you like thin crust pizza and at a very reasonable price, then this is the place to try. We also had the best Chinese food ever at a little place in Chinatown called Wo-Hop. It is at 17 Mott St., it's in the basement of the bldg, its not fancy but excellent food and also at a reasonable price. Our room at the hotel was very clean and it was located on the 17th floor of which we never had to wait long for the elevator. Another great plus about this hotel is that it is located only two blocks from the Empire State Bldg, Macy's, Madison Square Garden & the Manhattan Mall. Thanks again Thomas for making our stay so pleasant!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamrose70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Tamrose70

Thanks for the feedback! I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, found your guestroom clean, the staff helpful (Thomas), and the location convenient. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff! We look forward to the opportunity to be of service again on your next visit to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for only night beginning of March 2014. Great staff. The location is amazing, you got the one train only a block away, 34th street is only 7 minutes away by walk. Despite the location, the hotel is somehow not on a busy street. The room is bright, really clean and in good size for a NYC hotel room. The only problem I had was the fact that my room was next to the elevator and its "bell" sound was really loud. I called the reception to change the room, but they told me that it was too late of time, which I thought was odd. However they did send me earplugs, which was a nice gesture. I would defintely stay here again, but will make sure that I wont get the same situated room.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the elevator if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear SadieY32
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased you had a lovely stay with us and hope to see you for many more future visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hotel room with King bed was perfect for mother/daughter trip. The room was on the back side of the hotel on 10th floor, so it was quiet. The individual thermostat for the room worked great and was not noisy at all. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom much larger than we expected for a midtown Manhattan hotel. Coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron/ironing board were all in the room as well as hi-def flat screen tv (which we only watched a bit at night before crashing from exhaustion after exploring the city all day).

Right in the middle of the flower district, it was a joy to walk out and see flowers & plants on the sidewalks in all directions. The hotel is perfectly situated between 6th & 7th aves, with Herald Square being a short walk north to 34th. Times Square wasn't much farther at 42nd. The High Line is about a 15 minute walk to the west. Empire State Bldg was close also. We flew into Newark and took train to Penn Station, also only a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Cannot say enough about the ideal location!

Breakfast was good and the service was great. Fresh baked cookies most afternoons - yum! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, 10th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthafromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear SamanthafromTN,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. As you mentioned, one of the many benefits to staying at our property is the close distance to all of the great attractions in New York City.
Our goal is to provide a clean room and great customer service and it sounds like we accomplished our goal with you. We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Lovely hotel. Considering how busy NY is we managed to get a quiet room as requested. All of the staff were so helpful and friendly and efficient. Outside the hotel was beautiful as all the shops were florist/gardening shops and the pavements were covered in flowers. The hotel was ideal for walking to many of the top attractions. We don't usually bother with breakfast but we were set up for the day after indulging in breakkie.The room was very clean and spacious for the small amount of time we spent I it. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIChlGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Tracey G,

What a nice response! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the TA community! We love the flower district - you should see all the amazing colors on display now! Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Recently stayed here for a long weekend. Enjoyed the property. Service was wonderful, everyone I encountered was friendly and professional. Property seems new and is in good shape. Provided breakfast is OK, nothing to get too excited about but does the job. Room is comfortable and well thought out. Biggest drawback-no in room safe. Really? Is this the only place without these now? Yes, they have safety deposit boxes at the front desk, but that is not all that convenient, nor coudl hold laptops. Convenient to midtown, Penn Station, Theaters and Grand Central. Provided an excellent stay. Even with a front room on the 2nd floor, had no issues with noise and slept with no issues.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIChlGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear JLS300,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! While our safes are not large enough to hold safes, our front desk can absolutely assist you with this and hold it in the managers office. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for an extended weekend recently and found the hotel to be modern, very clean, with a standard but tasty breakfast included in what we found to be a great rate for the heart of NYC/Manhattan.

Thomas checked us in and was very friendly and warm. We had a room facing nowhere (didn't matter, we only used the room for sleeping) and we had two double beds that was very comfortable. Room was small, clean and bathroom was spotless. Hotel was super quiet, I slept 10 hours straight on Sat. night - one great benefit of a room facing the back! The hotel is tall and skinny so only 5-6 rooms per floor, keeping it really quiet. We never heard a sound.

We only had one issue - the interior shower curtain had mold all over the bottom. We left to wander around for a couple of hours and asked for the problem to be fixed and by the time we got back two hours later, we had a brand new shower curtain - very prompt customer service!

The front desk staff in general are very friendly - Brandi stood out for being so fun and friendly, giving us directions and loaning me a brand new hair dryer to dry off my jeans in the lobby that were soaking wet from a huge water bottle spill! She was very helpful/great sense of humor.

The location is excellent - walkable to great restaurants, Broadway and lots of "neighborhoody" places that aren't filled with tourists. We had a lovely weekend weather-wise and since this hotel is smack in the middle of the Flower District, the streets smelled wonderful!

This was my first trip to NYC and will stay here again on my next trip. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The king bed rooms have a few to the Empire State Building. If you won't be in much, save your m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loveran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIChlGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Loveran,

Thank you so much for such a lovely and informative review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate all of your kind words! We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Newly remodeled hotel with breakfast and very close to Penn station so very accessible for travelers. Stayed three nights - very clean rooms and friendly staff. Too bad the rooftop bar was closed for the season, would've been a nice icing to this review.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100%Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIChlGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear 100%Love,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#121 of 470 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 470 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#243 of 470 in New York City
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#235 of 470 in New York City
637 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#51 of 470 in New York City
936 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 470 in New York City
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea for your home-away-from-home as you visit New York City. We are a top choice among hotels in Chelsea, NYC, offering a perfect location near Chelsea Market, Chelsea Piers, the Financial District, the Empire State Building, High Line, and Metropolitan Pavilion. Our hotel sits in the Flower District, close to the subway that can take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. Stay with us and experience a memorable and easy trip to NYC. We offer comfortable and spacious accommodations that include free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast, a full-service business center, and a well-appointed fitness center. Walk to restaurants, bars, and more from Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea, and enjoy staying in a hotel that is a smart choice among hotels in NYC and in Chelsea, NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing